We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish..........”
Review of Allburys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allburys
Ranked #68 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stylish..........”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Booked via voucher offer - made this accommodation excellent value.
Property ticks all the boxes: great location, amazing building, luxury all the way..........and Derek was a great host who made sure you were made to feel very welcomed.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment and pick the brains of the proprietor Derek as he was very helpfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    12
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
149
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Had a lovely time in Edinburgh, allburys lovely, and host Derrick welcoming and very helpful .house lovely traditional features. Check parking had a half mile to park car as part was closed for road repairs, the rest is residents parking permits only, overall a great trip even in the rain.

Louise& john Aberdeen

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Allburys Robin Suite is a well furnished apartment with a large bedroom featuring a very comfortable king size bed. This has a beautifully appointed en suite bathroom and a sitting room with views across towards Edinburgh Castle. The accommodation is a very short walk away from Haymarket rail / tram station with excellent links to the centre of Edinburgh.

We were made to feel really welcome by the proprietor who obviously takes a lot of pride in what he does. Included is a hand-crafted breakfast tailored to the guests requirement. My partner is a vegetarian and these things matter a great deal to her.

Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a city break, likes their creature comforts, and appreciates a peaceful and relaxing stay away in a home from home.

Carl, Lancashire.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the Robin Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Really lovely b&b-Robin suite was gorgeous and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic with fresh options available every morning. We both really enjoyed the fruit compotes eaxh morning. Easy to find- nice walk in to the city centre. Cats were an added bonus!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a fantastic weekend in Edinburgh. Derek was a warm, welcoming and helpful host. He went above and beyond expectations and that was reflected in the personal and outstanding service that we received. The house itself, is beautiful, with traditional features, but has all the modern comforts that you need. And then some. The location was ideal, and everything was accessible easily, and cheaply. We found that there is so much to do in Edinburgh, that we love to visit again in future, and intend to stay at Allburys upon our return. I would recommend both Allburys, and Edinburgh for a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently stayed for a two night break and the host Derrick was lovely, very welcoming, our room was very nice, comfy bed and soft pillows. Breakfast was delightful and cooked to a high standard. We intend to go back and would highly reccommend Allburys, the cats were lovely aswell!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 731Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to stay in this wonderful bijou hotel this week on a brief short break to Edinburgh; From the first we had had a thoroughly enjoyable stay there, and intend to go back later in the year. We were very pleasantly welcomed before being taken to our one bedroom apartment on the top floor which was very well laid out with great little touches.(but no lift!) The spacious bedroom had a great comfortable bed and with a separate wonderful sitting area that was great to relax in.
The breakfast was delightful everything of a high quality and fresh with a large choice of coffee's.
We would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#133 of 392 in Edinburgh
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Destiny Scotland - Distillers House
West End
The Victorian Town House
The Victorian Town House
#37 of 392 in Edinburgh
331 reviews
Kellerstain Stables B&B
#29 of 392 in Edinburgh
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allburys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allburys

Property: Allburys
Address: 8 Magdala Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Allburys 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Chic situated in a Victorian townhouse located only a few minutes walk from Princes Street. The rooms are quiet, luxurious and well appointed with great attention to detail for our guests' convenience and pleasure. You will find a warm gracious greeting from the host, Derrick, and a depth of knowledge about Edinbugh and ways to get around. The breakfasts are innovative and scrumptious with great attention paid to sustainable supply from local artisan suppliers. Dietary preferences and requirements are catered for particulary if they are arranged in advance. At Allburys we do everything we can to ensure our guests can enjoy their visit to Edinbugh to the fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Allburys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allburys Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing