We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Challenging but Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 21212 Restaurant

21212 Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$87
Cuisines: British, Scottish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Only Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms in Edinburgh
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Challenging but Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The restaurant occupies a grand townhouse location on the Royal Terrace, with a sultry interior to match that marries well with the personal, un-stuffy nature of both the service and the food. The kitchen looks out onto the opulent dining room through a glass screen, offering a chance to see the brigade of Chefs working their magic for you.

Visiting midweek, the restaurant was quieter than we had expected, which offered us a taste of what the 'private dining' experience might be like, without ever making us feel uncomfortable or rushed. The staff team were not only friendly and knowledgable (which you would expect at this level of dining) but seemed to have a genuine excitement and confidence in their restaurant, which is well deserved. The Maitre d was smiley and attentive throughout our meal, and we were guided perfectly from course to course by our Sommelier and Waitress. A written message from Chef was a delightful personal touch that made our evening all the more special.

The evening menu runs to 5 courses, with a choice offered for courses 1,3 and 5 (punctuated by a soup course and cheese), along with a delightful fresh amuse bouche, and a quirky pre-dessert of oat infused milk served from a cow jug. Menus change weekly, so it would be a folly to describe each course in detail, but every plate that arrived was thoroughly clean by the time it was cleared.

If you are a fan of more minimalist eating then this restaurant may not be the place for you, with each dish comprised of several main components and often adorned with foamed sauces, reductions and crisp shards. There is no deconstructed dishes here, simply great ingredients, combined with skill by a chef that clearly appreciates both fine french cuisine and also the wealth of ingredients available locally. Thankfully for a trip in April, our meal sang with fresh spring flavours, from the light layered amuse bouche through to dessert, all accompanied by wines from the modest and affordable wine list. If I were to offer one recommendation it would be to enjoy a glass of the Hungarian Tokaji dessert wine, you will not be disappointed!

Many thanks to all the staff at 21212 for a thoroughly delicious evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to tell others about 21212 and I'm just glad you enjoyed it so much yourselves.

I agree with the Tokaji choice too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    117
    92
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had lunch on the 16th April. From when we first entered the restaurant we were treated very special, as was everyone else, The Staff are 100% professional, and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

The decor is very sophisticated ,a lot of thought has been put into the design of the building.
.
The food was, as usual, fantastic, lots of lovely flavours coming together and very well presented, each course being described in detail upon service,

All in all an excellent dining experience, but then we would not expect anything less from this restaurant.

Well done 21212.

We will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugnes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks so much for saying such nice things, it always means a lot to us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We went for a 5 resp 4 course dinner. Every course was wonderful, like a journey through different tastes. The service was extremely friendly and not stiff, the whole atmosphere was like coming home! The kitchen is visible through a window from the guestroom. The style of furniture and even cutlery is very individual. This was one of our best food and hospitality experiences ever!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brucewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
And thank to you, for your 'wonderful' review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Took my partner here for lunch for his 30th birthday. Lovely restaurant with great staff (especially the sommelier) and couldn't fault anything with the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and Stuart is very please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“what can I say?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

what can you say that hasn't already been said?
super restaurant super food super staff!!
the food is actually quite simple and flavoursome.
the menu sounds complicated but the dishes have clean flavours that are well prepared and everything fits
the amuse bouche is to die for and is unlike anything I've tasted before
simple flavours that go together
fantastic starter : johnson's cauliflower cheese- the description doesn't do the dish justification
a complicated risotto type dish with multiple ingredients but each one coming thru strong
next a layered soup where each spoonfull elicits a different taste sensation but where the whole is greater than the parts
main course of beef olives - once again the description belied the dish itself- multi ingredients but each with a clear place
and all prepared to the top degree
superbly selected cheeses next in premium condition
deserts were wonderful : the lemon tart apparently has been on the menu for many years and deservedly so
coffee and chocolate truffles were simple but effective
the main message is:
if you onlly visit 1 restaurant in Edinburgh - then this should be the one!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whoopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Lovely, what a special review. Thanks so much and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 21212 Restaurant also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to 21212 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing