We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B”
Review of Allburys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allburys
Ranked #68 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Very good B&B”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

five stars for this place, and each one is fully deserved. Slept like a baby, enjoyed delicious breakfast, Prince's street (aka the city center) only 10 minutes away by foot, a friendly and caring owner... what more could I ask for? If you want to visit Edinburgh, and you should if you have not already done so, then I warmly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    12
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
148
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

One of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! Spotlessly clean and nicely decorated rooms in a wonderful old house. Good and quiet location (about 10 minutes walk to Princess street/George street). Derrick is a wonderful host and he and his two lovely cats (Lola and Mimi) give you a very warm welcome. Delicious breakfast. We will definitely go back here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl4577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Just returned from our first vist to Edinburgh, easily got to from the South on the very scenic East Coast Service. Lovely city...too much to see in four full days but the highlights were the Botanical Gardens, the Royal Yacht, the Kings Theatre production, meals at First Coast and La Bruschetta and last but by no means least Allburys. Derrick has the perfectt b and b, our rooms were lovely and comfortable, the breakfasts were a delight each morning, the location excellent (we were able to walk to most places) and Derrick was so helpful and interesting to chat with. He recommended the restaurants, the Leith river walk to the Botanical Gardens and helped us with many other things to make our stay so enjoyable. Choice of breakfast music varied and stimulating! We hope sometime to revisit Edinburgh and enjoy Derricks hospitality again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Spent two nights here earlier this year and can't say enough good things! Lovely room with our own separate living room, delicious breakfasts with the best coffee and not to mention our charming host - Derrick!
Great location for the city centre too.
Highly recommend this delightful place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curry_L0vers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykoping, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I stayed in Allburys for five nights and we had a really pleasant stay. Derrick, the owner, took such good care of us in an extraordinary friendly way. Everything was perfect, the breakfasts, the familiar feeling, the room, as well as the location. For a middle aged couple, like us, this is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Hjulspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My wife and I were given a present of two nights staying at Allburys. We were greeted at the door by Derrick and he made us feel at home at once. The atmosphere was relaxed, and the room we stayed in was extremely comfortable and well appointed. Having a fridge was a bonus as it kept our complementary bottle of wine nice and cool. The food at breakfast was of a high quality, and served in the peaceful dining room. We opted to have the Scottish breakfast with each item on the plate having its own story, and the homemade bread and marmalade were extremely tasty. The location suited us as we travelled through from Glasgow by train to Haymarket and Allburys is about a five minute walk from there. It is also handy for the main shopping and tourist areas. We will certainly be back to visit and look forward to meeting Derrick again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roddy_C962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

On a very chilly weekend in Edinburgh, Allburys was a lovely retreat to relax and re charge the batteries. Its a lovely change to have room had everything you need with the added extra of a fridge with drinks, really nice touch in a boutique B&B. Having the separate lounge with the stunning Edinburgh views, tv and music was a real treat rather than having to sit in your bedroom. Breakfast was to die for, the pre-selected menu meant everything was prepared to order with fresh ingredients to cater for all tastes. The dining room with the one large table where all the guests sat created a really nice atmosphere where we could share the experiences of the weekend.
Thanks to Derrick for being a very helpful and attentive host. Looking forward to another memorable stay soon.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Golfwidow64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,044 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#7 of 393 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#129 of 393 in Edinburgh
85 reviews
West End
Destiny Scotland - Distillers House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allburys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allburys

Property: Allburys
Address: 8 Magdala Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Allburys 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Chic situated in a Victorian townhouse located only a few minutes walk from Princes Street. The rooms are quiet, luxurious and well appointed with great attention to detail for our guests' convenience and pleasure. You will find a warm gracious greeting from the host, Derrick, and a depth of knowledge about Edinbugh and ways to get around. The breakfasts are innovative and scrumptious with great attention paid to sustainable supply from local artisan suppliers. Dietary preferences and requirements are catered for particulary if they are arranged in advance. At Allburys we do everything we can to ensure our guests can enjoy their visit to Edinbugh to the fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Allburys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allburys Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing