We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Broughton Delicatessen and Cafe
Ranked #548 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, International, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: Broughton Delicatessen has been feeding lunch to the food lovers of the New Town and Broughton area for four years and has now stretched its opening hours until 9pm Mon – Sat. Why not pop in for a delicious affordable meal to sit-in or take-away. Whatever you decide to do, dinner is likely to be under a tenner with the added bonus that you can buy a bottle of vino from the local wine shop and enjoy it at home or at the deli.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Came here for breakfast with the other half and have to say have never had scrambled eggs that taste so good before in my life. They were delicious and creamy it was amazing and the rest of the breakfast was pretty damn good too. I even ate their own take on baked beans and liked it and I HATE baked beans with a passion.

Only downside was that service was a bit slow and it wasn't particularly busy so not sure why it took so long unless other tables were being awkward? Or maybe the staff were just getting into the flow of things on a lazy sunday morning. Otherwise I can't fault the place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AimeeDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    62
    17
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Good food, good value but awful service. They forgot things from the order, took ages to bring a coffee (fried breakfasts arrived before coffee, and then granola took another 5-10 mins). A couple next to us waited so long for coffee they left. It was full but considering you really need to book for Sunday brunch, you'd think they would be prepared. It seems to be staffed by hungover teenagers. Shame, with better, friendly, smiley and attentive staff this place would be amazing.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SamShone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best thing about my flat is this place....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I like my flat but Broughton Deli at 10m makes it for me.

a) Delicious
b) Simple, good food
c) enough of it to keep it interesting
d) nice deli counter to take things home from
e) long opening hours

They're really nice too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Nice service, great Caffe and dealicious food. Also place is arranged so cosy that I feel like a home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Agatita1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hearty fry up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stopped here for breakfast after reading about it on many food blogs. Lived up to expectation! We both had the fry up which was delish, great to have the venison sausage! Perfect scrambled eggs and a very unique take on baked beans! Good value for money and a sweet homely feel to this small café!! Set us up perfectly for the day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broughton Delicatessen and Cafe also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Broughton Delicatessen and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing