We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & lovely, friendly service.”
Review of Tapa

Tapa
Ranked #90 of 2,653 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: No matter where you are in Spain, a moments walk from the main tourist traps will almost always immerse you in the hustle and bustle of real Spanish life- busy bars and restaurants full of animated discussions conducted over fresh, homemade food. With this in mind, we selected our home of 19 Shore Place as the perfect venue to recreate this wonderful ambiance in Edinburgh.
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

On holiday in Edinburgh, booked through Open Table. A great deal, tasty food and friendly service. Recommend.

1  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TapaEdinburgh, Owner at Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

The kind of review that we like- short, precise and EXCELLENT!!!

If you are ever up in Edinburgh again we'd love to have you back!

The Tapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 609 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have lived around the corner from this Tapas restaurant for nearly 8 years, and only visited it for the first time this Friday. It was wonderful!

The restaurant is surprisingly large inside, and has a fantastic bustling atmosphere. Whilst you peruse the menu, you are treated to a complimentary plate of bread and oil. The wine we wanted to order was not available, however the waitress recommended an excellent alternative.

We ordered six plates of Tapas, including prawn pil-pil, iberico pork cheeks, patatas bravas and succulent lamb chops. The food came all at once, very soon after we ordered. This would usually be quite irritating, but the food was all absolutely delicious, and once we had finished, we weren’t in any way rushed by the staff. We were given plenty of time to let the food settle and enjoy the wine and atmosphere before they brought the dessert menu.

Even though we were stuffed, we couldn’t resist. We ordered the strawberry parfait and the almond tart, and they were both excellent, and topped off the meal nicely.

I can’t believe I only just discovered this restaurant. I can’t wait to go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_P121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TapaEdinburgh, Owner at Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for writing such a BRILLIANT review!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience so much and we very much hope to see you more often now that you have finally discovered us!

The Tapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was a Sunday night and a little off the beaten track, was not sure what we would find, although the menu looked good. Was busy and friendly and had a good vibe.
Excellent menu, service was good and friendly.
Squid, padron peppers, slow cooked pork cheeks, Iberico pork presa, chorizo sliders, all stunning. Watch out for the oxtail croquettas, on some nuclear strength garlic, wow, was clearly a paprika styled aioli, bit thicker, but very potent!
Churros were fine, and the Albarino we had was an excellent example.
Would not hesitate to go again. Great Spanish film art on the walls too!

1  Thank nywines91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TapaEdinburgh, Owner at Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review!

We couldn't have been happier to read your comments and very much hope that we can welcome you back to the restaurant in the near future!

The Tapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We booked on the evening we went and ordered a lovely bottle of red wine (pablo) to begin while we looked at the extensive and inviting menu. We entirely ignored the recommendation of 4 tapas between 2 and ordered 8 instead as too many things looked delicious. This did mean we struggled to fit it all on the table!

We of course couldn't finish it all but not for the want of trying. Our selection included home marinated olives. Pork chicken lamb and prawn tapas. Goats cheese salad, patatas bravas, artichokes with olives and sundried tomatoes (this was the outstanding dish of the evening I want to learn to make it divine!)
Every dish was well cooked tasty and generous portions. The service was friendly and efficient after a small wait on arrival for our drinks order (however the restaurant was busy and the staff were busy attending to other customers).

Our bill came to less than £60 which for the food we'd ordered was entirely reasonable you could pay £15-20 per head and be happily well fed.

I would definitely return and just wish there was a tapas restaurant nearer home of this quality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DannyJ1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TapaEdinburgh, Owner at Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

What an EXCELLENT review!

We couldn't have been happier to read your positive comments! Particularly about the Alcachofas- the Artichokes- as they have been a real slow burner of a dish, but they are quickly becoming one the best selling tapa's on the menu! If you'd like to learn how to make them, drop me a email on the details below- I'd be delighted to pass you the recipe!

Obviously (from your comments) you are not from Edinburgh, however, if you are ever up here again, we would love to see you return!

The Tapa Team
tapa@tapaedinburgh.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having been badly let down by another nearby restaurant we decided to try Tapa having been given great reviews by friends who had been. It was early enough on a Saturday evening that they were able to offer us a table for 2. If we had left it till later we would have been out of luck and after sampling the food I can understand why.

Spanish is not a regular cuisine so the menu was a bit of a challenge (despite the English translation) Not to worry despite "No hablo espanol" enter the fantastic Adriana. who explained not only what we should have but in what order plus her help in ordering wine was spot on.

Tapas certainly rescued the evening and we will be back (thanks also to a discount voucher given to us by our server Ariana) to sample other delights on the menu that we did not manage to try this time round.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MIke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TapaEdinburgh, Owner at Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

No, thank you for writing such a GREAT review!!!

We're delighted that we were able to give you a table, that you enjoyed your experience with us so much and that you took the care to mention Adriana personally! She couldn't have been happier to read your comments!!!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Tapa in the near future!!!

The Tapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapa also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Tapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing