We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of parking”
Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queens Guest House
Ranked #62 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Queens for 2 nights and thought there would be car park close by. We had to park our car in the NCP car park whijch was 15 minutes walk at a cost of £15. Per day. We had a basement room which was very dark and the bed was small for a double room. It was noisy if anyone moving about in the corridor. Location is quite good though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is NOT in basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Doufus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here in April for 5 nights. Very nice room but we were downstairs in room number 3 and it was a very, very dark room overlooking a dingy small courtyard. However, the room was spacious with two single beds in there and a double bed. The mattress on the double bed was, unfortunately rock hard, so little sleep was to be had. Never the less, the bathroom was clean and stylish with some nice toiletries.

The breakfast room was nice, light and airy. Cereal on offer and a full scottish breakfast. Both were really nice and the service friendly. Eggs were not always up to scratch and I did comment on this at the time and to the manager in charge when we checked out. They were either very undercooked, or rock hard. Just specify when ordering how you would like your eggs.

Great location and close to everything that we came to see. The weather was also lovely and sunny. Edinburgh is a lovely city, and we will return.

Room Tip: Try not to get room number 3 downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice friendly guest house, much better than a clinical feel of a larger chain. Great breakfast options, room could have done with being a bit bigger.
The best bit about this place is the location, only minutes from Princes Street and so central that we didn't use the bus once. Friendly yet unassumingly staff.

Watch out for the hot tap water, it could scald if you are not careful.

Room Tip: Don't ask for rooms 1 -4 they are in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The location is great - walking distance to the royal mile and new town area. Breakfast was simply lovely. The staff was unfailingly friendly and polite. I wouldn't say it felt personal, but the place was definitely clean and efficiently run. Downsides: we were awoken one morning at 5am for 45 minutes of dance music before someone tracked down the cause of the disturbance. The smell of breakfast seems to linger all day.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Clean and large rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast! We had a group of 10 in a quadruple room and a family room, loads of space and comfortable beds. Nice than expected and very good value for money. Short walk into the city centre to all the bars and pubs but on a quieter street than the rest

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed with our children for 4 nights. Location was very good. Being in New Town allowed easy access to all the things we wanted to see and do while in Edinburgh (bus service was within an easy walk). The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful and filling -- in fact, it was probably the best breakfast we had during our 8 days in Scotland. WiFi worked well -- this was important as my husband needed access to the internet for work.
We were in room 14 and the bathroom was tiny (not a problem but just wanted those with size issues to know) and there was no real delineation between the shower and rest of bathroom so, despite the shower curtain, much of the floor was wet after a shower. Note: based on pictures of other rooms, this does not seem to the case in all the rooms.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookssmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#68 of 395 in Edinburgh
439 reviews
New Town
Elder York Guest House
Elder York Guest House
#69 of 395 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 395 in Edinburgh
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#52 of 395 in Edinburgh
764 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 395 in Edinburgh
738 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#27 of 395 in Edinburgh
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Address: 45 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing