We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too HOT!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Don't stay here unless you like sleeping in an oven. Perhaps in winter it will be better, but in summer it is way too hot for most people. (I was told I was in the cooler side).
Perhaps some find it OK, but I certainly heard others complaining about it (and you can read it on Tripadvisor) and the staff are aware of it as are Travelodge HQ, but they don’t seem to wish to address it.

The windows have locks preventing you opening more than 2cm which is a really pity as outside it was nice and cool. The hotel also “dress” the room when you arrive by turning on the light box in the bed head which after it has been on for a while acts like a nice radiator which is just what you don’t need.

I stayed there at the start of June and the hotel was hot then, it must be much worse now!

Fans are not a solution as they just push the hot air around.

It should be quiet cheap to resolve if Travelodge wished to (longer cables for the window locks, solar film on the windows, perhaps open the skylight in the main stairwell and check there is nothing else creating heat in the central stairwell area.

As mentioned elsewhere the staff are really sympathetic about the heat, but clearly Travelodge HQ don’t listen or support them by addressing the issue and it has been .

(The refit generally is OK, but clearly done a little on the cheap and it didn’t even run to a new bin to replace the rusty in my bathroom!) But it’s the heat that gets to you.

Room Tip: It's a very "HOT" hotel, so ask for a room on the cooler side facing the road if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was my last experience with Travelodge in Scotland and surprisingly a good one. The location from the Airport was great. Sadly, no airport transportation, but the cab ride was pleasant and not expensive.
My room was large and very clean. The bed was quite comfy. The reception staff were helpful and nice. However, this location is far away from everything but the airport. To get back into Edinburgh, I had to take a half hour bus ride. That was ok, but returning was a nightmare to find a bus going back past this location. I had to take a very expensive taxi ride back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celticdragon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

definitely 5 stars apponting for price/performance. Close to the airport, clean and comfortable room, easy parking. Easy check in. The hotel overpassed my expectation. I suggest to deliver free wifi access


  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Clean, small rooms with no air con, but sweat dripping down the walls by 2am as it was so hot!!!!

Canteen style restaurant serving reasonable pub grub, and decent priced drinks on offer too.

It's all a bit clinical, but it was only a bed for the night before we flew out on holiday.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nony88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed at Edinburgh Airport travelodge before setting off on holiday. Great start to the week. easily one of the best travelodge hotels I have stayed in. Very clean with a modern feeling to it. It is ideally situated for the airport. had a great sleep and was refreshed for the journey ahead. Food in their restaurant was good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 902SamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked for our 1 am arr from Tenerife. I write this in warning to families. Our room was unbearably over-heated. Despite sympathy from the night staff, there was nothing that could be done - the window could not be opened more than an inch, there were no fans, no air conditioning. It was excruciating, impossible to sleep - a real nightmare with kids of four and seven. I understand we are far from alone in this experience. Left feeling room was mis-sold. Couldn't leave quickly enough

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank 12AlasdairF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

About 1.5 miles from airport, with bus shuttle available at small cost. Care is required when parking since the hotel has limited spaces and the remaining spaces are allocated to the nearby offices and carry a fine for unauthorised parking.
The receptionist was friendly and provided key information on the hotel and services available.The Room was clean with secondary glazing to remove main road traffic and airport noise.Kettle for tea/coffee making available but no hair dryer in the room for the wife, but available from reception upon request.
The matteress on the king size bed ensured no back pain
The hotel has a busy bar and cafe to chill out after a long journey.

Room Tip: Main road facing rooms provide a good view of airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,001 reviews
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#117 of 151 in Edinburgh
256 reviews
Travelodge Edinburgh Learmonth
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel

Address: Ratho Park 88 Glasgow Road, Edinburgh EH28 8PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £39 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing