We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allburys

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Allburys
Ranked #82 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
barcelona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We arrived at Edinburgh for a 3 days stay. after travelling around scotland for more than a week, so we were more than exhausted. Allburys is located 20 minutes from the city center but it's easy to go from and to. There many buses, and you can always walk, Location is very quiet, and the house it's nicely decorated. Breakfast is the best part, with a meny to chose from, and Derry that cook for you, and pretty well. And they have a NESSPRESSO, so at least a bonus for cofee lovers, and cofee deprived people. Rooms are spacious and pretty, bathroom it's great. The only setback is the price, but it's worth it to pay for. Excelent relation price/quality

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    12
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
147
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Balloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at this FABULOUS bed and breakfast in Edinburgh during the festival. It's set in a very peaceful quiet street 15-20 minutes walk from the city centre. Which is handy to walk off the fantastic breakfasts that Derrick cooked for us. I recommend the Allburys take on the Eggs Benedict and also the omellette with the smoked salmon. The coffee's also amazing. Derrick has a Nespresso machine. My husband at this time is trying to source one for me. Gives you a real kick to start your day off. The dining room is also lovely and tastefully decorated. Nice peaceful colour scheme with ipod background music. I also liked he fact that you could eat at different times instead of the one set time, which on our last experience of a bed and breakfast was far too early for us.

From the moment we entered the owner Derrick was very welcoming and took my bag from me. He carried it right up the flights of stairs. The house is beautiful, again very tastefully decorated throughout.. Our room was at the back of the house with a view out to the back gardens. Very quiet. It has a plasma TV, a beautiful recently refurbished modern bathroom, with lovely Molton Brown produucts. Nice touches witth the candles etc. fluffy towels,

One last tip: go when the fesival is on. The atmosphere's electric.

Derrick if you read this: thanks again, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shonac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

I stayed at Allburys recently and had booked it expecting a good bed and breakfast.My business collegues had booked in to a nearby hotel but realised they had missed a trick a mere 20 m up the street in Magdala Crecent when they came to meet me. Allburys is like being a VIP guest in a tiny 5 star hotel. Everything from the Molton Brown products, white egyptian cotton sheets, plasma screen and ultra modern shower shows a luxurious eye for detail. Breakfast was beautiful and plentiful and was cooked by Derrek the owner who clearly loves to cook. The owner gets the balance right between being a welcoming attentive host whilst allowing you to just relax and just be comfortable to make the house your own. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a real retreat in the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmodus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

Just arrived home from 4 days in Edinburgh staying at Allburys. This is an exceptional guest house (the b&b title doesnt give it the deserved credit!). On arrival we were met at the door by Derrick (proprieter) who promptly took our bags and led us to our room. My wife fell in love with the room as soon as we walked in! There is a lot of attention to detail here and a very comfortable bed. Flat screen tv, all movie and sports channels provided, playstation 3 (for those who are not intending to visit the many sights Edinburgh has to offer). The en suite shower is amazing, one showerhead fitted to the ceiling, one handheld if required together with a seated area.
Breakfast is served in a high ceilinged victorian room, excellent decor and at a time to suit. A very good choice of menu all cooked freshly. This guy appreciates good food and prepares a fab breakfast - nesspresso coffee too!
The position of Allburys is superb too - it is a 15 - 20 min walk to the city centre but there is a really good bus service available if you do not wish to walk. The bus stop is just at the bottom of the road and an all day ticket is just £3 per person. There is also a very good bus service to and from the airport for just £3.50 stopping 5 minutes down the road. With many different restaurants nearby, this place was a real find, we will definatly return. Thanks for a great few days, Derrick, even though you have a copy of Arlene Phillips workout in your record collection!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolt169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#132 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
West End
The Edinburgh Residence
The Edinburgh Residence
#69 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#18 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#155 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#70 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
West End
The Victorian Town House
The Victorian Town House
#35 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allburys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allburys

Property: Allburys
Address: 8 Magdala Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Allburys 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Chic situated in a Victorian townhouse located only a few minutes walk from Princes Street. The rooms are quiet, luxurious and well appointed with great attention to detail for our guests' convenience and pleasure. You will find a warm gracious greeting from the host, Derrick, and a depth of knowledge about Edinbugh and ways to get around. The breakfasts are innovative and scrumptious with great attention paid to sustainable supply from local artisan suppliers. Dietary preferences and requirements are catered for particulary if they are arranged in advance. At Allburys we do everything we can to ensure our guests can enjoy their visit to Edinbugh to the fullest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Allburys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allburys Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing