We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
200
12
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
12
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet breakfastfull scottish breakfastquiet streetb bswe've stayedderricktram
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and really enjoyed ourselves. The location was superb, a twenty minute walk from the centre of Edinburgh. Our room was really spacious and beautifully decorated. We had access to sky tv and tea and coffee in the room. The bed was really comfy and breakfast in the morning was delicious. The b&b owner was very welcoming and helpful. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent two nights in Allburys and we had an amazing time in this gorgeous guest house. Upon entering this elegant house it is evident that a lot of thought and pride has went into the decor and furnishings. It is beautiful and the standards are exceptional!! The music Derek occasionally played in the house created a wonderful ambiance.

We stayed in the ‘Robin suite’ which was very comfortable and relaxing. We had our own private living room next to our bedroom. This room is bright, spacious and luxurious. The bed is extremely comfortable; it was like sleeping on a cloud! The breakfast each morning was delicious. Derek uses high quality, local produce and each morning we had a wide variety of breakfast options to choose from.

Derek made the experience unique and special with his kindness and attention to detail. Nothing is too much trouble for him. Derek is very passionate about what he does, this is clear for anyone to see. The work and effort that he puts into running his guest house made our experience very enjoyable. We felt extremely welcome and loved chatting with Derek. He is very knowledgeable on the history and attractions in this city. Derek gave us some great recommendations for restaurants and places of interest.

You can walk into the city centre from Allburys; however we used the bus which is situated at the end of the street and runs very regularly. Bars and restaurants are located close by.

This guest house along with its host (Derek) is one of a kind and made our trip to Edinburgh a fantastic memory. We hope that someday we can get back to stay there again.

Thanks for everything,

Scott and Leia

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'Robin Suite'
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

How lucky we were to have chosen Allburys for our long weekend in Edinburgh.
We were delighted with the style of our room (Jay) with its wonderful shower. The bed was so incredibly comfortable with its glorious mattress and billowing duvet that it was impossible to have a bad night. The suites look wonderful too.

The breakfasts were all that's already been written - delicious and imaginative. We chose also to have dinner on two of our three evenings on the strength of them. Derrick's a wonderful cook and his wine list was thoughtfully chosen. We thoroughly enjoyed getting to know him just a little. We were also privileged to get to know his cats (at our request), Lola and Mimi. We shall return.

Room Tip: Choose any room. You won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at Allburys for 2 nights with our two kids, and would highly recommend it. The entire place is beautifully furnished, well equipped and in immaculate condition. The breakfast choices changed daily and were always delicious. Not your typical B&B- something akin to staying in a design hotel, but with the personal touches of a b&b.
We stayed in the Robin suite, which consists of a bedroom and separate sitting room plus a sleek bathroom (with a huge bath) at the top of the house. Great views of the castle can be enjoyed from both rooms. The set up is great for families, as the kids used the sofabed in the sitting room, so we didn't all have to crowd into one room- my only concern was that the two rooms were not interconnected- you enter both from the hallway- and the living room didn't lock, so I felt a bit hesitant to leave the kids, who are aged 3 and 8. However, perhaps that is me just being overly concerned, it actually worked out fine- the kids were perfectly happy and enjoyed having their own 'private' room.
The location is great, a typically beautiful quiet West End street, and even though there were road works right outside when we were there, making the street a bit less tranquil, the noise couldn't be heard from the bedrooms at all. 20-30 mins walk to the Royal Mile (at the 3 year old's walking pace)- not as central as staying in an old town apartment, but the West End is a more pleasant location and worth staying a little bit away from the action for a quieter night's sleep- particularly with kids- and there are plenty of buses if you prefer not to walk.
Overall, we had a lovely break staying at Allburys and would definitely visit again. Thanks for a lovely stay, Derrick!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We wanted a special getaway for our anniversary and although it was only overnight, We were very impressed, spacious room with high ceiling and decorated to a high standard, warm welcome and delicious brekkie, highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l1christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews