We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Adam Drysdale House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Black Ivy(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
48
22
5
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
22
5
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centrefull scottish breakfastvery comfortable roomwalking distanceeach morningtwo nightshaggisyogurtwould stay againexcellent locationprinces streetcastle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spent a lovely weekend at the Adam Drysdale and must thank the host for her friendly, caring attitude and also for some excellent tips on where to go and where not to go! The b and b is very central and provides an ideal base for exploring Edinburgh.The rooms were bright and clean. The breakfast was first class!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Got tickets off hubby for Christmas for Friday 2nd March for Sarah Millican at the Playhouse Edinburgh, We decided to make a weekend of it and where as we would normally do the forward booking at either Travelodge or Premier Inns we needed somewhere we could do parking which wouldn't cost an arm and a leg. So I did the usual B&B accomodation in Edinburgh but asked for parking and near 1st on the list was the Adam Drysdale House B&B
We duly booked for 2 nights and arrived on the day. The host was deperately waiting for us to arrive as she had made arrangements to go away for the weekend. I had been assured over the phone that we would still be looked after really well as her "help" would be there to see to us and get our breakfast. We were informed after we got in and into the room that unfortunately the "helps" son hadn't and still wasn't well but she would be around if we needed her and as far as breakfast was concerned we could get this between 8am and 9.30am but we would have to go across the road to another B&B were we would be fed both morning.
In her haste to get away she didn;t explain that the switch for the shower in our bathroom was actually outside the bathroom door which was out in the hall outside of our room. The "help" was a young woman who we didn't meet until the next morning when I had opened the door to a really nice couple who arriving from Belfast had rang the doorbell and got no response from "help" I had welcomed them and showed them into a possible room they were staying in. She eventually showed up and both myself and The Belfast couple found ourselves hard to be understoon by her as she explained she had only been working and staying with our host for 4 months from Poland.
I found out later that due to the fact that we hadn't got the hang of the switch for the shower until I found the switch but inadvertently then switched the shower on soaking a towel I had put this over the radiator to dry off some of the wetness to my disappointment this towel along with the rest were then not changed when the "help" made up the room after we went out.
Our breakfast at the other B&B was fabulous as was the welcome from this host at number 53 Gilmore Place Cruachan. We would have been better staying there and we wouldn't have had to dodge the morning traffic to get our breakfast or stayed at the B&B next door to the one mentioned in this review as it was much more inviting looking and had parking and wi-fi access as well.
The Sarah Millican show was superb and we went to the Fascinating Mummies exhibition at the National museum again fab but our experience of the B&B wasted the rest of the weekend

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsWeatherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

List of disappointments
1. As mentioned in a previous review of this B&B we also had to wait for 10 minutes when we arrived. Landlady claimed that she was told a later time but we knew what time we specified on the phone to the booking agency she works with earlier in the day. Miscommunication between the agency and the landlady is not our issue.
2. Again as mentioned in a previous review we did not get the room we booked. We booked a double en-suite room and we got a big room with a double and a single bed (we clearly did not need that space) with a private bathroom on the hallway of the B&B. That was the first thing that was mentioned by her that it is still a private bathroom as we had the key for it. Our issue was more about having to go in and out of our room any time to use the toilet and shower. The bathroom was opposite (under the stairs) this involved us walking across the hall in full view of the clear glass front door and therefore, in full view of the public outside. We did not make an issue out of it thinking that we will obviously pay less as we did not get what we booked. The room we booked was given to someone else already staying at the B&B who wished to extend his holiday. The last day that we had to pay the remaining amount the landlady did not mention charging us less so we had to say it and the response was that she could let us pay £1.20 less! Yes £1.20! It would get us nowhere to argue further as the excuse used for the overpriced non en-suite room was that it was the biggest room she had! The point she missed was that we did not book that and therefore, did not have to pay for it.
3. The private bathroom we had was not even cleaned and prepared for us, she had to go and ‘freshen it up’ as she said. While cleaning the bathroom she broke the washer of a tap, she apologised and reassured us that she will replace it first thing the next morning but until we left (3 days later) it was not replaced.
4. There was a used toothbrush left on the floor of our room during the first night of our stay that fortunately disappeared the next day.
5. While cleaning our room our clothes where moved. I have worked as a housekeeper in the past and I was never allowed to move customers’ personal belongings. The rooms should be fully cleaned when the room is empty.
6. Too much noise in the mornings, door bell ringing and we had to get up and answer the door in one instance.
The best thing about the B&B was the breakfast; we got an early breakfast as well as we were going to leave early one day . She also recommended a really good pub.
Overall we would not trust the landlady for future booking and therefore, we will never visit the Adam Drysdale House again.

Room Tip: make sure you get the room you booked!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saintandrewEdinburgh, Owner at Adam Drysdale House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Quite an opening, extremely vindictive, which has at once shocked and saddened me. Shocked because you seemed so happy and relaxed throughout your stay and saddened that you chose to say nothing throughout your stay and only mentioned your en-suite disappoinment on the morning of your departure when paying.
Anyway,
1. you or I do not communicate verbally with the agency you booked through. You yourself physically insert the arrival time in the online form you fill out, which was 17.30.
2.As you stated the change of room was not an issue at the time and you appeared pleased with your beautiful big room. There are dressing gowns supplied for you also to use the private facilities. As for expecting a reduction on the £25 per person per night you paid to me was nothing to do with the size of the room but shock that after appearing to enjoy your self so much that you expected it when already paying a very fair price.
3. As mentioned above you ETA was 17.30, I returned at 17.00 to finish preparing for your arrival but you were already in the house, on a normal day this would have been done in the morning with everything else so I do accept responsibility for that because sometimes guests do arrive early or late for whatever reason.
This is a 200 year old house and sometimes thing do break. The washer which holds the tap in place beneath the sink did indeed break whilst cleaning and the tap did wobble. The following day I made several attempts to replace it but had to wait till Monday, your day of departure, for a plumber merchants.
4.The toothbrush, used for certain aspects of cleaning, had simply fallen out the cleaning box.
5.We always do our best to make the room tidy and welcoming for guests returning everyday. Some clothes on the sofa were piled neatly on the sofa to allow room for you to sit down. If you do not want your room serviced you only have to say.
6.This is the first you have said of this and I would like to know who you answered the door to.
I am greatly saddenedby this review, the recurring use of the pronoun "she" is very negative coming form someone who exchanged fond farewells and was all sweet and lovely.
That not getting a reduction on your bill has prompted you to write this review , knowing it can have such a detrimental effect on a business really does remind me that money can make some people do the oddest things.
Trip advisor should really be a last resort for a complaint when you have not had satisfaction from the service provider. To say nothing and post this type of review I find either vindictive because you did not get your reduction, or cowardly that you seek to display it on a website but do not have the courage of your convictions to mention the many or indeed any of the complaints you have posted here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My self and my Husband Stayed here for New Year. The House is about 10mins walk from city centre with newsagents ,takeaways and restaurants all within 5 mins walking distance. The Host Karen is such a lovely welcoming lady, who cooks an amazing fry up! This House is such a homely place and was an enjoyable relaxing all round experience. Will deffinately stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJunor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Myself and 2 friends had the triple on-suite room. To be perfectly honest the house needs some money spending on it, BUT, and this is a big BUT, Karen the host out ways the negatives. She is so friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good and always served with a big smile and all the information on Edinburgh you could ever need.
The location is good, Castle and Royal Mile is about a casual 20 minute walk. If you want up market chic accommodation then don't stay here. But if you want down to earth friendly hospitality, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar01Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews