We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hostess, nice room, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonnie's Guesthouse
Ranked #74 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hostess, nice room, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

From the second Mirella opened the door for us we knew that our stay at Edinburgh House would be nice. Mirella is a very kind, helpful lady and after a while you begin to think of her guesthouse as your second home, or at least we did! The room was clean and well-equipped, the location of the house is convenient, close to the Castle, the beautiful Holyrood Park and many more. And don't worry if you're not sure what to do in Edinburgh - Mirella will gladly tell you what's going on around the city and offer some leaflets to help you decide. There is not a single thing we could complain about - maybe just that we already miss the place! Thank you, Mirella, give Lucky the cat a hug for us :)
Matt & Ela

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Hi Ella And Matt hope all is going well with you on your return from your holiday with me at Edinburgh.

Yes we all miss you here to so haste ye back hope to see you sometime in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    34
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
53
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I enjoyed staying at Edinburgh House and found it quite convenient and safe. Mirella was very welcoming and went out of her way to make my stay pleasant. The breakfasts were terrific and the room, though small, had everything I needed. It was easy to walk from here to just about any of the tourist attractions in downtown Edinburgh and it is just a couple of blocks from a bus line if you'd rather take the bus ( I actually took a bus from the airport to the Wellington Bridge and then walked to the Hotel with my luggage. Very easy. Didn't have to rent a car until I was ready to leave for northern England).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonAvery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Room very clean, very good equipped and cosy:) Staff very friendly and helpfull, breakfast delicious!! Only 10 min walk to city centre and Edinburgh Castle which is amazing. I recommend!

Katarzyna and Grzegorz from Poland

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katarzyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Mirella made me feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The whole place is very warm and inviting and I loved the little personal touches in the room, such as the little bowl of chocolates, I'm afraid I ate them all. Despite it's closeness to shops and amenities the B& B is surprisingly quiet and I slept well. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I felt like I was staying with family. Mirella was friendly and the house was charming and quiet and quite affordable. So close to Edinburg's attractions and shopping. I highly recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsStant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirella S, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Many thanks for your valuable time and im very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Edinburgh House.

Hope all goes well and perhaps see you in the future.

Best wishes Mirella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Lovely house, great hostess and cooked to order breakfast - couldn't ask for anything more! It's been ages since I've stayed in a B and B and things have definitely changed for the better - En Suite room and I didn't have to climb any stairs to get to it! Mirella does what she can to make your stay comfortable. Would definitely stay here again given the opportunity!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirella S, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Im very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Edinburgh House... Haste ye Back sometime soon...thank you for your custom..and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Warm and welcoming, lovely spacious room with attention to detail. Would have no hesitation in returning and recommending to friends. Good location, very friendly and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Browns Bed and Breakfast
#63 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Glendevon Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Sheridan Guest House
#21 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie's Guesthouse

Property: Bonnie's Guesthouse
Address: 11 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Edinburgh House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonnie's Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round, Bonnie,s Guest House is a small family run guest house in a traditional tenement building only a short walk to city centre attractions like Princes Street, Calton Hill, The Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle. There is also a good bus service to the city centre if you don't feel like walking! We have a variety of restaurants nearby, and the Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre is only a couple of minutes walk. All of our rooms are finished to a high standard with en suite bathrooms, multi-channel digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers in every room. Also, free wifi internet access is available. We operate a strictly non-smoking establishment. Should our guests have any special requirements (such as booking a taxi, arranging flowers etc) we are happy to oblige. Nothing too big and nothing too small for us! We also speak French and Italian for our foreign visitors. We look forward to welcoming you as guests to our B&B soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bonnie's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie's Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing