We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts, Friendly family-run B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adam Drysdale House
Ranked #183 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, Friendly family-run B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I had been double booked in a B&B and this fabulous family offered us a room, although they were in the middle of a changeover from their previous tenant. Graham and Jeanette who actually own this establishment have renovated, re-painted and spruced up this lovely accommodation. We were met with a friendly smile, and apologies that the house was not yet completely refurbed and even though this was the case, they let us stay in one of the redecorated rooms in the attic. They have two lovely daughters who also help them and a B&B opposite which is run by another fabulous member of their team called Lorna. I cannot emphasise how lovely our stay was, the breakfast was great and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The B&B's are literally a two minute walk from the Kings Theatre and five minute walk to Princess Street. If you want a relaxing stay with lovely company and professional service this B&B is a must. After a spout of bad luck with the previous running of this business I just wish them both the best of luck as they deserve it and must be given another chance by any previous customers that would not have returned. This place is truly lovely and the family are marvellous and approachable. Thanks again for your friendliness and great hospitability in our time of need.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    20
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
10
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Fantastic location and such an entertaining and genuine host; what a shame we were the ones to be served her last breakfast here!!
Karen made us so welcome and gave us a run through of the places to visit, things to do and the best places to eat. Great local knowledge from a great local! Did I say she was leaving today? Such a shame! I hope she sets up elsewhere, I'll definitely visit!
So glad we got there in time for her "Smashing Scottish Breakfast"!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgcwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Myself and my husband spent a great weekend in Edinburgh, Karen is the best host we have ever come across, she is such a warm and pleasant person who gave her all to make our stay a memorable one. The fact we could park our car up for the whole weekend with no added cost was a bonus, everything was in walking distance, FANTASTIC STAY, WE WILL BE BACK .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We spent a wonderful long weekend in the beautiful city of Edinburgh, our stay at Adam Dysdale House made the weekend very memorable!

Karen gave the warmest of welcomes when we arrived, with many ideas of places to visit, eat and drink with a trusty map to help us on our way.

The room we stayed in was well decorated, clean and homely, with a very comfy bed wich was welcoming after a hard day exploring Edinburgh, the Full Scottish Breakfast is a must, excellent quality and delicious, all prepared by the glamourous Karen - who is an excellent singer!

The location is not at all far from the city centre, I would recommend staying at Adam Drysdale House, I can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

As already stated in previous reviews, Karen (the host) is definitely the best host we’ve ever encountered while traveling, anywhere. Karen is most hospitable, kind, gave us so much information about the city. In the morning, she prepares breakfasts for all the gusts in the house, and while cooking in the kitchen you can hear her singing out loud :) …and her breakfast is really smashing….
As someone already said, Karen definitely compensates all the downsides of this B&B, and there are some: the rooms are a bit oldish, but clean and tidy! The bathroom is definitely the weakest link; even though it’s clean it would need some refurbishment (the system for the water in the shower is the most weird I’ve ever seen, and the water pressure is low…)
However, as one comes here to explore Edinburgh and the region, this place serves only for sleepover and a breakfast, and for that is more than decent!
Regarding teh location; it's excellent! it takes only 10 mins walking to the city.

There is one thing only you should be careful of: when we wanted to pay for our accommodation by card, the machine was apparently broken, and she asked us to get cash at the ATM’s. As we insisted on paying by card, she then managed that we pay at the next door B&B (her neighbors/friends). Her machine had not got broken just before we came, but was rather (apparently) out of order for some time. The fact she had not acquired a new one tells only she wanted to get cash from every customer. But for some of us, it’s just not convenient. So, there’s a tip: insist on that!
Overall, I would definitely recommend this place, because with Karen, you’ll feel like at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gostl_Ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob in NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I agree with many of the other posters that Karen offsets some otherwise marginal things about this B&B. She couldn't be more friendly and helpful. And her breakfasts are delicious. The locations isn't bad at all and, once you understand the bus service a bit, it takes no time to get to downtown. As far as the room itself, I think the place does well for the price and the general condition of the property. The room we stayed in definitely showed some age. However, when you're spending a minimum amount of time in the room, it suffices.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chef3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spent a lovely weekend at the Adam Drysdale and must thank the host for her friendly, caring attitude and also for some excellent tips on where to go and where not to go! The b and b is very central and provides an ideal base for exploring Edinburgh.The rooms were bright and clean. The breakfast was first class!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cruachan Guest House
#280 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Villa
Star Villa
#139 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Guest House
Martin's Guest House
#98 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Argyle Backpackers
Argyle Backpackers
#40 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Menzies Guest House
Menzies Guest House
#271 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amaryllis Guest House
Amaryllis Guest House
#191 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Drysdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Drysdale House

Property: Adam Drysdale House
Address: 42 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Adam Drysdale House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Adam Drysdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam Drysdale House Hotel Edinburgh
Adam Drysdale House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing