We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and confusing in equal measure”
Review of 21212 Restaurant

21212 Restaurant
Ranked #169 of 2,591 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$90
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Only Michelin Starred Restaurant with Rooms in Edinburgh
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Visited 21212 for my boyfriend's birthday last Saturday night. Received a friendly welcome and were shown to the beautiful Drawing Room on the 1st floor for a pre dinner drink. The setting was lovely (helped by the lovely weather outside of course!). The cocktails were very good, and the service welcoming and informal.

The dining room was equally beautiful. I loved the decor - it all felt very plush and considered. I loved the idea of being to sit next to your friend/ partner for the meal rather than across a table. It was a different but very nice experience - romantic as well so especially good for special occasions.

The food was spectacular, if a little confusing at times for my palette which was probably not quite good enough to pick out all the wonderful flavours, but enjoyed it nonetheless. The choices were great, and the fixed soup and cheese courses very good too. The cheese was incredible!

We went for the matched wines - we decided that a perfectly thought about dish deserved equal thought and consideration by an expert - it was worth it! Every glass was beautiful and the sommelier very detailed and knowledgeable.

The service was very friendly and fun - not stuffy/ too formal/ pretentious.

Thank you to all the lovely staff that made the evning so wonderful!

PS. Not forgetting Bridget who handled the booking by email...thank you very much for your help!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank KerryMc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

I think sitting back and enjoying it is the best way and not to think too much about it. That's what I do!

Thanks for taking the time to tell others about 21212, appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 469 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

First of all it is a little restaurant with around 10 tables for 2 or 4. As well they have a Hotel upstair with 4 room only, so it is very romantic stay.
Paul is the chef of the restaurant, you can feel his creative touch in every meal that is really a gastronomic experience with 5 courses of delicious food. Staff is well trained to answer any your question. There is an open kitchen, so you can see how they prepare the courses, not a hot kitchen but the final preparation. There is only one table just next to the glass separation of this kitchen with a good view if you are curious to spy a bit on a chef and his team of 7-9 guys.
Everything was great for us and deserved 1 Michelin star but not more. If you are spoiled a bit with a good stuff you would notice little details that would not give a 2nd Michelin star. However I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a couple to have a dinner or lunch. Especially was a good surprise the bill, that was 200 GBP for 2 for a 5 course meal and 4 glasses of wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ELizaveta_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, we certainly appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The food was excellent and the service first class. As you`d expect from a Michelin star place the food was creative and wonderfully cooked. The service was friendly and professional without being too formal and stifling the atmosphere etc.
The restaurant is in a lovely townhouse building on Royal Terrace in Edin. It`s easy to get to, the location is lovely and the interior is well decorated and stylish.
The staff are friendly and welcoming and very attentive. We were there in a Fri evening for dinner. The atmosphere was good - not stuffy and very laid back and happy.
The food was delicious. Very creative and wonderfully prepared.
My only criticism.....and I`ll make the point that I`m being very pedantic here.....was that some of the dishes had A LOT going on in them. Many ingredients, which albeit were all wonderful, but at times it almost took away from the dish as there was so little but so many of these flavours and ingredients. In some cases a more simple version may have been just as good or better. However, that`s not to say that ALL of the dishes weren`t lovely and tasty, just my personal opinion.
The wines were all amazing, and the "wine guy" knows his stuff and is very helpful.
Definitely worth a visit on a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Many thanks for your kind words and Stuart will be pleased especially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The restaurant occupies a grand townhouse location on the Royal Terrace, with a sultry interior to match that marries well with the personal, un-stuffy nature of both the service and the food. The kitchen looks out onto the opulent dining room through a glass screen, offering a chance to see the brigade of Chefs working their magic for you.

Visiting midweek, the restaurant was quieter than we had expected, which offered us a taste of what the 'private dining' experience might be like, without ever making us feel uncomfortable or rushed. The staff team were not only friendly and knowledgable (which you would expect at this level of dining) but seemed to have a genuine excitement and confidence in their restaurant, which is well deserved. The Maitre d was smiley and attentive throughout our meal, and we were guided perfectly from course to course by our Sommelier and Waitress. A written message from Chef was a delightful personal touch that made our evening all the more special.

The evening menu runs to 5 courses, with a choice offered for courses 1,3 and 5 (punctuated by a soup course and cheese), along with a delightful fresh amuse bouche, and a quirky pre-dessert of oat infused milk served from a cow jug. Menus change weekly, so it would be a folly to describe each course in detail, but every plate that arrived was thoroughly clean by the time it was cleared.

If you are a fan of more minimalist eating then this restaurant may not be the place for you, with each dish comprised of several main components and often adorned with foamed sauces, reductions and crisp shards. There is no deconstructed dishes here, simply great ingredients, combined with skill by a chef that clearly appreciates both fine french cuisine and also the wealth of ingredients available locally. Thankfully for a trip in April, our meal sang with fresh spring flavours, from the light layered amuse bouche through to dessert, all accompanied by wines from the modest and affordable wine list. If I were to offer one recommendation it would be to enjoy a glass of the Hungarian Tokaji dessert wine, you will not be disappointed!

Many thanks to all the staff at 21212 for a thoroughly delicious evening!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to tell others about 21212 and I'm just glad you enjoyed it so much yourselves.

I agree with the Tokaji choice too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had lunch on the 16th April. From when we first entered the restaurant we were treated very special, as was everyone else, The Staff are 100% professional, and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them.

The decor is very sophisticated ,a lot of thought has been put into the design of the building.
.
The food was, as usual, fantastic, lots of lovely flavours coming together and very well presented, each course being described in detail upon service,

All in all an excellent dining experience, but then we would not expect anything less from this restaurant.

Well done 21212.

We will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sugnes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
21212P, Manager at 21212 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks so much for saying such nice things, it always means a lot to us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 21212 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to 21212 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing