We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class in all respects”
Review of 21212

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
21212
Ranked #51 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“First Class in all respects”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the rooms here for two nights and had the lunch menu on one of the days. Firstly the accommodation is top notch, beautiful classy decor, luxurious feel and attention to detail. The service too was excellent. The food in the Michelin starred restaurant was flavoursome, beautifully presented and a feast for the eyes as well as the palate. The lunch menu was also excellent value for money as well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cumbrialife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
1st Class and value for money, what a winning combination!

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
122
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a treat and managed to get a special weekday offer through their website which included dinner one night and bed and breakfast.

The room blew me away - Immaculately decorated with individual details like a Rangers teddy bear and loads of reading material. So spacious. The bathroom was out of this world - absolutely huge with a roll top bath, massive walk in shower and two sinks with Elemis toileteries as well as a heated floor. Great views from the room too. Dinner in the restaurant was a special and unique experience and although not everything agreed with my palate it was a lot of fun. The bread was the softest and nicest I have tasted in my whole life. Breakfast was also a delight - smoked salmon and caviar, bacon and eggs etc - served in the most unusual way. There are only four rooms so as a hotel it is small and intimate and we found ourselves sitting around the shared breakfast table with other guests and met some really interesting people.

Great choice for a special occasion - you won't regret this. It is also a great base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Oh no, we have just driven away all the Celtic fans!! It was a gift, promise.

Very glad you enjoyed it all though and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Having finished studying in Edinburgh in 2011, this was the first time I had returned since leaving and the first time with nothing else on my mind other than to relax and enjoy this beautiful city with my girlfriend.
I could not have chosen a more perfect place to stay; 21212 lived up to its top reputation on every level; the service: exceptional – the attentive staff charming, courteous without being over-fussy; the accommodation - first class, with delightful little touches such as the sloe gin in the room; the location, perfect – walking distance to the centre, but just far enough away to escape the hustle and bustle of busy prince’s street; and of course the star of the show: the food – although sadly we didn’t dine at the restaurant in the evenings (a must next time!) our lunch there was quite simply stunning – not just a meal, but an experience with tastes and textures and flavour-combinations that shall live long in my memory. The breakfasts too were top-notch.
I must admit that when I left Edinburgh two years ago I left feeling slightly disenchanted having had a bit of a rough ride during my studies, but I can safely say that our stay at 21212 along with the fortune of some lovely weather and a chance to soak up the history of this remarkable city, left me once again in love with this wonderful place.
I look forward to returning as soon as possible, in particular to sample some more of the divine food!
Thank you to Katie and Paul and all their staff for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willww1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
What a lovely review. Thanks for sharing your good thoughts of 21212 and our lovely city.

Hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

beautiful hotel in georgian terrace minutes from the town centre but feeling like a quiet oasis
tasteful classic interiors but with a contemporary edge , immaculately kept , huge comfortable beds , luxurious towels and elemis toiletries. Ready for pampering
and btw the food's not bad

Room Tip: all rooms are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
As you are too, see you at Easter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

A fantastic restaurant with rooms in the heart of Edinburgh. We spent 2 nights and dined on one of them.
I think the best way to sum the meal up was to say that it's so much fun when you order and think you have obviously ordered better than your companion only to be blown away by her choice! In the end her risotto starter beat my local sausage thingy (honestly very, very tasty in any case). But I got my own back with the main of filet steak, prune and white asparagus.
If there was one niggle the cutlery is a bit daft!
The service was fantastic both in the restaurant and in the hotel. Highly recommend and we won't be looking for anywhere else next time we're in Edinburgh.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mikect70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Well, we shall look forward to seeing you again. It's so nice when you find a place that you do say that.....why go anywhere else if you enjoyed it so much? And with so many good places to choose from, that is a lovely choice to have made.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I don't think that anyone could fail to enjoy a visit to this restaurant. The food is unfailingly excellent with many unusual variations to add to the enjoyment of the occasion. The service is unobtrusive and friendly and the restaurant itself is set in a handsome Georgian terrace and provides accommodation of appropriate elegance should you wish to stay overnight. This is the "restaurant with rooms" concept at its best.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thanks so much for the review and taking the time to tell others about 21212.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights. There are only four rooms so the room we stayed in was very large and spacious. The bathroom was equally spacious with a large bath and shower.

The only down side was not having a kettle in the room and having to call reception every time we wanted tea.

The package we booked gave us breakfast and this was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeeeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Edinburgh is such a wonderful city. We do serve all our teas and coffees to residents complimentary and we absolutey encourage you to call down when you want some brought to you fresh as a daisy with lovely milk and shortbread. I appreciate though it may not be when you wake in the middle of the night but hopefully with our comfy beds you didn't!

Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
302 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,732 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21212? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21212

Property: 21212
Address: 3 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — 21212 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21212 is a Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms. 4 lovely bedrooms in a Grade A listed building in the New Town of Edinburgh. Only 5 minutes form Waverley train station at the foot of Calton Hill. a stunning location and property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your 21212 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21212 Hotel Edinburgh
21212 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing