We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spanish food in the city”
Review of Tapa

Tapa
Ranked #141 of 2,452 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$50
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: No matter where you are in Spain, a moments walk from the main tourist traps will almost always immerse you in the hustle and bustle of real Spanish life- busy bars and restaurants full of animated discussions conducted over fresh, homemade food. With this in mind, we selected our home of 19 Shore Place as the perfect venue to recreate this wonderful ambiance in Edinburgh.
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Tapa is a delicious Spanish restaurant in the Leith area of Edinburgh, with an excellent menu, beautiful decor, and friendly servers as well. We ordered a total of four tapas and some patatas between us, washed down with a Spanish beer and some wine. The food was served promptly, which was excellent, as I was quite hungry. The waiters were always available to help out when we needed a refill of anything as well, so this made a very positive impression on me. Most importantly, all of the food was delicious. I love the Spanish omelette, and the beef dish as well. Really, you won't be disappointed by the choices on offer at Tapa. I understand it can be quite busy at weekends, due to the quality of the food, so make sure to book in advance! Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bonzostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 476 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Booked an early dinner on Saturday 10th. As soon as you arrive the staff open the door for you and greet you with a warm smile.

The decor is lovely, little lights on the pillars, warm and inviting.

Order taken, wine arrived (18.95 for house red but it was really very good) and starters arrived promptly. Ordered bread with 3 dips - really delicious fresh bread and loved the beetroot, pesto and olive oil trio of dips.

We had a sharing platter of meat and cheese, omelette, potatoes with salsa, chicken and chorizo dish, beef and polenta.... we ordered too much food as the portions are really very good.

Loved our food and how it was presented. Ordered coffee and a lemon cheesecake to share to finish off!

Staff very busy but certainly made time for you and we didn't feel rushed at all.

Downloaded the loyalty app and you scan when you pay and after 6 visits you get a bottle of wine and 4 dishes free. So only 5 more visits to go...

Overall a great night and really really good food.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TapaEdinburgh, Owner at Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hey Jan B,

I just wanted to take a moment to thank you for such an awesome review- in which you (brilliantly!) even thought on to mention our app- we were delighted to read you positive comments and are looking forward to scanning your loyalty card on your next visit to Tapa very soon!

The Tapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This morning we thought that we should go out tonight for a bite to eat, a sort of date night. We fancied tapas and googled 'Edinburgh tapas'. It came up with Tapa in Leith. We booked online and this evening took 2 short bus journeys to get there. The second that we walked through the door it felt good. We were too early for our table so sat at the bar and ordered a bottle of Spanish Shiraz (loved it). We had read on the website that for 2 people 4-5 dishes should be sufficient. We ordered dishes of beef, pork, octopus, pedron and patatas with aioli. These were preceded by bread and olives with 3 lovely dips. It is acceptable to order fewer dishes, then order more. We should have done this as the quantity was so good that parts went cool before we had a chance to enjoy them. A super super place, well worth a repeat visit.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TapaEdinburgh, Owner at Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Hey Daniel B,

A massive thank you from the whole Team for taking the time to write such an excellent review, we were all over the moon to read your positive comments!

We know it's two bus journeys to get here, but, we hope that doesn't put you off in the future- as we're very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Tapa!

The Tapa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This restaurant had great reviews, so much so we went out of our way to visit it, but was very disappointing, did not live up to the reviews at all, the food was average, the staff were not as friendly as anticipated, very average service, sorry we made such an effort to go there, not sure why this has such high reviews, wont be going there again in a hurry

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Jools1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TapaEdinburgh, Owner at Tapa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

As a small, independent restaurant we live and die on the strength of our Tripadvisor reviews, so, it's more than fair to say that we were extremely disappointed to hear of your recent experience.

My Team work's tirelessly to provide really great service and interesting dishes using exciting, artisan Spanish produce, and, whilst I don't recognise the restaurant described in your review, it would be remiss of me not to take this opportunity to learn and grow from the feedback of your experience. As such I'd be grateful if you could drop me a line with much more details of your experience so that I may use it constructively.

Yours Sincerely,

Daniel Shearon
tapa@tapaedinburgh.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were given a voucher for Tapa and lunched here early September. It's set back a bit from the other pubs and restaurants in Leith and has a lovely atmosphere. The building looks like an old bonded warehouse (not sure tho) but it does give the restaurant a really nice feel. While we found the menu ever so slightly difficult to follow, there was an excellent selection. The lunch menu was what we were after with a pre selected list of dishes. We added another couple of dishes and ended up with a bit too much to be honest - even with our 17 yo son in tow. Ribs highly recommend. Taster tapas for starter was excellent and the selection they brought us was all very tasty. We paid a bit more than we normally would expect for lunch, but it was worth it. Looking forward to another visit soon.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank lenster57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Tapa also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Tapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.