We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip to Edinburgh”
Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Guest House
Ranked #57 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed with our children for 4 nights. Location was very good. Being in New Town allowed easy access to all the things we wanted to see and do while in Edinburgh (bus service was within an easy walk). The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful and filling -- in fact, it was probably the best breakfast we had during our 8 days in Scotland. WiFi worked well -- this was important as my husband needed access to the internet for work.
We were in room 14 and the bathroom was tiny (not a problem but just wanted those with size issues to know) and there was no real delineation between the shower and rest of bathroom so, despite the shower curtain, much of the floor was wet after a shower. Note: based on pictures of other rooms, this does not seem to the case in all the rooms.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookssmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Large windows provided a really nice light room. Friendly staff even the painter who was chatty and apologetic if slightly in the way. Spacious room and adjoining bathroom, great shower which more than made up for not having a bathtub! Good breakfast and a great base to explore Edinburgh's delights! Recommend it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dangermoose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Have just come back from a two night stay in Queens Guest House and it was lovely. Spotless clean and what a lovely room. The breakfast was delicious and we were so central to everything. Staff could not do enough for us. The only thing I would say if you take the car it is not easy to find a space during the day. You would probably have to park in a multi-story which was about 15 minutes away. We were very lucky as we found a great traffic warden who showed us a placed to park, whereby we left the car there for two days without paying a penny. How lucky can you get.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 which was the disabled room. It was massive and had everything you needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomfordTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is in a great location for the castle and the royal mile. The wonderful staff even helped with our laundry as we had been traveling for quite some time. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Thank MLTWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I recently stayed at this delightful guest house with my mum and sister for a couple of nights. The room slept five and was lovely, clean and spacious with a great size en-suite bathroom. Excellent location just behind Princes Street. Breakfast was tasty with a good choice. The staff where very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here over half term and found it to be exactly what we wanted!
The room and en suite were both large and very clean.
The breakfast was cooked fresh to order each morning, which was a treat!
All the staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great!
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights during half term. Excellent location really close to Princes Street and city centre. Huge room for five, very clean and had a lovely en suite bathroom. Very good choice for breakfast. Would definitely stay here again. Good price booked through booking.com

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank JonathanL1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#68 of 396 in Edinburgh
447 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#28 of 396 in Edinburgh
499 reviews
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#42 of 396 in Edinburgh
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#17 of 396 in Edinburgh
761 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#73 of 396 in Edinburgh
203 reviews
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 396 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Address: 45 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing