We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, bad food and noisy within the hotel itself.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel
Ranked #112 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We checked into this hotel because we had a nearly flight the next morning and had decided rather than getting up really early to drive down we would stay overnight to get some sleep. Check in was very quick and easy and our room was very nicely presented. We decided to eat in the restaurant, but to be honest I wouldn't bother. The food was like eating frozen microwave meals. We settled in for the night and whilst we don't expect it to be completely quiet inside the hotel, the noise coming from doors being closed was horrendous and unfortunately for us we were next to some lads who spent the whole night going in and out of their room, so instead of gaining extra sleep we ended up only getting about 3 hours sleep, which made our onward journey exhausting. It was interesting that when we checked out the man on reception asked the question ' was everything quiet enough apart from it being too hot' Obviously there had been several complaints about the same thing because he didn't seem surprised when we said, although he did apologise. It has put us off staying here again.

Room Tip: Believe it or not rooms towards the roadside are very quiet due to the triple glazing.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ureferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear ureferg, we are sorry to learn of the disruption that you experienced during your stay. We ask customers to be courteous to other guests during their stay and try and allocate rooms in similar parts of our hotels for larger groups.

We are also sorry to learn of the concerns you have raised over the quality of the food in our bar cafe. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (816)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 816 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Was on third floor. Got out the lift in the evening & the heat just hit us. The window in the room only opens a couple of centimeters. Impossible to sleep 26C & 85% humidity. Room clean & tidy & nice staff

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Roy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Happy with the accommodation although I would not consider it as airport accommodation. Taxi ride from Travelodge to airport will cost in the region of £10. With a very early departure for the airport it is necessary to book on the private shuttle service

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selkiesave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I agree with other reviewers, the hotel is probably quite comfortable in the winter but far too hot in this unusually warm Scottish summer. The windows were locked open and no breath of air came into the room. The one bar of soap was the thinnest I've ever seen, there was no remote for the TV and the only chair in the room was broken. The breakfast was good and reasonably priced but the rooms need to be better maintained.

Room Tip: rooms that don't overlook the entrance, too many cars/taxis coming and going all night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne88888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel really is ideal for those with a car needing cheap parking before or after a late/early flight. My only complaint is the heat. The windows don't really open (one inch max. "for your security") and there is no air conditioning. Normally this is not a problem in Scotland, but this year it was. Impossible to have a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank BillParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear BillParis, we’re really sorry to learn of your discomfort on this occasion due to the temperatures within your room. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning although in an attempt to make your stay more comfortable we do offer fans, which can be obtained from reception anytime. We’d like to apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

A short review:
Travellodge is in general great value for the money. Nice rooms, beds, bathrooms.
On this stay however the room was so hot that it became quite uncomfortable. It should be possible to open the window a bit more so fresh air can come in to the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Mads K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The hotel was nice and clean but the bedroom was so hot that we (incl. our 4 and 2 year old) were physically sweating and none of us could sleep. No fans or air conditioning available and we were advised that the building was built to retain heat which isn't good when we finally get a nice Scottish summer and the sun is shining.

What should have been a nice stopover to recharge the batteries before we continued on our journery, ended up with us all being frazzled, tired and contemplating getting in the car and driving home at midnight!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank 135Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#116 of 150 in Edinburgh
250 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel

Address: Ratho Park 88 Glasgow Road, Edinburgh EH28 8PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Airport Ratho Station Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing