We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Food + Amazing Service + Great Rooms = must repeat!!!!”
Review of 21212

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
21212
Ranked #54 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Many of the Michelin * restaurants that we know are sadly surrounded by arrogance and egocentrism!! It's all about the Chef!!! ..... NOT at 21212. The family dinner we had there was spectacular. The service was friendly, relaxed, but very professional. The balance of the food, (quality, quantity and presentation) was very well done.
We had the luck to also stay over. The restaurant is accompanied by 4 very beautiful rooms that are very well equipped and, for both my wife and I, made us feel really pampered.

Thanks for a great weekend. Rarely we repeat, because we want to find somewhere better. However, we will be back!!! It's now in my Top 10 (around the world)!!!!!!

Room Tip: Maybe there was a pillow menu, but we didn't see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jpmccusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

what can i say...wow! 21212 is not just a meal, it is an experience from the moment you walk in the door. The staff are so attentive and will cater to your every need, a relaxing environment without the stuffiness that tends to go with award winning restaurants. The food and main topic of this review was outstanding, the homemade bread itself could sell this place. not to mention the extensive wine list and to die for millennium port. The restaurant adds to its quirkiness with all the finishing touches such as the cow milk jugs and the use of paper cups for coffee...(apparently it makes the coffee taste better..who'd have thought?)
if you are looking for something with character and surprises then this is your place, Don't miss out!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I rarely write reviews but wished to share the experience, last night was my first time at this wonderful boutique hotel and was just delighted with everything. I went there with a client after the restaurant had been recommended - the service and standard of food was terrific with very lovely staff. The surprising additional find was the hotel, the rooms are a high standard, lovely views, comfortable, relaxed and perfectly reasonably priced. I will certainly recommend to clients coming to Edinburgh but also to family and friends, it’s in a top location in the city.

Room Tip: My room was one up at the top of the Town House over looking the gardens, just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KitcatD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This small 4 bedroom hotel on Royal Terrace is a real find. We have been struggling to find something like this in Edinburgh for some time. Large rooms, large beds, wonderful bathrooms, intimate, friendly staff. Good value as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Quieter (cobble road at front) and beautiful view of the Gardens and Car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

returned this weekend for another stay at 21212
last year's visit was superb but his year's was the icing on the cake
magnificent rooms with every conceivable luxury
massive bed tasteful fittings in the room
huge freestanding bath and beautiful shower room with monsoon shower
elemis toiletries!
our room was at the back of the house overlooking calton hill
we awoke to the sound of birdsong in the city!
on a quiet georgian terrace but only 5 minutes on foot from the buzzing city centre
the owners are totally hands on and enthusiastic
the staff are super friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble
the food has hit another level
on our night it was 31313
there were increased choices at starter/mains/dessert and intermediate soup and cheese courses
the food is well cooked intalligent and focussed
these are modern classics that haven't been given a name yet
we had the benefit of ovelooking the open plan kitchen the chefs were h ardworking and dilligent quietly going about their tasks
a super experience at the highest level
can't wait to revisit

Room Tip: all as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whoopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

This was our first visit to 21212 on Sat 30th March, which was a birthday gift from my wonderful other half, and we were not disappointed with the quality of the food or the service. We had an excellent table, located directly across from the kitchen which allowed us to view the hard working team behind the glass. The aptly names restaurant which allows a choice of 2 starters, 1 soup, 2 mains, 1 cheese and 2 sweets, has had a slight change and you can now have a choice of 3 instead of the 2! This is not a criticism, far from it, although does make it slightly more difficult to choose as all three are described so beautifully on the menu and you want to taste them all. Finally thank you for such a wonderful, entertaining evening and really tasty food, this was a great night out and well worth the cost, which we felt was fair and reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Scottishmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at 21212 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time! Our room was beautiful and very comfortable (and big), the staff were all very friendly and helpful. You can have tea or coffee (with homemade shortbread) brought up to your room instead of having tea-making facilities in the room, which is a lovely touch! The location is very close to the centre of Edinburgh but not right in the chaos of the Royal Mile (its about a 20 min walk). Breakfast is lovely, although you do have to share a table with other guests which some people might find a bit awkward. We also had lunch in the restaurant which was out of this world! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
367 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,150 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,874 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21212? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21212

Address: 3 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £117 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 21212 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21212 is a Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms. 4 lovely bedrooms in a Grade A listed building in the New Town of Edinburgh. Only 5 minutes form Waverley train station at the foot of Calton Hill. a stunning location and property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 21212 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21212 Hotel Edinburgh
21212 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing