We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad we left...”

Yo! Sushi Harvey Nichols Edinburgh
Ranked #953 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: New Town
UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“So bad we left...”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I used to be a big Yo! fan but have recently been disappointed by the dwindling standard in food quality and service - but this one took the biscuit! We were shown to seats at the belt where the counter was dirty, and there were so few dishes on the belt we thought it must be closing time - the waitress told us they'd been busy, shrugged and walked off. The abject salmon dish on the belt was bolstered by some bottles of aloe juice, and..... nothing much else. But worse - there were kids in the food prep area - they were having a jolly time, but it's not particularly appealing, entertaining or appetising to watch kids play around with rice. In fact it's pretty grim, noisy and not hygienic. It also meant none of the staff was preparing dishes to go on the belt, so anyone not part of the kids-playing-with-rice party were ignored, and left to sit at the dirty counter, with no food on the belt and no service.
So we left and won't bother with Yo! again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank avonside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    54
    30
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shocking”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Having been a big fan of Yo Sushi I have been disappointed with the last couple of resteraunts I have visited in Scotland. This one though took the biscuit. There were children playing in the food prep area and the belt was almost empty - it even had a few cartons of drink on it rather than dishes. The place looked a mess and the member of staff we spoke to didn't seem to understand the problem. Certainly not the standard one expects for a concession in an up-market store like Harvey Nichols.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Artist24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Based at the top of Harvey Nichols this is a great find if you're wanting very good freshly prepared food made in front of you. Menu is both extensive and well explained giving healthy/healthier options as well.
If you've been to a Yo Sushi before you'll know the conveyer belt delivery system as well as ordering bespoke choices, if not you're in for a cool surprise .
Service is quick and professional and it's reasonably priced given that eating out is never cheap anymore !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quick and easy”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great, know what you get and go for blue Mondays and you get great food on the cheap. Service can be a bit slow at times but fine overall.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishJoe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“single dine-in wasn't so bad, thanks to friendly staff w good sushi!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

excellent service!!!
yummy & value-for-money sushi dishes, speedy service, service with a smile, friendly & had marvelous portion of the fried squid, thanks chef!! (who's cute btw!)

Helpful?
Thank Alizea G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Yo! Sushi Harvey Nichols Edinburgh also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Yo! Sushi Harvey Nichols Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing