We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Happiness”
Review of Oakhill Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakhill Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Happiness”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We went here for our minimoon the day after our wedding. We arrived to a lovely greeting and was given the two bedroom apartment on the top floor. It was lovely inside and was really homely. We used the kitchen on the first night and the facilities were brill. When we arrived back on the second day they had left us a hamper because it was our honeymoon. Our stay was flawless. We were close to tesco and we were only a short bus ride from the city centre. We will definately come back and we are hoping to return on March for my birthday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibdab44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments.

Congratulations again on being Mr and Mrs! We were delighted that you started your mini moon here in Edinburgh and were able to arrive, relax and cook on the first night in your apartment.

We are also so pleased that you intend on returning in March for your birthday and we will look forward to welcoming you again here soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    66
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
196
154
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in November 2013 and enjoyed our stay. Took the train to Edinburgh and for less than 10 pounds got a taxi to the apartments. Check in was very efficient.
We had room 17 on the upper floor - great views from the small deck and the bedroom. We walked everywhere during our visit because the weather was great and we enjoy the exercise, but others may find it easier to take the bus. The apartment had all the necessities, including a washing machine and dryer combo - but there were no instructions for the machine so we had to do our best with trial and error and the internet. They provide a folder with information about the city which was helpful. Good selection of TV channels and good WiFi signal. We really appreciated the provisions of milk, bread, cereal, etc. that was provided at the beginning of our stay. Wish there was just a bit more coffee but I'm sure that goes quickly and probably just didn't get re-stocked.
The only criticism -- the apartments must be very popular which makes it difficult to do maintenance work and/or a deep cleaning -- but our unit was in need of both.

Room Tip: upper level provided good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments.

We were delighted to hear that you "Enjoyed your stay" with us in Edinburgh and that you found check in to be very efficient. We were sorry to hear that you felt the apartment required a deep clean and we have passed your comments on to housekeeping.

We were pleased that you were able to enjoy the views of your apartment and found our information folder to be helpful.

We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed the welcome basket along with the wifi and large selection of Sky channels.

We do hope you will be able to welcome you back to Oakhill Apartments soon.

Best wishes,

Rosie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First experience of staying in apartments and loved it. A great base to explore Edinburgh. Staff full of knowledge and extremely helpful. Favourite part was that I was staying with my parents and in the evenings you could relax together in the living area, enjoying the company rather than being in your own bedroom on your own. Have recommended this to colleagues. Loved it.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you felt we had " a great base to explore Edinburgh. Staff full of knowledge and extremely helpful."

We were also glad that you were able to enjoy our facilities and were able to relax with your family.

Thank you for recommending us to your colleagues and we look forward to welcoming you back to Oakhill Apartments soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

These apartments are beautiful, modern & very clean.
We was greater by very friendly & professional staff, who shown us to our apartment, he explained everything in detail from where to visit to bus routes.
We felt like we has at home, we did all the touristy stuff in the day then back to the apartment to just curl up on the sofa & watch a DVD.
The apartments are equipped with everything you need, all kitchen appliances even a washing machine.
Bus stop just outside the apartments & only about 10 minute bus journey into Edinburgh.
We will definitely be staying again when we visit Edinburgh .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julieann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were delighted to hear that you felt the apartments "are beautiful, modern & very clean".

We were also pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and professional and that you found there to be everything you would need to enjoy yourselves in the apartment.

Finally we are glad you found our location to be prefect for you to take advantage of all the city's tourist attractions and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger Municipality, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

There apartments are themed around a black and white damask style. They are very clean and user friendly. Everything you would need for a night in is available for you, you just need to supply the groceries. The apartment we stayed in was so nice, had a lovely view out the window and was very stylish.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_C_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our "Stunning apartments for a few nights stay in Edinburgh".

We were also pleased to hear that you felt that the apartments were very clean and user friendly with everything you would need for a night in including a lovely view from your window.

We hope you will be able to return to Edinburgh again very soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed last weekend Fri until Mon...2bed apartment. Spotless and comfortable. Had two young boys and they appreciated the wifi for their games. Bought a DVD and was able to watch it on the player plus microwave for popcorn. Everything we have at home and more. Thank you, a good weekend in a wonderful apartment. So quiet and within walking distance of our chosen activities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and found our apartments to be "spotless and comfortable".

It was also great to know that your children were able to take advantage of the complimentary WiFi and DVD player.

We are so glad you enjoyed your home from home experience and hope to welcome you back to Oakhill Apartments again soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is a lovely well equipped apartment a bit out of Edinburgh; though it is on a good bus route. Good points;
1. Looks good
2. Good amount of space
3. Helpful check in process with nice staff
4 conveniently located near tescos.
4 on two good bus routes to city centre

Bad points;
1 surrounding facilities other than tescos lacking
2. Flat very hot and difficult to regulate temperature.
3 flashing light in bedrooms (possibly alarm).
4, some flat equipment needs replacing e.g. Knives an d forks a bit wobbly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Prestonfield
#3 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,122 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Apartments

Property: Oakhill Apartments
Address: Thorntree Park | 3 Thorntreeside, Edinburgh EH6 8FE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakhill Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for the business and leisure community Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh offer all the comforts of a hotel with the luxury of living space, quality service and excellent facilities. All our accommodation is fully equipped with state of the art kitchens, master bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, free private parking, Freeview television, free WiFi broadband and much, much more. Prices start from £79.00 per night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oakhill Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakhill Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing