We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel which was celebrating its 1st birthday. Great location.
Within walking distance of the popular sights. Sort bus journey to the zoo which is perfect as the purpose of our trip.
The Bed was comfortable and had soft sheets.
We requested a shower and bath in our room and they gave us exactly that.
The bath was a little small though, so don't expect anything grand in that area.
The shower was lovely and warm through out all times of the day.
I liked the nice big windows.
I'd stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Imogen9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thanks for the 'happy birthday' message, yes it's been a year since we took over the hotel and refurbished it to create 'Cityroomz Edinburgh'. Glad to hear that you would stay with us again. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was our first time in Edinburgh, and we were amazed by the city.
I'm feeling lucky that we found this hotel. It's right in the heart of the citycentre, so everything is in walking distance! A small shop just right next to the building. All restaurants, bars, clubs are right there, or very close. Castle is in walking distance too and lots of other sightseeing too.
Room and the bathroom were clean and not that small as I expected. The wall colors made me feel good too. Wasn't boring at least :)
I would really recommend it to anyone, who is there to explore the city. If you are a tourist you don't want to spend too much time in the hotel anyway... But when you are there you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antapfenomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. Our location really is great for exploring all that Edinburgh has to offer. Thanks for recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here for 10 days at the beginning of April - what a little gem.
The staff were all so very helpful and always pleasant.
The room, whilst small, was clean and bright and wonderfully cosy when it was cold.
I had a bunk bed and I have never been so comfortable - the mattress was amazing.
The location is perfect - well within walking distance to the train station and Princes St for shopping and indeed catching local buses - which I did a lot of.

I also went away for a week and they happily stored my luggage until I returned and had no problems when I asked for the room I previously stayed in.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay and would happily stay there again

Room Tip: I had a room to the rear of the building and at the end of a hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review of the hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear from satisfied guests. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel was cheap and seemed on great location, and for these reasons we booked it. The room is simple and basic, and that would be ok if it would have been clean, but it was not. The shower had a mosquito that could have been from the Jurasic, and the bed's sheets were old and very used. The matress was not very comfortable and it was a bit cold.
We stayed there for 3 nights and on the second night some noise woke me up at 5 in the morning. We were next to the laundry/service room and I believe the washing machines were on but I complained and they kept denying there was any noise coming from there. In the end I was offered another room that was next to the noisy elevator so I kept mine. Basic breakfast, danish and croissants not fresh or nice.
All in all, I would not recommend this hotel if you can avoid it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eirey26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. The vast majority of guests comment extremely positively about the quality of the rooms and the comfortable beds (they are only 12 months old). As you can see from other reviewers comments we are generally rated highly on all aspects of our room and service. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

City center located and right in front of the Link100 bus stop for fast transfer from and to the airport. Good beds and we had no outside noise with the windows open (room facing backside). Decent breakfast for £4.95 was good value/price. Simple, clean, pleasant, comfortable.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DaanvdL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We picked this one as it was ``the cheapest`` right in the centre for that busy.weekend. We spent average 90£ per night without breakfast, so at the end not that cheap. Location is really great but that`s the only thing. Dirty and noisy. Also rude cleaners rushing you out at 8.30 am even with do not disturb panel outside...We tried once breakfast...awful. All in all, great location but expensive and trashy. Not recommended at all.

1  Thank Giuseppe83_MK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us, however this review does seem to be out of context when seen with the majority of other reviewers positive comments on both the rooms and the levels of service that we offer. We also get lots of good feedback on our great value continental breakfast. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It wanted a small room in a central location with good wifi and that was exactly what I got. You cab't get any closer to the city centre and the bus stop for the airport is just outside the hotel. Basic rooms, but did the job perfectly and good wifi connection.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bjornen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Edinburgh. Thank you for leaving a lovely review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,293 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,645 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £36 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing