We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location makes this an ideal place to stay, handy to everything in the centre of Edinburgh, The staff were super helpful, from booking by phone from Overseas to finding a fan to help cool the room. We stayed twice while in Scotland and both rooms were clean, quiet and spacious, Breakfast was good and plentiful. Loved the quirky, old building, nature of the corridors. Would recommend it to travellers visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RM361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Let's hope you can make it 3 times, when you next visit the UK, thank you so much for recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed recently in Room 219 which overlooks the main street. Unlike previous reviews we were not disturbed by street noise. The room was a descent size with a good size bathroom. Spotless clean with all the facilities you require. All staff were pleasant and professional. I also liked the security of not being able to access the inside of the hotel without a room key. The location is excellent for exploring the city, during the weekend we walked everywhere. The breakfast was very good value for money, nice, simple and enjoyable. Overall, a fantastic weekend and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a central location for a good price.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance, they seem to be very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chorleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and your wholehearted recommendation to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just stayed at this well-priced, basic hotel near the west end of Princes Street. The location is good for sight-seeing, with plenty of restaurant options and shopping close by as well. The family room was great and our daughter was thrilled with the bunk bed arrangement. The beds were the most comfortable we had during our two week trip with various other hotels, and that was impressive. Breakfast had ample options for a great price and coffee & tea is available all day long for no charge. Front desk staff was friendly, helpful as were all the staff we encountered. I'd compare this experience to a Best Western in the US. A solid, well-located property that delivers real value to travelers.

Room Tip: The family rooms are on the quiet side of the hotel (off-street). Room 116 is right across from brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterwings13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

It's always a pleasure to read reviews from happy guests, thank you so much. I think you sum up the hotel beautifully. Glad to hear that you felt our beds were the most comfortable during you visit. I hope you had a pleasant journey back to the US. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Looks can be deceptive as I realised once I entered the front door. From the outside it's not the best looking hotel in the world but inside it's something else. Incredibly clean and tidy with friendly helpful staff. My room was described as a compact double but I've stayed in smaller rooms without that description! Bathroom was very clean with a powerful shower and complimnetary toiletries. Breakfast was continental style and more than adequate.
Overall, this hotel is great value for money in a good location. I will definately by staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Wow, a 5 star review, thank you so much, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We arrived late at Cirtyroomz (11.30pm), but still had a quick check in and given a room on the 1st floor. Rooms are "basic" with limited hanging and draw space, but it was a king sized bed and a powerful shower. Room was at the back and really quiet given the great location on a busy road right in the heart of the City. Short walk to Princes Street and Haymarket and a with a bus stop right outside the door and a tram stop a few minutes away, the location could not have been better. At over GBP400.00 for 4 nights not the cheapest place we have stayed in but the price was very competitive amongst other alternatives we looked at. We visit family in Edinburgh on a regular basis and will be staying at Cityroomz again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordonandMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Lovely to hear that you will stay with us again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I try to save when I can with hotels - even if it means an extra 10-15 minute walk to sites. But, as a single, female traveler, I have my requirements for cleanliness, safety, and room amenities (safe, wifi, etc). Cityroomz was perfect for my 3 day intro stay in Edinburgh! A 15-min walk from the rail station past Princess Gardens (even with heavy luggage!), and the airlink bus is literally outside the door (and a Tesco next door). Very friendly and helpful front desk staff greet.

Basic room (red decor adds a spark). I arrived on a Saturday, stayed on the 1st floor, facing the street, and didn't hear any noise. Comfy bed, cable tv and wifi. Basic breakfast (4.95gbp) - bread, cereal, fruits, juice, coffee - plenty to fill you up for the day. (or, a Tesco is right next door.)

It was nice to stay off of Princess Street (too many stores, traffic), but, the hotel is just 2 blocks from the Castle. Towards the West End, there were some nice restaurants, and a different flavor from Old Town/touristy areas.

I recommend Cityroomz for all the above. I would rather use the saved money, and treat myself to all the tasty Scottish treats!

Room Tip: You cannot open the windows on 1st floor rooms (for security), but, they do have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whereshouldilive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you so much for recommending us to other. Glad to hear that you enjoyed you stay and your tasty Scottish treats. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel which really delivered 'what's on the tin' - great location - airport bus/tram stop just outside - pubs & restaurants in 5 minute walk away, centre about 10 - 15min walk away.
The room was tidy & clean, included the coffee facilities. Bathroom also was very clean and towels were changed everyday. Staff were very helpful and cheery, would be happy to stay there again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks for the review, happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and even happier to hear that you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
155 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,145 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,229 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £48 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing