We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of 21212

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
21212
Ranked #50 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We have always been keen to visit a Michelin star restaurant, and this restaurant certainly lived up to its reputation. Before we even arrived I was in contact with the staff as we were on a time constraint and they assured us they would do everything they could to help. We were greeted by exceptionally friendly and attentative staff that made us feel special. The food was an experience as well as delicious and each course provided much for us to talk about. Our particular favourite was the cheese course with a number of cheeses all thoroughly explained to us. The staff phoned a taxi for us and ensured we wernt rushed through our meal. A unique experience and highly recommended. Thank you for such a wonderful evening.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gilligmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

So glad you enjoyed it all and we do indeed aim to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had the privilege to stay here for one night. I was very lucky to get a booking, as this "Restaurant With Rooms" has only got four rooms.

It was a beautiful room on the top floor of this wonderful Edinburgh town house. The bed was enormous and gloriously comfortable. The bathroom was very well appointed.

I was very impressed with the quality of the furniture and fittings, and it was a lovely surprise to find a complementary decanter of port in the room.

I would definitely recommend that you stay here....great value, central location.....book early!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CFD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you are ever in Edinburgh, stay here. I have already reviewed the restaurant, but the hotel/B&B is just as great. The room is very well appointed and the bathroom is probably the largest I have seen in any hotel anywhere...

The staff are excellent and Katie, Bridget and team make the experience very enjoyable. Staying at 21212 is like being at home with 5 star service and a Michelin star restaurant in your dining room.

:-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nev911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Once again, you are too kind - an email and a trip advisor review or 2, thank you, thank you!

Katie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a family get together in Edinburgh, the only problem was we did not stay longer ! Many thanks for a fantastic stay at your beautiful hotel. We where both very impressed by the standard offered, a real find !
The most acomodating staff I have ever met, nothing was too much trouble, we decided on a G&T in the lounge but the young man offered to bring them to our huge room, so we could settle in and chill before meeting the clan for dinner, made our visit even more enjoyable.
From the receptionist to the breakfast staff - all of them went out of their way to ensure that we as guests had a short but memorable stay. Impressed. Can not fault. We will be back !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rj_watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

So glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you back again and maybe even for longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

With only 4 bedrooms this hotel has to do a lot to get a mention but they managed this with trumps. Found on the internet and with there michelin starred restaurant closed on Sunday, after a 6 hour drive we were delighted by the level of service we received from the moment we arrived. Check in was easy, we were given a guided tour of the hotel and shown to our room. Coffee (fresh) and G&T arrived and we relaxed in the lounge area of our room. Bed was huge and the bathroom was the biggest I have come across on my travels. We ate close by at a restaurant recommended by 21212 and were not disappointed. Arrived back and although no evening staff ( the hotel is effectively closed) we were found coffee and a bottle of wine.

Breakfast with the other couple staying that night, was a delight in a small breakfast room that would not be out of place in a private house. The good was outstanding. We will return ASAP.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, we stayed in room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Hopefully next you stay you can join in the delights of the restaurant too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We dined here after watching Scotland v Australia rugby at Murrayfield. A freezing night but the welcome and the atmosphere soon warmed us up. The food was truly delicious and each course was a unique experience. The view from the full length windows and the distinctive décor make coffee in the drawing room a must. Already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReynoldsYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thanks so much for our positive comments, lovely to hear you enjoyed it and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Everything about this B&B is top notch. The staff is very kind and willing to answer any and all questions you may have. The beds are very comfortable and one of the few places I have stayed in Europe that actually has a king size bed. The rooms are spacious and make you feel like you are in your own little flat in the city. The complementary water was very welcoming after a long day of walking around the city. The breakfast was delicious and very filling.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

We very much appreciate you taking the time to tell others about 21212.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,188 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#7 of 151 in Edinburgh
391 reviews
23 Mayfield Book Direct
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
989 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 394 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 21212? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 21212

Address: 3 Royal Terrace, Edinburgh EH7 5AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £116 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 21212 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21212 is a Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms. 4 lovely bedrooms in a Grade A listed building in the New Town of Edinburgh. Only 5 minutes form Waverley train station at the foot of Calton Hill. a stunning location and property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 21212 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
21212 Hotel Edinburgh
21212 Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing