We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adam Drysdale House
Ranked #137 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here over the Festival period. Good clean basic hotel. Graham and his little helper Ella are very nice, pleasant and helpful. Breakfast very good and served quickly. Room has everything you need -TV, tea and coffee, beds made daily, plenty of storage space.
Ideal location in the Tollcross area, loads of shops, eateries , transport all on your door step. the 10 or 27 (make sure the 27 is a LOTHIAN 27 if your getting it back from the city,) buses into the city centre.
Easy walking distance to the Grassmarket area and other areas of the city.
Was a bit pricey being in the festival season so imagine it would be less other months, which would represent good value.
My only gripe was that the our room on the front could be noisy. Its on a major bus route and gets noisy from early morning to late at night. but there are a lot of b and b's on this road and imagine its the same for all of them.
Didn't bother us really, but one night we were in bed earlyish about 11, and it was VERY noisy. May bother others /families with children. If I ever went back I would want to look at other rooms. But we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

A great location, with buses at end of street, also good walking distance to Princess St. Close to supermarket, and restaurants. Clean room, very quiet on ground floor. Host looked after us brilliantly, very good breakfast. .

Room Tip: Even though we were on the ground floor next to the dining room, there was no noise, very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorothyg29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had the great pleasure of staying here twice when looking for a new home. Relocating is very challenging but not when you have Karen.

Over the most lush of breakfast we had good chats with guests and Karen. She really made us feel welcome and ensured we all mingled (if we wanted - which we did). It was like visiting family, well the family you want to visit. Only joking, but the point is made.

Do stay here and have a wonderful time.

Excellent walking distance to everything you need.

Room Tip: Some have excellent castle views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donkey_teeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

we had a very warm welcome at our arrival. we stood there 3 nights and karen always gave us a hint where to go. the breakfast is absolute fantastic. just a few minutes walk from the city centre. we will definately stay again there!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tao143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were met with a lovely warm welcome by Graham. The room was lovely and fantastic value for money in a brilliant location just minutes walk from the city centre. Will definately stay again thanks Graham.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouR1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I had been double booked in a B&B and this fabulous family offered us a room, although they were in the middle of a changeover from their previous tenant. Graham and Jeanette who actually own this establishment have renovated, re-painted and spruced up this lovely accommodation. We were met with a friendly smile, and apologies that the house was not yet completely refurbed and even though this was the case, they let us stay in one of the redecorated rooms in the attic. They have two lovely daughters who also help them and a B&B opposite which is run by another fabulous member of their team called Lorna. I cannot emphasise how lovely our stay was, the breakfast was great and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The B&B's are literally a two minute walk from the Kings Theatre and five minute walk to Princess Street. If you want a relaxing stay with lovely company and professional service this B&B is a must. After a spout of bad luck with the previous running of this business I just wish them both the best of luck as they deserve it and must be given another chance by any previous customers that would not have returned. This place is truly lovely and the family are marvellous and approachable. Thanks again for your friendliness and great hospitability in our time of need.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Fantastic location and such an entertaining and genuine host; what a shame we were the ones to be served her last breakfast here!!
Karen made us so welcome and gave us a run through of the places to visit, things to do and the best places to eat. Great local knowledge from a great local! Did I say she was leaving today? Such a shame! I hope she sets up elsewhere, I'll definitely visit!
So glad we got there in time for her "Smashing Scottish Breakfast"!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgcwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Drysdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Drysdale House

Address: 42 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £89 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adam Drysdale House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Adam Drysdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam Drysdale House Hotel Edinburgh
Adam Drysdale House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing