We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, quiet Edinburgh guest house.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunedin Guest House
Ranked #140 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Brecon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, quiet Edinburgh guest house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in July 2012 along with my wife and other family members attending a wedding. We were all made very welcome and provided with everything we needed including a first class breakfast.
The owners were very accommodating to the whims of the bridal party.
The property is in a quiet side street so no disturbances to a good night's sleep, yet there are decent places to eat within walking distance and buses into the city centre.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasD870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    21
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
41
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Very clean, comfortable and friendly guesthouse. Breakfast amazing. David was very helpful and kept us right with regard to directions, bus stops and restaurants. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent 2 nights here and the room was great. One of the larger B&B rooms we had on our vacation. Breakfast was wonderful and plenty of food. We followed Mr. Wright's restaurant recommendations and both were great. Would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superstar5622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and the room was great - very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful - made to order each morning. The location was perfect for us - 2 blocks from a convenient bus stop to see the sights and free parking in a very nice quiet neighborhood. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _____
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry northern ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Just after a five day stay at Dunedin.this was our second stay.David out host was very attentive. Our room was excellent,clean and bright.quiet too.Breakfasts delicious,good service. location was good with bus stop near hand.I would have no hesitation in recommending Dunedin.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in June 2012. Mr. Wright was very welcoming, and helpful with suggestions for restaurants. (We ate at two very good ones that he suggested nearby.) The room was extremely clean, nicely appointed and plenty big enough for 2 people. The bathroom was also big enough with plenty of hot water for two for showers. There were provisions for making tea in the room, as well as shortbread cookies. Parking was on-street. The neighborhood is quiet. We were walking distance from buses and cabs, although we mainly walked, and the ground in this area is pretty flat. The dining room is lovely. Breakfast was hearty, some buffet choices but many hot choices from a menu. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

While the Dunedin Guest House is beautifully appointed in a quiet neighborhood, the best part were the hosts. The owners were incredibly hospitable and helpful. They went above and beyond which really made the difference. I can't say enough good things about them. I stayed for five nights in July 2012 and was very impressed. I have to thank them so much.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilliesea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#22 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmarAgua Guest House
AmarAgua Guest House
#51 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#71 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#59 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Appin House
Appin House
#75 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Guest House

Property: Dunedin Guest House
Address: 8 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunedin Guest House is a semi-detached Victorian Villa located on a large sunny corner with gardens and a lovely view of Arthur's Seat and Salisbury Crags. Built as a family home in 1882, the three-story house was divided into two homes in the 1950s and returned to a single dwelling around late 1980s. Sympathetically converted into the present accommodations, the house is a listed building and therefore retains such original features as a magnificently lit cupola that dominates the central staircase and gives the house an airy spaciousness. Other original features are the mosaic-tiled entrance and vestibule, ornate cornices and a spectacular plasterwork thistle ceiling in the breakfast room. Original woodwork prevails throughout the guestrooms, as well, with massive Canadian pine doors, paneling and dados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunedin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing