We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel in the middle of Edinburgh” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cityroomz Edinburgh

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #85 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in the middle of Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Looking for accommodation in Edinburgh that is centrally located and affordable can be quite a challenge. This time it took me a while but luckily I found cityroomz. Just off princes Street about a two minute walk from Edinburgh Castle and shops we stayed at cityroomz for two nights. The hotel was clean and quiet which is a bonus in the middle of a city. The only downside would be the temperature, we couldn't get our room to cool down which made it like a sauna, even with the fan on and the window (partly) open. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location superb!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks so much for leaving a positive review, thanks for mentioning the great location and friendly staff. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    322
    137
    22
    14
See reviews for
122
335
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Western Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent a night at Cityroomz for a short stopover on the way to other places - were after something that was a reasonable standard and value, central and good for transport to and from the airport. This hotel ticks all the boxes, with the West End and tram/bus stops within 50m and tidy comfortable rooms. It might be a bit cramped for a longer stay but as an overnighter it was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_and_Moira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review, glad to hear that we ticked all your boxes. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel is just what you want if you need somewhere central and cheaper than the rest. It is 2 mins walk from the tram stop, 5 mins walk from shops, pubs and parks. Stones throw from Edinburgh castle.
We just booked rooms, no breakfast. bunk beds, decent shower. Poor ventilation in rooms though, got very hot and stuffy at night (even with a fan)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisClulow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for leaving a positive review. You chose one of our bunk bedded rooms, we also have lots of larger double rooms and some very large family rooms so we can be an even more convenient choice depending on what style of room you need. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location makes this an ideal place to stay, handy to everything in the centre of Edinburgh, The staff were super helpful, from booking by phone from Overseas to finding a fan to help cool the room. We stayed twice while in Scotland and both rooms were clean, quiet and spacious, Breakfast was good and plentiful. Loved the quirky, old building, nature of the corridors. Would recommend it to travellers visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RM361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Let's hope you can make it 3 times, when you next visit the UK, thank you so much for recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed recently in Room 219 which overlooks the main street. Unlike previous reviews we were not disturbed by street noise. The room was a descent size with a good size bathroom. Spotless clean with all the facilities you require. All staff were pleasant and professional. I also liked the security of not being able to access the inside of the hotel without a room key. The location is excellent for exploring the city, during the weekend we walked everywhere. The breakfast was very good value for money, nice, simple and enjoyable. Overall, a fantastic weekend and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a central location for a good price.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance, they seem to be very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chorleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your fantastic review and your wholehearted recommendation to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just stayed at this well-priced, basic hotel near the west end of Princes Street. The location is good for sight-seeing, with plenty of restaurant options and shopping close by as well. The family room was great and our daughter was thrilled with the bunk bed arrangement. The beds were the most comfortable we had during our two week trip with various other hotels, and that was impressive. Breakfast had ample options for a great price and coffee & tea is available all day long for no charge. Front desk staff was friendly, helpful as were all the staff we encountered. I'd compare this experience to a Best Western in the US. A solid, well-located property that delivers real value to travelers.

Room Tip: The family rooms are on the quiet side of the hotel (off-street). Room 116 is right across from brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterwings13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
It's always a pleasure to read reviews from happy guests, thank you so much. I think you sum up the hotel beautifully. Glad to hear that you felt our beds were the most comfortable during you visit. I hope you had a pleasant journey back to the US. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Looks can be deceptive as I realised once I entered the front door. From the outside it's not the best looking hotel in the world but inside it's something else. Incredibly clean and tidy with friendly helpful staff. My room was described as a compact double but I've stayed in smaller rooms without that description! Bathroom was very clean with a powerful shower and complimnetary toiletries. Breakfast was continental style and more than adequate.
Overall, this hotel is great value for money in a good location. I will definately by staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Wow, a 5 star review, thank you so much, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Javeed Anwar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Property: Cityroomz Edinburgh
Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Lastminute so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing