We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close enough to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Cityroomz in early August. This was our first trip to Scotland, and we had a great first impression from the hotel. It is a basic European style hotel. I had emailed the staff before reserving the room with questions, and they were quick to respond. That service continued when we arrived. I had mentioned that we were on an anniversary trip, and the staff had treats waiting for us in our room! Such a nice surprise. We had a B&B package for the Fringe festival which made the room a good value. Breakfast was good and the staff in the breakfast room was very nice. We loved being able to make our own espressos for breakfast. They even had soya milk on the breakfast bar! The room location was quiet as we requested. The bus stop and tram are right outside the door, which was very convenient for airport access. The walk from the train station took 10 minutes along Princes Street. We had access to the castle area and gardens just a block away. There is a convenience grocery across the street as well. Thank you all for a wonderful introduction to Scotland!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LynneinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

So lovely to hear from happy guests, thank you for taking the time to leave a great review. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while we went to the tattoo good hotel well situated for shops and castle too. Rooms clean and bed very comfortable with tea and coffee making in room. We were made welcome as we entered reception. We had breakfast at hotel service good and all fresh food just continental breakfast but plenty of choices.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thanks for leaving a great review, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Compared to the standards elsewhere in the UK, it seems expensive for what it is, but I guess that's just Edinburgh. The hotel was okay, the room itself was OK and the rest of the building is otherwise pretty unspectacular, it feels like staying in a rennovated boarding school, with a lot of long, plain corridors. Room really was nice though, very spacious, very clean, comfortable bed, excellent shower.

The most positive aspect is the location - right in the centre of everything, couldn't really be more central.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Confetti89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a nice review. We do quite often often have great promotional rates that offer great value for money when booked direct on our website. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place is fine. Perhaps a touch expensive for what it was but I was visiting during the festival when all hotels are expensive. In its favour, our room was clean, quiet and surprisingly large. The bed was also comfortable and the shower was fine. Also a good location. On the downside, the place is fairly basic and certainly isn't glamorous. In other words, I wouldn't go to this hotel if I was trying to sweep a girl off her feet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EdBowsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, appreciate the 4 star rating, also worth checking out our website for great rates for when the festival is not on. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Our family stay at this hotel was very nice. We've enjoyed the nearby location of the buses and the tramway as well as the short walking distances to Princess Street Gardens, the Castle and the city center. The only thing that was not exactly as expected was the bathroom.
The floor looked quite dirty (but wasn't, it's just its design) and there was not much possibilities to hang our (four) towels to let them dry. But this is no big deal.

All in one it was a great stay and we enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh and at the Cityroomz Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Worlddiver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Cityroomz Edinburgh. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in a great location, shame there was no parking on site but it was less than 10 min walk away. You just need to budget a little extra per day for your parking cost.

The rooms were clean, smart and tidy but needed a lick of paint here and there. Our bathroom extractor fan was broken (if there was one) and it was like a sauna everything you had a shower and need a quick exit for air. The toilet seat was wobbly and there were a few cracked tiles. But hey these are minor.

The excellent location meant we could walk everywhere we need to get too, also meant it was faster and cheaper than sitting on the bus.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mishmosh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks for leaving a positive review, happy to hear that you found our location convenient for all your needs in Edinburgh. Kind regards Javeed Anwar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Accommodating, Very Clean, Reasonable rate, great location for shopping on Princes St. Close to attractions. We stayed for one night. Staff was terrific. They called a taxi for us and driver came up to room to pick up our bags, even though we were near an elevator. Bathroom was good. Love the location! Close to trains. Not a lot of space to hang clothes but we were only there for one night. Would definitely stay here again. Good beds.

Room Tip: They told us that they will store your luggage while you visit elsewhere for a few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oldinnorthcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager1969, Manager at Cityroomz Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us at Cityroomz Edinburgh, thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review. Kind regards Javeed Anwar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#132 of 151 in Edinburgh
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityroomz Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityroomz Edinburgh

Address: 25-33 Shandwick Place, Edinburgh EH2 4RG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £36 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cityroomz Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityroomz Edinburgh is conveniently located just off Princes Street on Shandwick Place only a few minutes’ walk from Edinburgh Waverley and Edinburgh Haymarket stations and close to all the major attractions this great city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cityroomz Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Shandwick Place Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing