We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and close to city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bonnie's Guesthouse
Ranked #71 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent 5 nights in this charming and cosy guest house, where the owner gives a special care to each of one of its guests. Everyday we had cookies and mineral water as well as a large choice of hot drinks at disposal for free. We had a fresh breakfast every morning specially cooked for us, from the traditional scottich breakfast to more classic english meals, served with a freshly pressed orange juice and a fruit salad. Rooms are well cleand everyday though they are a bit old fashioned. The guest house is situated close to the city center (10min walk). With a good quality for its value, it is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: good quality for its value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Many thanks for reviewing your stay in my guest house..im glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Hoping to see you both sometime in the future.
Kind Regards Mirella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

I hesitated before writing a review but ultimately decided it could help other guests book a better room if they decide to stay here.
We were here one night during our Edinburgh holiday, and although the host Mirella was very pleasant, we were less than thrilled with our room- due to size and location. It looked onto the street, and the homes here are not set back from the road so there was a lot of traffic noise as well as from people walking by (you could hear everything they said). The room had a double bed but barely enough room to walk around it once our luggage was in the room.

From other reviewers it sounds like the back rooms are quiet and I can only assume larger as well.

My other quibble was that we were reminded twice of the check out time, which was quite unnecessary.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petstylist101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking your valuable time to review my establishment. Regarding youre comments where you talked about the room sizes my double rooms are smaller than my twin rooms and are not all at the back part of my guest house.

People can expect some level of noise from the street but my windows are double glazed, i supply for the comfort of guests use ear plugs. Being so close to town this is something i cant help.

Apologies for re peating myself regarding check out time this is a one off as im not normally in the practice of doing this and I shall refrain from doing this in the future to avoid any bad feeling towards my guests which was never intended to happen.

Thank you Mirella...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at Edinburgh House. The host Mirella is really no-fuss, but accomodating and efficient at what she does - nothing was any trouble to her. She let us check in as soon as the rooms were prepared so that we could spend the day seeing the city. The room was huge and had a large ensuite with a large standing shower - and every bath product you may need on your stay, ever! The welcome tea and coffee stand was the most impressive of all the B&B's we stayed in Scotland - herbal teas, hot chocolate, yummy toffees and chocolates, shortbread, you name it! After a long day touring the city it was just what we needed. Breakfast was great - fresh fruit is included and service is prompt. Edinburgh House is located a 5-10 minute walk from new town and Waverly Station, and the main street adjacent has bus service (both city and the open-top bus tour stops here). Would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a comfortable, convenient and great-value stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LuckyBaby345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Many thanks for youre review im glad that you had a pleasant stay in EDinburgh at my guest house.
Hope to see you another time in the future where a warm welcome awaits you...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Very nice B&B, Mirella was really sweet, everything inside the hotel was new. Small and nice B&B, located close enough to the city. Breakfast was also very good, and I loved the small chocolates in the room. Could have Internet in the room, though, just had it in the common areas.

Room Tip: I believe that the rooms that do not have windows to the road are quieter. Besides this, my room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D0ris48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

THank you for your review of your holiday stay at Edinburgh House. Im glad that you had a lovely time whilst in EDinburgh.
Thank you once again Mirella and i hope to see you agai sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Okay, it is not the Taj Mahal, but it is well-serviced, and not that far from Waverly Station. It really is a 10 minute walk. Ask for a room that looks out on the green leafy garden courtyard. You have a choice for breakfast and it is good too! Ample toiletries in the room -- even bandaids (plasters)! Very clean with nice little touches. Mirella, the host, is suitably friendly (not one to talk your ear off, which is a welcome thing, as far as I am concerned).

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomFordLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hi and many thanks for taking your valuable time to write me a review on your stay in my guest house. Im glad that you had a nice time whilst in Edinburgh and everything went ok...
thank you once again for my review much appreciated.
Mirella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

What a find this place is. Mirella is the perfect hostess and the extras in the rooms put many rated hotels to shame. The room was comfortable and spotless. The breakfast was amazing and enough to feed an army! Only stayed one night but next time in Edinburgh will surely return to Edinburgh House.

Margaret and Catriona from Ayr

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Many thanks for my review... was a delight to have such lovely guests thank you... my pleasure!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We only stayed one night, a pity as our other B and B was not in the same class. Mirella was excellent hostess and breakfast wonderful. Room had more extras than most places.

If ever return to Edinburgh it would be our number one B and B booking

Errol and friends'
Brisbane'
Australia

Room Tip: We had ground floor rooms close to road but it did not bother us at all. They were our preference as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERROL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghMirella, Owner at Bonnie's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Many thanks for your review ... im glad that you had a lovely time whilst in Edinburgh at Edinburgh House.

Thank you...Mirella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Canadale Guest House
#139 of 396 in Edinburgh
364 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#9 of 396 in Edinburgh
550 reviews
Southside Guest House
#59 of 396 in Edinburgh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Antler Guest House
#49 of 396 in Edinburgh
71 reviews
Parkhead House
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
85 reviews
Garfield Guest House
#38 of 396 in Edinburgh
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnie's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnie's Guesthouse

Address: 11 McDonald Road, Edinburgh EH7 4LX, Scotland (Formerly Edinburgh House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £79 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonnie's Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round, Bonnie,s Guest House is a small family run guest house in a traditional tenement building only a short walk to city centre attractions like Princes Street, Calton Hill, The Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace and Edinburgh Castle. There is also a good bus service to the city centre if you don't feel like walking! We have a variety of restaurants nearby, and the Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre is only a couple of minutes walk. All of our rooms are finished to a high standard with en suite bathrooms, multi-channel digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers in every room. Also, free wifi internet access is available. We operate a strictly non-smoking establishment. Should our guests have any special requirements (such as booking a taxi, arranging flowers etc) we are happy to oblige. Nothing too big and nothing too small for us! We also speak French and Italian for our foreign visitors. We look forward to welcoming you as guests to our B&B soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bonnie's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie's Guesthouse Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing