We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bar for a catch up”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Street

The Street
Ranked #861 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good bar for a catch up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Really like The Street. A good mix of customers and the staff are friendly and like a natter.

The layout has always been odd, but the current owners have managed to make it work, particularly turning downstairs into a 3am bar on Fridays and Saturdays.

Give it a try. They do nice food too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    23
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

The street is one of the best bars in Edinburgh. It has a great atmosphere and very friendly staff, the food is great too! Its a very mixed bar with gay and straight people. Not like the hellish place cc blooms across the road The street isn't on its high horse . Just a great bar. Would highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank V-t134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good atmosphere horrible service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

There is a bar tender she is so grumpy and rude. Is the girl with brown hair and curly girl, every time that you ask her for a drink she seem that she is hating you in that very moment, she is busy answering her text more than into serving customers.

The other day I order a BBQ sandwich and it came with someone's hair I complaint about it and they took a piece of my sandwich, but they didn't replace it, but I got charged full price... Really?

It's a good venue to go and have fun but it always depends of who is on that shift

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kbs424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
137 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Not up our Street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Took advantage of a deal for a sharing platter with cocktails for 2 - not really our type of place. Mostly a high stool sitting place and just a bit...... well put it this way if you are over 45 give this place a body swerve. One thing I will say is that the person who served us was very helpful and very friendly. We had the meat platter which should have included olives - no there wasn't any olives, but the portion of potato fries was enough for four people. It was disappointing, but I can imagine it would be a popular meeting place in the warmer weather (ha ha ha) as there is a lovely outside eating area. The music would have been enjoyable if we hadn't been seated right under a very loud speaker. I notice that they have another offer on, but the picture of the food on offer has no resemblance to what we had today. Will we be back - no I don't think so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Winnie46Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Rather Small but cosy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Friendly and very fast bar staff, Drinks offer which are pretty cool too!
Sat in as friends ont his review, the large windpws were a great bonus and a pretty cool feature, the venue was warm and inviting and we would certianly reccomend it!

We will admit we got lost trying to find the toilets to this place and there seemed to be a downstairs seating area? But it didn't look open so we stayed upstairs. Very clean venue too! highly reccomended for anyone visiting the Edinburgh area!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DexxTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Street also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing