We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B - highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunedin Guest House
Ranked #157 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B - highly recommended!”
Reviewed 2 September 2010

This was a great B&B, located slightly away from the city, but well connected by frequent buses, so traveling to town was a non-issue, which was in any case only 10-15 minutes away by bus. We loved the room, which was one of the most spacious we have seen in Scotland - we had a king bed plus 1 single with lots of space to put our luggage. Beds were comfortable and facilities were adequate with coffee making facilities, wi-fi, bathroom amenities. The place is very clean, heaters were well placed in both the bathroom as well as the bedroom, which made it nice and warm, which was particularly great as we were traveling with a young toddler. Breakfast was a hearty affair, with a good selection of both cold and hot items, and we always left the beautiful breakfast room with a very satisfied tummy! The owner, David, is a wonderful host - friendly and very helpful. We stayed in a total of 6 B&Bs while on our trip to Scotland, starting and ending with Dunedin. And we knew we found a gem in Dunedin when on our return leg to Edinburgh, the whole family, including our 3 year old, was looking forward to staying there on our last nights of our holiday! Thank you to David for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotnose_snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    21
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
41
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This guesthouse was one of the nicest we have stayed in. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean house located very close to bus services into the city. Breakfast was very extensive and very well cooked to all tastes. The host was welcoming and informative. We would definitely go back when visiting Edinburgh in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Our twin-bedded room was clean and bright but the thin, poor quality, duvets were a disappointment; same comment for the pillows. No extra pillows or additional sheets/blankets/throws were available in the room. No bedside tables just small corner shelves for personal night time items. Only full cream milk available on the hospitality tray and no decaff. choice of tea or coffee. No room to lay out wash things in the shower room. Nevertheless, a warm welcome and a good breakfast in a lovely breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcsunbounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay. Beautiful home, comfy room, good food. Close to city centre. David was an incredibly helpful host.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countessofcrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the Dunedin Guest House on our recent trip to the UK. Room was spotless, nice amenities in the bathroom, very comfortable beds. Gracious host, David, who provided lots of helpful advice. Excellent Scotish breakfast. Having wifi access was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I would very well recommend this guest house on the basis of its many excellent qualities, listed below:
- Very very clean and well-looked after, which is really one of the very first things you notice. The pictures shown on their website are completely representative, if not making it seem a bit worst than it is
- Extremely polite and helpful owner. He really made a tremendous difference in our stay, being helpful with questions, preparing breakfast and being very discrete
- Spacious bedrooms
- Beautiful B&B with well looked at front garden
- Extremely well connected with buses to the city center

And I am certain there are other features that I am forgetting, but the beauty of the B&B, the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the bedrooms and of the whole guest house really stand out. And at very reasonable prices.

Totally recommend!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekainada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnolia, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Owners were friendly and offered suggestions for local places to eat dinner. Easy access to downtown via local buses. Nice neighborhood. Full Scottish breakfast served - very tasty.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammy755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Ard-na-said
Ard-na-said
#17 of 391 in Edinburgh
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
AmarAgua Guest House
AmarAgua Guest House
#55 of 391 in Edinburgh
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airdenair Guest House
Airdenair Guest House
#211 of 391 in Edinburgh
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gifford House
Gifford House
#75 of 391 in Edinburgh
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#63 of 391 in Edinburgh
239 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fraoch House
Fraoch House
#9 of 391 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Guest House

Property: Dunedin Guest House
Address: 8 Priestfield Road, Edinburgh EH16 5HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunedin Guest House is a semi-detached Victorian Villa located on a large sunny corner with gardens and a lovely view of Arthur's Seat and Salisbury Crags. Built as a family home in 1882, the three-story house was divided into two homes in the 1950s and returned to a single dwelling around late 1980s. Sympathetically converted into the present accommodations, the house is a listed building and therefore retains such original features as a magnificently lit cupola that dominates the central staircase and gives the house an airy spaciousness. Other original features are the mosaic-tiled entrance and vestibule, ornate cornices and a spectacular plasterwork thistle ceiling in the breakfast room. Original woodwork prevails throughout the guestrooms, as well, with massive Canadian pine doors, paneling and dados. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dunedin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunedin Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing