We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautifully decorated and very well run guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunedin Guest House
Ranked #157 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautifully decorated and very well run guest house”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This guesthouse was one of the nicest we have stayed in. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean house located very close to bus services into the city. Breakfast was very extensive and very well cooked to all tastes. The host was welcoming and informative. We would definitely go back when visiting Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
41
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Our twin-bedded room was clean and bright but the thin, poor quality, duvets were a disappointment; same comment for the pillows. No extra pillows or additional sheets/blankets/throws were available in the room. No bedside tables just small corner shelves for personal night time items. Only full cream milk available on the hospitality tray and no decaff. choice of tea or coffee. No room to lay out wash things in the shower room. Nevertheless, a warm welcome and a good breakfast in a lovely breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcsunbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay. Beautiful home, comfy room, good food. Close to city centre. David was an incredibly helpful host.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countessofcrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the Dunedin Guest House on our recent trip to the UK. Room was spotless, nice amenities in the bathroom, very comfortable beds. Gracious host, David, who provided lots of helpful advice. Excellent Scotish breakfast. Having wifi access was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I would very well recommend this guest house on the basis of its many excellent qualities, listed below:
- Very very clean and well-looked after, which is really one of the very first things you notice. The pictures shown on their website are completely representative, if not making it seem a bit worst than it is
- Extremely polite and helpful owner. He really made a tremendous difference in our stay, being helpful with questions, preparing breakfast and being very discrete
- Spacious bedrooms
- Beautiful B&B with well looked at front garden
- Extremely well connected with buses to the city center

And I am certain there are other features that I am forgetting, but the beauty of the B&B, the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the bedrooms and of the whole guest house really stand out. And at very reasonable prices.

Totally recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekainada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Owners were friendly and offered suggestions for local places to eat dinner. Easy access to downtown via local buses. Nice neighborhood. Full Scottish breakfast served - very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammy755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

I have just returned from a weekend stay in the Dunedin with 3 friends.
We had the roomy attic room which had 4 single beds in and an en-suite shower room. Both rooms were bright, very clean and tidy and the shower gels, shower caps etc were a nice touch.
The room was up two flights of stairs, the second being quite tight and windey (which were 'fun' after a few drinks!) but David did offer to carry our bags up when we arrived - to which we refused but were sorry we did when we saw them!!
The guest house is decorated beautifully and had lovely features. David was very helpful in explaining where the bus stops, restaurants and touristy things where even though there were plenty of leaflets available. He even supplied us with an ice bucket for our pre night out drinks, Theres plenty of on street parking and we felt happy leaving our cars there the whole time.
The breakfast was fab with a good choice of fruit, cereal, cheeses, oatcakes and juices even before you order your cooked breakfast. This really set us up for the day sight seeing and walking up and down those steps and hills.
We were given three sets of keys which were handy as we didnt return at any 'reasonable' time!
The guest house is only about a mile away from Princes Street and cost £1.20 per person on the bus or between £4 - £6 in a taxi, depending on where your going. This made the night times quiet and comfortable.
We would definately stay here again and have recommended it to everyone who has asked.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#18 of 392 in Edinburgh
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmarAgua Guest House
AmarAgua Guest House
#49 of 392 in Edinburgh
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airdenair Guest House
Airdenair Guest House
#211 of 392 in Edinburgh
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#73 of 392 in Edinburgh
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#61 of 392 in Edinburgh
239 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#8 of 392 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Guest House

Property: Dunedin Guest House
Address: 8 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunedin Guest House is a semi-detached Victorian Villa located on a large sunny corner with gardens and a lovely view of Arthur's Seat and Salisbury Crags. Built as a family home in 1882, the three-story house was divided into two homes in the 1950s and returned to a single dwelling around late 1980s. Sympathetically converted into the present accommodations, the house is a listed building and therefore retains such original features as a magnificently lit cupola that dominates the central staircase and gives the house an airy spaciousness. Other original features are the mosaic-tiled entrance and vestibule, ornate cornices and a spectacular plasterwork thistle ceiling in the breakfast room. Original woodwork prevails throughout the guestrooms, as well, with massive Canadian pine doors, paneling and dados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunedin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing