We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very clean, spacious room, bathroom had a bath as well as a shower. Great location, close to Edinburgh Castle and shopping on Princes St. Walking distance to railway station. Good pub directly across the road. Tea & coffee making facilities provided but there was no fridge. There was some hanging space but it was not in a wardrobe. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We are a family of 3, 2 adults and our 12 year old daughter. We booked a family room which had a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabfone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for leaving a 5 star review. Always a pleasure to hear from happy guests. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Do not stay here if you are used to luxurious surroundings, it is fine if you want a cheap base in the city. The rooms are basic, the bathrooms is more basic than it looks in the photographs. The carpet in our room was old and tatty and needed replacing, the bathroom also needed some TLC! We found clumps of hair in the bathroom when we arrived, although this was quickly rectified when reported to reception (no apology though!). The whole hotel feels claustrophobic and cramped, mainly due to entering a small reception and then going straight into a cramped lift/stairwell and corridor to your room. There is very little space outside of your room. The redeeming features were the comfortable bed and the fan they provide (the hotel is very hot!). The location is right at the end of Princes street, if you struggle with walking then I would advise booking somewhere more central. We won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsol86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks for leaving a review, sorry to hear that you weren't entirely satisfied with your stay, we do generally meet our guests expectations as you will have read from other reviewers. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here with ten friends for the weekend. Rooms are clean and basic, but are perfect for a weekend of sightseeing, drinking and eating. cash machine across the road. Just off princes street, so close to all amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks for the 5 star review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Great location! All attractions within a leisurely stroll.
Stops at the airport and to the strict center under the nose. Rooms simply furnished but very clean and functional. The windows from the main street double. In the night sleeping with the window ajar can be confusing. But it is a fan to be cooled down warm atmosphere, so you can close the window and keep silence:)
The bathroom was very clean with soap, hair and body wash. Towels changed every day!
TV small but choice of main channels.
On the table kettle, water, coffee, tea, milk ... welcome :)
The bed very comfortable with convenient light switches beside.
I did not try the breakfast, but the menu looks nice and not expensive. Children under 12 eat for free in the company of paying parents.
Main shops, ATM, pubs, restaurants, McDonald's... 1 minute walk.
Very nice and friendly staff!
Certainly a place worth recommending:)

Room Tip: Stay for 3 nights. I had a room on the 3rd floor with windows overlooking the main street. In the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you so much for a 'great' review. A pleasure to hear about your stay with us. And thank you for recommending us to others. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is not especially easy to notice but it IS easy to find. Although the hotel is huge inside, the street frontage is very small. Look for a pic of the front of the hotel on Trip Advisor so you will know what you are looking for. We did and it made it much easier to find.

The Twin Cabin rooms are SMALL and we knew that beforehand. There are two rooms, though, that are a bit larger than the others and we were lucky to be assigned to one of them (room 214).

The mattresses were comfortable and the bedding was nice. The bathroom was larger than we expected and fully functional. There is a TV with decent channels and a coffee maker. There is a hair dryer, iron and ironing board. The hotel is clean and there is free internet, although we had some problems with the signal.

There are three grocery stores within steps of the hotel. Next door is a Tesco, next to that is a Food Cooperative and across the street is a Sainsbury's Local. The prices are better at Sainsbury's Local.

The first and second floor rooms do not have fans but the rooms on the rest of the floors do. We were on the second floor and our room was very hot. We asked for a fan and they got one for us from an empty room and it made a world of difference.

To get around we bought a two day pass on the Hop Oh - Hop Off buses. There are five different routes which can be used with this very affordable pass. We used the bus for general transportation and for sight seeing. The Red Bus stops just around the corner on Lothian St. and was very convenient.

We had no problem with noise and it appeared that the hotel was fairly well booked.

Our only complaint was that there is only one chair in the room. Someone had to sit on the bunk bed or on the floor, neither of which was comfortable. A cheap folding chair, which could be folded and slid under the bed or leaned against the wall when not in use, would have been a God-send!!

A warning - the ladder to the top bunk has very narrow rungs and has no angle. Look through traveler pics to see what I mean. It is no easy task to get up and down so put a young person up there or someone who doesn't need to go to the bathroom often during the night. ;-)

Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Twin Cabin Room #214 is a bit larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thanks so much for your comprehensive review, just let us know on your next visit and we will put another chair in your room. Happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wanting a central hotel for a one night visit to Edinburgh, I booked this hotel thinking it was a budget option that would be a bit rough around the edges. How surprised I was! The location is indeed fantastic, just off Princes Street and round the corner from the Caledonian. The reception area is small but the welcome we got from Shelagh was fantastic. I had requested a nice room because it was my birthday and Shelagh wished me happy birthday and made sure I got a great room. The room was spacious, very fresh looking and comfortable. It had all I needed, a big ensuite, TV, free wifi, safe, tea and coffee etc. No other extras that I didn't need. A big plus was being able to open the windows and having a fan as it was unseasonably hot for Scotland. I opted for the continental breakfast for a small extra cost and it put most posher hotel breakfasts to shame. A big range of fresh fruit, multiple juice choices, pastries, choice of yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, breads. Even the coffee from the machine was above average. I think you can tell I was happily surprised by this place and would recommend it as a great base for an Edinburgh short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rml247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

It's always a pleasure to surprise and delight our guests, thanks for a great review, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wanting to stay a couple of nights in Edinburgh but a little boracic [lint] after replacing windows we booked our Compact room at Cityroomz with a little trepidation particularly after reading some reviews from last year. We had no reason to fear however nor indeed to complain, once we settled in. Located close to Princes Street and so well placed for sight seeing.

From the start the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful and that is not just me saying this but my Glaswegian wife so it must be true given the friendly rivalry that exists.

Following comments last year about the high room temperatures air conditioning is now present in the bedrooms.

Our room faced onto the main street but we were not troubled by noise from traffic or revellers.

Reading some posts were were expecting basic coffee and croissants for breakfast so were pleasantly surprised to find a fairly comprehensive array of cold meats and fruit for breakfast. The coffee was excellent the beans being first ground then the coffee made. Minor issue with the breakfast room size when too many guests try to get served at the same time but the staff worked well to keep things flowing.

Don't be put off by some of the negative reviews this is a great place to stay and so handy. Despite a group staying in the hotel and some children we had a perfect nights sleep each night.

The bedroom is small but well appointed for the price. Bed very comfortable. Tea and coffee facilities in room and mineral water supplied and replenished.

Small but very clean en suite with shower completed the room.

Definitely recommend this for a reasonably priced city break.

Did I mention that the staff are great?

Note: Ratings are based upon the type of hotel and our view of value for money - if we had expected 5* then we would have booked 5*.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lindbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful review, so pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. It also nice that you mentioned our staff are great, they will be pleased. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,245 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £40 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing