We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian meets tapas -great lunch spot”

Mother India's Cafe
Ranked #66 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Indian meets tapas -great lunch spot”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Yes it's true, taps but Indian style. And such a wide range of foods on offer, friendly service, fast delivery. Perfect for lunch between festival events.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank UK-family-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    478
    100
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Indian Tapas”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our first time to try 'Indian Tapas', what amazing food. During the Fringe Festival you cannot reserve a table but its well worth the wait, We arrived about 6pm and waited about 10 minutes to get seated, the staff were all very friendly and very helpful.
We ordered some Dahl, Dosa, Chicken Curry & Nan to start with, the quality of the food was 2nd to none, easily one of the nest Indian Meals I have ever tasted.
Even though it got very busy, the staff were still pleasant and the food superb, if you are in Edinburgh be sure to visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marym062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Indian Tapas - Excellent”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I'd heard of Mother India's tapas style meals and took this opportunity to try it. I wasn't disappointed. We had poppadoms and 8 dishes between us. It was great to get some proper Scottish style Pakora, I'm not sure why Indian restaurants in England don't do it like this. The Lamb Saag was beautiful as was the chicken on the bone. Service was a little uneven. The staff were young and sweet and trying hard, so it's easy to overlook the odd forgotten side in a busy service. I will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Mother India was excellent food with good service and it was reasonably priced, it is the first time I have been in a Indian Restaurant like this, it is a great concept being "tapas".

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We'd passed the door of the Mother India restaurant on several occasions in the past, marvelling at the wonderful aromas coming from the kitchen onto the alleyway beside the restaurant, but it was always full. There restaurant has a street-level; room, plus a basement restaurant room. Both have separate bars.

We managed to get a table upstairs one Monday afternoon. The food and atmosphere was so good that we returned the following evening (downstairs)! On both occasions, our visit was memorable for all of the right reasons.

The table service was immediate, informative, professional and friendly. The wide menu - plenty of choices for vegetarians - comes in what the restaurant describes as "tapas style" bowls for sharing. It proved to her a rational choice - four different bowls plus one of rice proved ample for the two of us at lunch, and five the following evening (with a naan, confusingly called "pitta" on the menu) filled us completely at supper the following day.

We sampled two different chicken curries, a lamb curry, one fish tikka dish and several vegetarian options (dhal, aloo gobi, etc.). The quality of all ingredients was excellent; one of the chefs actually brought us the lunch dishes, which we considered a good sign. The dishes were well spiced - a tingling sensation from chilli and ginger, rather than the burn of excessive heat - delicious and very good value for money.

Edinburgh has many curry houses, but we'll be retiring as often as possible to this one. Great work, Mother India!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AbuuJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mother India's Cafe also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Mother India's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing