We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget stay within 5 mins walk of Princes Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #83 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Budget stay within 5 mins walk of Princes Street”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

You get what you pay for..... in my opinion this place was quite good and quite good location. I would surely come back here especially for a quick and cheap city break. We missed breakfast as we had to leave early but would have been happier if they served the full Scottish breakfast instead of the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouravBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    342
    142
    25
    14
See reviews for
125
360
51
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

similar to a Travelodge type hotel but in my opinion better, as they put a few extras in like toiletries etc. the room we had was kept clean with what we thought was a very comfortable bed, hairdryer and kettle with cups and tea and coffee etc. the bathroom was a decent size, clean etc. Forgot to mention their is a safe in the room too.
The hotel is in a brilliant location with most things within an easy walking distance,castle, shops, pubs, restaraunts and princes street about 1 minutes walk. haymarket and Waverley(main station) are both 5-10 minutes easy and straightforward walk away.
we never tried the hotel breakfast so cant comment but the price looked reasonable just like the room prices,especially when you look at what a really good location it is in. there are also plenty of nearby bus stops aswell if you are thinking of using the public transport, soon to be opened tramline runs outside aswell. Would seriously recommend, when you look at the location and some of the overcharging of other hotels in Edinburgh centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1mickt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Me and my mum spent a a night at this hotel. The rooms are really fancy, big and clean. The beds are comfy. The staff was also friendly and very helpful. We had a really good experience. Would love to stay here one more time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
A lovely review, thank you. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night in December. Warm welcome from the guy at the front desk, who was only to eager to highlight what could be seen/done in the area. Room was big, comfy and clean. Good location. Would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claireabella85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thanks for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snarkhunter
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My girlfriend & I went up to edinburgh for the weekend. We booked accomodation quite late, so alot of the hotels and B&Bs were expensive, but cityroomz was cheap in comparison.
Our room was clean and fairly large. The staff in the reception were friendly & the hotel is centrally located.
Its a good value budget hotel,.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snarkhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Located just off Prince's Street, meaning most attractions are well within walking distance. Area was quiet, and there's a Morrisons just next door which opens til 11pm if you need to pop to the shop. Bus to and from the airport is literally outside the door which was fantastic (journey takes about 20 mins). The room was cosy, and the bed was comfortable. Buffet breakfast was just ok. Upon arrival, the staff at reception were very welcoming and friendly. Unfortunately, the same could not be said for the girl on reception when we checked out. There was barely a thank you and there certainly wasn't a smile anywhere to be seen. We asked if our bags could be stored somewhere for an hour until we were leaving for the airport which seemed like a huge inconvenience to her. She did provide us with an area, but with as little communication as she could possible manage. After having an enjoyable few days in Edinburgh, it was a pity to be met with such a sour attitude just before we left. However, this aside I would definitely recommend Cityroomz as it was modern, clean, comfortable, well-situated and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_lavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel was fantastic. The location is excellent - really only about 10 minutes walking from Waverley train station, and right on the end of Princes Street. There are several bus stops right out the front door, too. The staff at Cityroomz was unfailingly friendly, and the room was very nice. The breakfast is very good - worth the extra money. When I decided to stay a bit longer in Edinburgh (excellent city!), I asked if I could extend my reservation and they were fortunately able to accommodate me. I hope to return one day, and when I do, I will certainly be booking here.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have bunk beds available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
It is always a pleasure to hear from happy guests. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the delights that Edinburgh has to offer. Lets hope you come back soon and maybe take the time to try some of the other great cities that we have in the UK including Newcastle & Cardiff (we have hotels in both these cities called Sleeperz Hotels). Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Property: Cityroomz Edinburgh
Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing