We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Respect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunedin Guest House
Ranked #166 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Respect”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This inn does everything right -- spacious, airy room with large bathroom, beautiful public spaces, gracious host, delicious breakfast. Very convenient to city center via public bus; can also walk it in about half an hour. Many good restaurants within walking distance. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The family room, no. 6, on the second floor works great for three people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
42
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in the top floor family room that was well-appointed and had views of Arthur's seat. Breakfast was delicious, freshly-cooked and generous. On the day when we had to leave early, a bagged breakfast was provided. The guest house is in a leafy part of the city with frequent busses making the 10-15 min journey into the heart of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dughall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Dunedin Guest House three night following a 10-day RS tour of Scotland and we were taken care of very well. Our room (see photo) was comfortable, There were facial tissues in the room as well as wash cloths. The en suite shower was small, and there was no bathtub. The breakfast was excellent. Access to the # 33 or 35 buses for transportation down to Princess Street and the Royal Mile was just a short walk down a slight hill and across a street. So that made commuting back into the main heart of Edinburgh very easy. Also it is about a 20 minute walk up Dalkeith Road, and then a right turn at the Royal Commonwealth Pool, and then down hill to a turn about to get to one of the many trail heads up to Arthur's Seat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-SVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Beautiful guest house. Tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. It seemed that even the small things had been thought of such as a bookcase on our landing with books and games for the kids to use. David was the perfect host... Knowledgable and attentive without being overbearing (he suggested we visit The Kelpies whilst in Falkirk, that were just amazing!). Our family room was very comfortable with plenty of room and fabulous views of Arthur's Seat and Salisbury Cragg.
Parking is on the adjacent residential streets but we never had a problem finding a space close by.
Breakfast was cooked perfectly and lasted us all day!
We took a bus ride to town but it was equally cheap to get a taxi back. It is perfectly placed 10 minutes or so from Princes Street.
Beautiful place to stay, and we hope to return next year :) xxxx

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank oscabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Dunedin guesthouse was recommended to me by my dad who stays with David and Irene every year for the Rugby. For this reason, I had high expectations! Well, having now returned from Edinburgh after a glorious week away, I can confirm that the Dunedin guesthouse is as lovely as expected! The room was immaculate, and breakfast was exactly the right amount of delicious to begin the day! David is also extremely helpful, and has lots of great ideas about things to do in Edinburgh and how to get there if you are stuck for inspiration. Don't stay at The Radisson, Hilton or the dreaded Travel Lodge- come and experience some real Scottish hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The room was especially nice, with a beautiful view. Good beds! Breakfasts were wonderful, with a wide range of tasty choice as well as quite healthy and environmentally conscience. The location is exceptionally quiet and very easy to get to. Bus service is fast and frequent. And the best part were our hosts. David and Irene were not only very welcoming and friendly, but fountains of solid advice and Scottish goodwill. We're already planning our return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed quiet and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This a short bus ride from the Royal Mile. It commands an excellent view of Arthur's Seat and is a short walk to the Scottish Parliament. The rooms are very nice. The service is excellent. They can direct you to all of the nearby attractions and give you tips to make your stay worthwhile. David will go out of his way to insure you have a wonderful visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front side, and there was an excellent view of Arthur's Seat. One tip is u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelonepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#15 of 392 in Edinburgh
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmarAgua Guest House
AmarAgua Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gil Dun Guest House
Gil Dun Guest House
#14 of 392 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#67 of 392 in Edinburgh
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airdenair Guest House
Airdenair Guest House
#199 of 392 in Edinburgh
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Guest House

Property: Dunedin Guest House
Address: 8 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunedin Guest House is a semi-detached Victorian Villa located on a large sunny corner with gardens and a lovely view of Arthur's Seat and Salisbury Crags. Built as a family home in 1882, the three-story house was divided into two homes in the 1950s and returned to a single dwelling around late 1980s. Sympathetically converted into the present accommodations, the house is a listed building and therefore retains such original features as a magnificently lit cupola that dominates the central staircase and gives the house an airy spaciousness. Other original features are the mosaic-tiled entrance and vestibule, ornate cornices and a spectacular plasterwork thistle ceiling in the breakfast room. Original woodwork prevails throughout the guestrooms, as well, with massive Canadian pine doors, paneling and dados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dunedin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing