We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable B&B near Edinburgh Airport”
Review of Netherby House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Netherby House
Ranked #111 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We started our short Scotland trip in Edinburgh and ended it there. It was no Problem to book the room accordingly in advance. Nice clean rooms and George is very thoughtful and friendly. A small parking lot for a rental car is also available. Even though it is directly at the main street, it is really quiet. As the bus is Close by, you can reach Edinburgh Centre within 15 mins ride and it's not longer in the other way to the Airport. There are also a few good Restaurants Close by. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Excellent location adjacent to Edinburgh Airport which added to an enjoyable holiday in Scotland.
Easy to access by bus from Edinburgh and host could not be more helpful.
Good facilities and I would have no hesitation staying again.
Dave Dawber,New Zealand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Perfect way to end such a great trip to Scotland! Stayed at Netherby for a few nights before flying back home, perfect location as it’s quite close to the airport and good bus service to city centre (15 minutes or so). Service was amazing for our whole stay with easy transport to the airport being a definite bonus and stress free way to end our holiday. Rooms were a good size, clean and great value for money compared to other places we had stayed at while over in the UK so we were very pleasantly surprised! Good choice of restaurants nearby, so we didn't have to spend all day in the city. Could definitely have stayed a few extra nights!

Room Tip: Fabio's Italian restaurant is just along the road and is really good for an evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived a little later than we said, but that wasn't a problem at all. Both owners were very nice and friendly, showed and told us everything there was to know. After 10 days without WIFI it was great to be able to check our emails...
Our room was bigger than I expected and I literally slept like a stone.
The owner arranged a transfer by taxi to the airport for us on the next morning which cost about 10 pounds.
There was a great range of things for breakfast which I really liked!
Thanks a lot for the nice stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gesa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After a late arrival at Edinburgh airport the owner welcomed us with a cheery smile. The room was very clean and comfortable and had absolutely everything that you could possibly need. The breakfast was eccellent. We used a taxi to get back and forth from the airport but the bus that goes to the airport and the city centre stops on the road just outside of the B&B. The only drawback was the price which I thought a bit excessive even if it was august, the month of the Edinburgh Fringe and Festival.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George T, Owner at Netherby House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear scotangel
Thank you for your kind and positive review, however I am sorry to hear that you think our rates were possibly a bit excessive, we always set our rates so that they are competitive and similar to our neighbours and any other guest houses offering the same quality of service in the local area, and I’m sure that you will find that most of our guests would agree that we provide extremely good value for this type of accommodation in this area of Edinburgh at this time of year.
If ever you require accommodation in Edinburgh again, please contact us and you will always be made most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have stayed in many B and B's and this is a perfect place for the city and airport.
Our room was clean, breakfast was very good and free parking. Best for me was I slept well [most unusual in a strange place].
George helps with printing off boarding passes, buses to city and anything else his guests ask.
We would certainly stay again if in Edinburgh.
Thank you George for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at Netherby House just one night, after a month in the north of Scotland. I was headed to the airport early the next morning. I was met quickly upon my arrival at the door, shown my room, and George ordered me a taxi for early the next morning. He also arranged for an early breakfast tray since I would be missing his served hot meal. The walk to dinner was less than two blocks. The heat and water worked well, carpets and linens were crisp and clean.... All in all, a welcome recharge before a long trip back to the states. Thanks George.

Room Tip: This property is right on the #31 bus line which makes it convenient to come and go to downtown. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mangiaduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,032 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,631 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Netherby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherby House

Address: 41 Glasgow Road | Corstorphine, Edinburgh EH12 8HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation near Edinburgh airport, all rooms en-suite, free parking and wi-fi. Ideal for late arrivals or early morning departures. Direct shuttle bus 6 minutes from the airport and on a direct bus route only minutes from Edinburgh city centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Netherby House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing