We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything you need”
Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queens Guest House
Ranked #58 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Everything was excellent, position of hotel, close to castle, close to shopping, staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice.
Room was very good modern decor, I had room 7, double bed, with shower room.
Worth having a walk to Rose Street at night plenty of bars and restaurants 3 minutes walk.
Would have preferred carpet in the corridors, the wood floors were too noisy at night.
Don't forget the Ghost Tours, go after dark so good.

Room Tip: Room 7 was at the end of the corridor ground level was so quiet. (also 8 and 9)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie2foot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed at the queens guest house for a long weekend. It is well situated in Edinburgh and decorated to a high standard. The girl on reception when we arrived was very helpful.

However, there are a few things that let it down. Whilst wooden floors in the corridors may look nice, they are not practical in a hotel/guest house when every step taken can be heard resounding along the corridor late at night and early in the morning. Also the breakfast was very poor. There was a wide enough choice but the actual cooking and presentation left much to be desired.some rooms are located in the basement, very dark and we needed the lights on during the day.

Overall an ok place, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ownerofbravaccios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at the Queens Guest House for 2 nights in mid Nov. The location is ideal for walking to all the sights. We had a room to the back and it was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, quiet and with nice amenities. The breakfast was hot and cheerfully served---the staff was very accommodating and helpful. We would definitely stay here again-a good value in Edinburgh.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed one night on a brief stopover. Our room was tiny and dark but the bed was comfy and the room spotless. The Queens Guest House is in a great location but we would not have wanted to stay longer in that particular room. Staff were great, very helpful and cheerful. Enjoyed the breakfast.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We received a very warm welcome when we checked in, even though we had turned up slightly before the start of the 'official' check in time and were shown to our room on the ground floor. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, while the bathroom was nice and big. We were lucky that our room was located at the rear of the hotel, so we didn't experience any problems with noise and so we had a great sleep.
Breakfast was pretty average as breakfasts go-the usual selection of self service buffet items and a choice of cooked options. Nothing was outstanding but it did the job. The staff serving breakfast were all very pleasant and efficient however.

If you're looking for good standard accommodation in a great location, then you could do a lot worse than the queen's Guest House.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel if you're concerned about noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LabradorFan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have just arrived home from a few days staying here and I must say our party of four had a wonderful time, the guest house is beautiful aswell as immaculate, the room we stars in was a four bed and was a good size room with shower/toilet very clean &comfortable. The food was beautiful. The staff were wonderful very friendly and so helpful I would defiantly recommend queens guest house to anyone and if I return to edinburgh I will most defiantly stay here again :-)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were in Edinburgh for our 25th Anniversary. We chose it because we got married in Queens Street registry office, but also because of the location. Very central. On arrival the reception was so friendly, they could not have done more to help. They even got some champaign glasses for us to celebrate. The room was very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent - cooked to perfection and to order. I would definitely stay here again especially at the bargain price for a central location.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back will be quieter. The rooms are different sizes although only saw two of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#66 of 396 in Edinburgh
447 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#25 of 396 in Edinburgh
499 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#43 of 396 in Edinburgh
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 396 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#73 of 396 in Edinburgh
204 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#55 of 396 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Address: 45 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £53 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing