We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allburys, and Derek, were great.”
Review of Allburys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allburys
Ranked #66 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Allburys, and Derek, were great.”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Me and my partner stayed in the Allburys B&B for 3 nights in January. Upon arrival we were greeted by Derek, the owner, who showed us around the accommodation consisting of the bedroom, bathroom and communal dining room for the morning breakfasts.

The bedroom came equipped with what you'd expect; cable TV, hairdryer, table/chairs etc. plus a pair of matching robes. The room was elegantly decorated with some interesting and aspiring art on the walls, but the thing really worth mentioning is the bed itself. I can tell you now I've never been in a more soft and comfortable bed, I'm not joking. I haven't slept better in my own bed, and it was a struggle to leave it. I'm not sure if every room has the same bed, but if your lucky enough to be on the first floor then you will be sleeping on the bed of golden slumbers.

The bathroom is perfectly sized for a couple, not too big or small. The shower was a treat with each use, supplied with aloe vera shampoo and shower gel. In addition there is a marble and wood bench within the shower on one of the walls.

The breakfasts in the morning ranged from 8:00 - 10:00 am and the food was delightful. The breakfast menu was inserted under our doorway in the evening from which we had 3 main meals to choose from. They were primarily egg based, which I was pleased to see. The meals were exquisite and slightly alternating with each day. For example, omelette with mushrooms, scrambled eggs with cheese and spring onion, and the classic bacon and fired egg sandwich. There were other ingredients per meal but I can't recall the exact menu details, on top of this was choice of juice and an option for a fruit smoothie one morning! Which, again, I was pleased to see. Along with background music, coffee, toast and jam the breakfast was the perfect way to start the day, not to mention a worthy excuse to leave the bed of golden slumbers.

One small naggy thing would be the lack of a parking space directly outside the B&B but Derek directed us to where there is free parking which was around 15 - 20 minutes walk. Thanks to the location of the B&B, however, we were very close to the city centre and found ourselves walking to most places anyway.

So in conclusion yes I'd recommend this accommodation, even without the Groupon I'd consider it well worth the full asking price and would definitely re-visit to check in on our friendly Derek.

P.S. - the key for the door to our bedroom was 160 years old, it felt like yielding a historic Scottish treasure!

Room Tip: First floor had a sweet bed, couldn't tell ya if the others were better or worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    12
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
148
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Myself and my boyfriend enjoyed a 2 night stay, purchased via the Groupon deal. The house is stunning and you can tell every detail has been considered. Our room was gorgeously decorated and the facilities were amazing; the bed and shower were perfect. Breakfast was great on both mornings, the freshly squeezed orange and lovely coffee were a great start. Initially we were surprised there was an additional fee to have a full cooked breakfast or eggs benedict, however the ingredients were of the highest standard, so it is completely understandable. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carter-Page
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I've been lucky enough to live ( which is how at home you feel)in Derrick the proprietors house and its my favourite mini hotel ever. This first time was as a groupon visitor and I felt just as special as coming the second time - this time I chose to pay usual rates.Derrick is a natural host and the house is beautiful - very quiet and waking distance to the centre. The rooms are few but plush spacious and very private. Breakfast is diverse and its all butchers meats rather than platefuls of cheap supermarket fry up fodder. I've already booked for my festival visits as rooms go quick. A fantastic place which makes you feel very special.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank missmodus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a two night stay at Allburys. I can not speak highly enough of my experience there. From the moment we arrived I was amazed by the sheer beauty of the building and very impressed by its superb location, as promised, it is in Edinburgh Centre and yet on a quiet, idyllic street. We were shown to 'The Robin Suite' by the charming and welcoming Derrick and I could not have been happier. Our room was bright, clean and very comfortable. The sitting room was cosy and both rooms offered great views. The bathroom was of the highest spec and again impeccably clean.

Breakfast was exquisite on both mornings and Derrick had created a menu to suit all. I honestly can not think of a time or place I have had such a delicious start to to the day.

The decor is immaculate and eclectic throughout, from the sweeping staircase to the music played in the dining room, Allburys oozes effortless style. My only regret is that we did not book to have an evening meal but when I return I will be sure to do so.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stevieann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Just stayed in this fantastic boutique B and B cant recommend enough, Derrick was very welcoming, the property was fantastic, the bed so comfy did not want to leave and the breakfast superb, a real treat for me as was a gift for Christmas! Love all the special touches in the room, left very relaxed. Thanks so much, planning on making this an annual trip from now!

Room Tip: Rooms very comfortable, decor beautiful, You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Had a long weekend as a birthday/Christmas shopping treat. Allburys is fantastic, every aspect is quality, no skimping from the décor to the toiletries to the food! Derek obviously has an eye for detail and it's all beautiful. Its all very nice and clean as well as friendly, and coming from a clean freak foodie that came away so happy its a big compliment! Location was fab, quick walk down the road to the shops and all the city has to offer I would love to go back to Allburys!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights as a surprise for my birthday. Great location as it's only a short walk to the city centre and is also on several bus routes. We stayed in the Robin suite which was lovely-the facilities were great, absolutely spotless and I think the bed is the comfiest I've slept in. Derek was a welcoming and attentive host and his breakfasts were faultless, I'd particularly recommend his omelettes! Overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
94DR
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#124 of 392 in Edinburgh
85 reviews
West End
Destiny Scotland - Distillers House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allburys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allburys

Property: Allburys
Address: 8 Magdala Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Allburys 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Chic situated in a Victorian townhouse located only a few minutes walk from Princes Street. The rooms are quiet, luxurious and well appointed with great attention to detail for our guests' convenience and pleasure. You will find a warm gracious greeting from the host, Derrick, and a depth of knowledge about Edinbugh and ways to get around. The breakfasts are innovative and scrumptious with great attention paid to sustainable supply from local artisan suppliers. Dietary preferences and requirements are catered for particulary if they are arranged in advance. At Allburys we do everything we can to ensure our guests can enjoy their visit to Edinbugh to the fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Allburys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allburys Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing