We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guest house, excellent location.”
Review of Queens Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queens Guest House
Ranked #67 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice guest house, excellent location.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Needed an overnight stay in Edinburgh to meet customers and have a night out at the Fringe. I normally chose the budget hotel at Edinburgh Park and come in via train - but found this guest house for a lower cost. And the guest house is in a perfect location for access to the Fringe comedy. Had a basement room (room 3) and was good. Firm mattress, so got a good nights sleep. Shower was good, but no air con (it is Edinburgh...). All the staff were nice. The only area for improvement would be the breakfast - the bacon was a bit overdone. I would seriously consider staying here again for next years Fringe.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkS1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    119
    34
    18
    9
See reviews for
61
144
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were happy to return to this spotlessly clean, well run, accommodating Guest House. It's ideally placed for The Traverse Theatre and Assembly rooms and The Stand Comedy Club. Already booked in for 2015

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JanandCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The photos of the rooms and beds don't match with reality.The only good point was the location- in a quiet place but close to the center. Rooms were small for 4, not very clean, smelly, staff were not proffessional. We booked a quadraple room in December and paid for 4. In May I wrote an email requesting a room on the ground floor and confirmed my reservation for 22nd July. In their reply, I was told that they didn't have a quadraple room on the ground floor but placed us on the first floor. When we arrived, first two nights they put us in a basement room. Besides, the rooms they placed us were triple rooms but converted into a quadraple by adding a small folding bed. In brief, it wasn't worth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tülin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family of 4 stayed there for 5 nights in (nightmarish room 14) 1st floor with no lifts, therefore have to carry heavy luggage up stairs.The room was really not suitable for 4 people (maybe 3 max). The bathroom was pokey and lacked ventilation,my daughter hit her nose on the towel rack which ended up getting infected.There was no airconditioning in the room,a window that did not open further than 5 cms with the view of roofs and noisy morning gym classes.The only means of cooling down was a very small fan.
Breakfast time was usually a fustrating time, with the waitress never knowing who arrived when.
They always forgot something or another, don't wait for your toast or tea- it won't arrive, will try again tomorrow.
There is no iron in the room, but then again there is no room in this room!!

Room Tip: Stay away from room 14(1st floor, stairs only), pokiest bathrrom, no a/c,no view and absolutely not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessuisenvacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I got a room at this central guest house for a really good price. It is in an excellent location (easy walking distance from Princess Street, Waverley Station and Hendersons Bistro/Cafe!). My room was really big and very nice with a massive en suite - I think it was designed to accomodate people with a disability (that said I had been a disabled person - particularly if I used a wheelchair I would have been really irritated by the layout and excess furniture etc). Decor was modern, staff were helpful and breakfast was.....ok (but no better!). I would recommend this place particularly if you can get a good price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickoaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, New York, United States
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great location if you plan on spending some time walking the Royal Mile, visiting the Edinburgh Castle or the Princes Street Gardens. Travelling with other girlfriends we chose to arrange for twin bed rooms. Keep in mind if you choose this option, the twins butt up against one another. The room I shared was facing a courtyard with a large window. The room came with a fan since there is no AC. The bathroom was modern, neat and clean. There is a hair dryer provided in one of the dresser drawers. Each bed comes with two pillows. Towels were provided which included a wash cloth. Not many places abroad offer wash cloths...this one did.

The breakfast included cold selections as well as hot dishes with eggs and meats. Toast and porridge/oatmeal were also available.

We arrived mid-morning right from the airport. Our rooms needed to be readied so we were allowed to leave our luggage in the breakfast room and head out to explore. The young woman who greeted us was pleasant and helpful. When we returned in late afternoon, another person greeted us. He was a middle-aged gentleman who hadn't a clue how to handle a travel agency's voucher. He wouldn't show us to our rooms until he checked with the travel agency for the authenticity of the voucher.

Our stay was one night with breakfast. All was good. Free Wi-fi Password was provided.

Room Tip: Room 5 was good for twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahL428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On previous visits to Edinburgh we had stayed at another B&B. The owners have since retired and closed the business, so we looked for another place to stay. Queens Guest House turned out to be a really good choice. It is convenient to Princes Street and all the attractions that are near it.

Our ground floor room was immaculate. The bathroom was a little small, but very modern, very clean.

Breakfast offered a number of choices. All that we tried were fine. (Haven't quite gotten used to the "cold toast" thing, though.)

The staff, mostly from the continent, was friendly, charming and obviously had a solid work ethic as they were kept busy serving breakfasts and then tending to the rooms.

We had a terrific time in Edinburgh and our stay at Queens Guest House made it all the better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 149 in Edinburgh
678 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#73 of 392 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#40 of 392 in Edinburgh
435 reviews
New Town
53 Frederick Street
53 Frederick Street
#23 of 392 in Edinburgh
478 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#58 of 392 in Edinburgh
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Guest House

Property: Queens Guest House
Address: 45 Queen Street, Edinburgh EH2 3NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queens Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Queens Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing