We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Prices and Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
28 York Place Hotel
Ranked #79 of 396 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel on our last day in Scotland. We chose it because it was very reasonably priced for Edinburgh, and it is a quarter block from the new tramway that goes to the airport. The tramway runs about every 10 minutes starting at 5:30 in the morning. The bus station is also quite close and Waverly Train station is within walking distance. Reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable. We requested a double room, so two twin beds were put together to basically make a king size bed. Typically you can feel where the beds meet when this is done, but not here. The room was large, especially compared to the typical UK sized room. The bath had a combination shower and bath with good water pressure. Some minor cosmetic repairs were needed, but everything worked very well. The ceilings were about 20 feet high, and the window was about 10 by 5 feet with the most amazing view. We had a panoramic water view of North Edinburgh. The TV was small, but we never really watch television on vacation so it didn't matter. The neighborhood has a lot of character with good pubs and restaurants. The hotel is only a few blocks from Rose Street (a good pub crawl area) and Market Street with good shopping. Basically most of the things tourists typically want to see in Edinburgh were within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Grantm04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for one night, on arrival we were taken through the rear entrance which was full of rubbish and crates. The room was ok but tv didn't work and there was no extractor in the bathroom. Staff were not overly helpful and I felt like an inconvenience to them! If you do visit this hotel take toilet wipes and some bleach (and check the mattress) :(

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colinrocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon W, Manager at 28 York Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Colinrocco

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback about your recent stay at 28 York Place. I regret that I didn't get the opportunity to meet with you during your stay and am only aware of your disappointment following your review.

Myself and the team are here to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us, and I am sure they will share my disappointment that we seem to have let you down on this occasion.

I am not aware of any TVs in the hotel not working, and further to a review today find them all to be in working order - I regret that you had trouble with your TV. Our rear entrance is not our main entrance, and you would have been invited to enter this way when taking advantage of our free on-site parking. All our bathrooms share a centralised extraction fan system, I'm glad that this was discrete enough for you to be unaware of it.

In terms of housekeeping issues that you raise, these have been passed on to our housekeeping team as a priority. I'm sorry that you did not find the bathroom to be presented as we would wish.

We are undergoing a programme of complete refurbishment which will be completed in the latter part of this year, which will further enhance our current offering. I hope that you were able to enjoy our city centre location, and that you found our free parking to be helpful too.

I would be most grateful if you could contact me to discuss your stay at your earliest convenience. Please email me directly at gordon@28yorkplace.com providing your booking name and date of stay.

I look forward to hearing from you and hope that we can welcome you back some time soon.

Best regards
Gordon

Gordon Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Clean, comfortable with friendly staff. Breakfast was yummy. Easy walk to Waverley Train Station and The Royal Mile. Eateries were close by, as were shops and parks. John Lewis was across the road. Will stay there on next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepish16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in quite area. Very central location to princes street. Staff were very helpful and friendly and very accommodating with any requests we made. There a lovely bar if wanted a quite drink to relax after your day. No food served but there are loads of restaurants near by so that no an issue for me.


Only downfalls is the wifi you cannot connect to the hotel free wifi and mould on the shower curtain.

Given the location I would stay there again if visiting Edinburgh as very central

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Craxyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A lovely hotel that was very central and close to Princes street, with St. James shopping centre across the road. The staff were very friendly and very welcoming. Only 2 faults i had with the hotel was the wifi was terrible, the signal kept dropping and then wouldnt let you reconnect. The other fault was the television, most of the channels were skipping,

Room Tip: The linlithgow room was perfect, no noise and good space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelwings_eire1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. We had a friendly welcome and checkin and the bar staff could give useful information on where to eat for dinner and breakfast as there is no breakfast offered by the hotel.
Our room was in second floor. It was clean as well as the bathroom.
While we stayed in Edinburgh, a tram was being tested, so I assume it will be available soon. A tram station is very close to the hotel. Even though our room was facing the street, we didn't hear the tram at all and also the traffic noise was low when windows were closed.
I recommend this hotel especially for visiting and exploring Edinburgh. If you plan on working/staying inside the room most of the time, it might be too small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Florian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A last minute choice for a hotel in Edinburgh. For the price I didn't hold high expectations. Limited free parking in the rear alley this little hotel is quite a find.

Rooms are well equipped and the beds are MASSIVE and very comfortable. Bathroom has all the amenities and also great water pressure. There is no lift here so you'll need to carry your bags up the stairs. High ceilings mean that each floor is quite a way but it's well worth it.

I was in the Abbotsford room which has an adjoining door with the room next door, means that some noise travels between the rooms. It also faces York Place which is a busy street. Some road noise can be heard but shouldn't trouble too many people.

After one successful night here I decided to stay for another.

No breakfast here but there are many eateries within a short walk of the hotel. Would happily recommend and stay here again.

Staff are extremely friendly. Reception seems to be monitored from 9am-1030pm however you do have 24/7 access via your key.

There is a bar onsite and the prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: For a quieter room ask for one NOT facing York Place or with an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#112 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Central (Lauriston Place) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allison House Hotel
#92 of 396 in Edinburgh
213 reviews
Mackenzie Guest House
#141 of 396 in Edinburgh
81 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#68 of 396 in Edinburgh
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 28 York Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 28 York Place Hotel

Address: 28 York Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EP, Scotland (Formerly The Police Club)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 396 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £43 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 28 York Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Edinburgh, 28 York Place is the perfect place for your next visit to Scotland's Capital City. Whether you're looking for a romantic weekend away, here on a shopping spree or visiting on business the team at 28 York Place are on hand to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your 28 York Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
28 York Place Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing