We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a city break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cityroomz Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #85 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a city break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights, and struggle to find any negative with this hotel at all. It is in a perfect location, just off of Princes Street, about a 10-15 min walk from Waverley train station. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, in particular Marie, who checked us in. The room was a great size, and very clean. Our room was at the front of the hotel, and I was concerned about it being a little noisy, however after a restless first night, I soon adjusted and slept very well. Near 3 great little supermarket shops, and lots of amazing restaurants to eat in, some of very good value. Already looked at coming back, loved Edinburgh and wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Wow a 5 star review, thank you so much. It is always great to hear from happy guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    322
    137
    22
    14
See reviews for
122
335
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Staff were very friendly. The room was cheap and cheerful, it had everything you need. It was very clean and a very comfortable bed. There's a buffet continental breakfast but we didn't have that. There's lots of places nearby for breakfast, lunch or evening meals and loads of bars and restaurants within walking distance

Room Tip: It is quite noisy in the rooms looking out onto the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Divadolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for a great review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and would definately stay again. The hotel is located within the city centre and it took us no more than 20mins to walk there from the train station. Check in was easy,as was checking out. The room was spacious,clean and had tea and coffee making facilties aswell as a tv. We didnt have breakfast there so cant comment on that but the hotel is located next door to a Morrisons local and a Sainsburys local opposite where we bought breakfast each morning before setting off for the day.
Staff were friendly and helpful. The only slight negative comment I could make is that we were unable to open the windows so I would imagine the room would be quite stuffy in warmer weather.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinesearcher_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It's always great to hear from happy guests. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We were staying in Edinburgh for a wedding and Cityroomz was exactly what we needed. It was basic but clean and comfortable. It's in an excellent location just off the west end of Prince's Street and was great value for what we paid. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thanks for the review, happy to hear that you would stay with us again. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed here in a family room for three nights and were very pleased. We asked for (and got) a room away from the main street side, and our room was very quiet. Kids loved the bunk beds, which were full length and solid, which is not always the case with hotel children's beds. We were travelling by train and walked to Cityroomz from Haymarket - which is a little bit closer than Waverley. As we were too early to check in we were able to leave bags in a locked room - we did that at the end of our stay too. Breakfast is available at £4.95 - a child is free with a paying adult. The choice was fine, food fresh and there was plenty to choose from at the continental-style buffet. Next door to Morrisons Local and across the road from Sainsburys Local, so easy to buy a pint of milk! Overal, we really like it and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Overlooks a busy street. Rooms at the back have no view but are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshPotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review. Happy to hear that your family enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for 2 days, my son & I in separate rooms on the 4th floor. The rooms were comfortable, and not too warm. My bathroom was very small but quite big enough - shower was excellent. My son had a bath with shower over & much bigger bathroom. We were on the side away from the street so there was no traffic noise except for general city buzz. My only gripe was that my room backed onto the lift shaft & I heard every clunk of the lift operating & doors opening. I found that if I left the window open, there was a constantly running fan, the noise of which drowned out the lift. I would imagine it would be the same for each floor, so avoid room 404, 304, 204 & 104!
The breakfast was excellent & well worth the money. The staff were really helpful & friendly too. I found someone had tried to cook something in my kettle, all burned on and the receptionist was really sorry & had it replaced by the time we returned.
It took us about 15 minutes to walk from Waverley Station, Haymarket is actually nearer. The location is brilliant for everything central, and buses are easy to find if you prefer. Would definitely stay here again, though hopefully away from the lift!

Room Tip: Avoid 404! 410 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Sorry about the kettle. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The frontage just looks like a shop and could be easily missed, but it is an ideal location just off centre, about 15 minute walk to Waverley Station, 10 mins to Usher Hall Theatre and 15-30 mins walk from Dungeons / Whiskey Experience / Castle etc Ideal location. The airport bus stops directly outside, Airlink 100 £4. Not right in the centre just on the edge, close to all the shops / pubs and restaurants.
The reception is a small lobby and check in was quick and smooth and I was about 2 hours early due to change in flight time.
The foyers/corridors and lifts are clean, fresh and tidy.
The double room I had was very nice, large, bright and clean as was the bathroom. Large comfy bed, which gave me a very good nights sleep, I was expecting a lot of noise from the location but there wasn't. The curtains keep all the light out which is good too.
All the usual stuff, TV, Hairdryer, toiletries, tea/coffee, FREE strong WIFI, good modern décor, full length mirror. The shower was powerful and hot.
The only negatives were for the price paid, for a mid week room, I would have expected to get breakfast however it was about £5 extra for continental only, and there wasnt a phone socket near the bed.
As for other reviews I didn't need any passwords for the wifi worked right off, and the toilet/shower combo in my room wasn't an issue.
All in all, its a good quality, centrally located, clean, tidy comfortable hotel and I would stay there again next time I go to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PCME1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for leaving a great review and recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Property: Cityroomz Edinburgh
Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing