We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, lovely & helpful owners, let down by dirty carpets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adam Drysdale House
Ranked #142 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good value, lovely & helpful owners, let down by dirty carpets”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Almost "very good".
The very good points;
Inexpensive for a double with ensuite and full Scottish breakfast in Edinburgh.
Lovely, genuine welcome and very accommodating & pleasant owners.
Despite what is on some websites, there is actually onsite parking if you book ahead properly.
Good location for what we wanted to do in Edinburgh.
Clean, warm, and comfortable bed in a quiet location.
The very bad point;
Carpet in the room was very dirty looking & badly stained - needs replacing as it brings the whole place down and doesn't do the lovely owners justice.
Overall though - for the price, and with free parking, it is value for money. Just manage your expectations based on the price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnfcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    21
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just got back from a week in Edinburgh and can't thank Janette enough. After being let down at the last minute we were lucky enough to get a room at the Adam Drysdale. Janette and Greame were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The fried breakfast was superb and the salmon fishcakes were exceedingly tasty. We had a ground floor en-suite which was kept clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a B&B in an excellent position for sightseeing you could not go wrong. Will definitely be going back!

Thanks to you both for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim0359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

stayed at this b and b ,the room was nice and big and clean ,with TV ,kettle tea coffee etc,we even got soap,shampoo and shower gel ,great little surprises,the staff were welcoming and made you feel comfortable,the beds were very comfy ,the breakfast was all cooked fresh buy Janet which was very tasty.I read the last guys comant,and he must of stayed in another b and b or is making this up as my stay was nothing but pleasant,will be going back in summer I have already booked and played,and Edinburgh what a lovely place and loads to do

Room Tip: I had room number 3 big en suit family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Ok, first impressions, walk through door and greeted by a dirty stained stairwell carpet. Got to room 5 on top floor. Door handle missing on wardrobe, rug not hoovered this year. Bed valence dirty and stained, plant had thick layer of dust on leaves, mattress on bed was well used with springs sticking in your every limb. Was supposed to stay 3 nights bed checked out after 1st night and came home as everywhere was full. Booked without researching first to my own detriment. This hole is ideal young dirty teens who don't care where they sleep when drunk, mind you, even they may prefer a park bench. Good point ...... Owner seemed nice? Don't waste £80 here per night. Oh and breakfast is 8.30 - 9.30 only, miss it, miss out. PS. Shared bathroom covered in mould and not even any skirting board.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imblacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Me and my partner stayed with Janette in Adam Drysdale for 8 nights. Was met with a very warm welcome, shown to our room which was spacious, clean and had a nice big ensuite. Janette makes a lovely hostess, very welcoming, friendly, and nothing too much trouble. Delicious breakfast every morning. Will definitely be staying here again next year. Thank you Janette, you're a star.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Small and friendly guest house in a very convenient area. Breakfasts were cooked fresh to order and there was plenty of choice and a fresh pot of coffee. Would definately use again. Room ok and very clean but the en-suite was very small. Wouldnt put me off though.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We went for a short two day break to Edinburgh and found Adam Drysdale House had a last minute cancellation. Lucky for us. Our stay was so enjoyable with the staff being so cheerie and Janette keeping everyone in a relaxed mood. Room was excellent, food first class our only problem was we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#46 of 392 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Cruachan Guest House
#225 of 392 in Edinburgh
53 reviews
Amaryllis Guest House
#177 of 392 in Edinburgh
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castle Park Guest House
#300 of 392 in Edinburgh
83 reviews
Granville Guest House
#292 of 392 in Edinburgh
64 reviews
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Drysdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Drysdale House

Property: Adam Drysdale House
Address: 42 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Adam Drysdale House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Adam Drysdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam Drysdale House Hotel Edinburgh
Adam Drysdale House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing