We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”
Review of Blinkbonny House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blinkbonny House
Ranked #79 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice B&B”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights after spending two weeks in scotland. The host was very helpfull even before we got there as we wouldn't find the B&B we rung them & he gave us directions then waited outside until we got there. The double room was huge with a very nice & clean en-suite. The breakfasts are well worth the money & very tasty. Both nights we enjoyed the 20min walk in to the town. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    17
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
70
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed in a double room with en suite for 2 nights. My room was very clean, the water in the massive bathroom was nice and hot and the host was extremely helpful and polite. The breakfast was the best I have had for a long time - especially the scottish porridge! And all this for £30 per night - amazing value for money. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Rob from Bedfordshire.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b'kara
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

we stayed there last week during our trip to Scotland. We were greeted like relatives by the hosts who made us feel very welcome. The room was large with an ensuite. Both were extremely clean, cleaner than any hotel we stayed in. We had a full English breakfast complete with porridge and cereal. The guesthouse is about 20 mins walk from Edinburgh centre and about 5 mins away from a bus stop. I would definitely recommend to both friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Me and my husband stayed there for one night, it was a great exprience,the couple were very nice and helpful upon our arrival they had tea and cookies for us and Shaun went out of his way to get up early in morning fixing us breakfast since we had an early departure , he even gave his adaptor to my husband who forgot to bring his and packed us a goody bag for our tour,
The place clean
bed comfortable
I would recommend this place 100%
Shahrzad & Terry

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahrzad_A_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We statyed at the Blinkbonny for two nights and what a pleasure. The welcome was lovely, the rooms bright and the bed was soooooooo comfortable. The breakfast was ample and tasted great. The distance from the city just right, as you could walk or catch the bus.

Room Tip: Top floor room roof a bit low for a taller person, but still a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMartinSammHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We had two stays at Blinkbonny - like coming home to a warm welcoming family. Shaun and Elleen greeted us as long lost relatives, full of information and suggestions of what to see; recommendations on how to get around as well as changing notes for the correct bus money. The room was large, comfortable and well fitted out, warm and pleasant and the free wi-fi meant we were able to catch up on the blog. Breakfast was ample and set us up for a day of sightseeing.
We would definitely stay here on another visit. 20 minutes to the city centre via bus (better than driving and trying to find a park)

Room Tip: all rooms were good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We enjoyed out recent visit to Edinburgh Scotland. We arrived late at the Blinkbonny house and unfortunately had to leave early in the morning. Elaine and Shaun were very gracious hosts and we wish we could have stayed longer. In spite of having to leave early in the morning, Elaine offered to have coffee, tea and toast ready for us before our departure. The house was very clean and we felt quite welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Classic Guest House
#70 of 391 in Edinburgh
264 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#31 of 391 in Edinburgh
114 reviews
Alba House
#49 of 391 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandilands Guest House
#171 of 391 in Edinburgh
105 reviews
Edinburgh Sixteen
#100 of 391 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#44 of 391 in Edinburgh
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blinkbonny House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blinkbonny House

Property: Blinkbonny House
Address: 23 Blinkbonny Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 3HG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blinkbonny House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blinkbonny House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blinkbonny House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing