We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am impressed beyond expectations”
Review of Oakhill Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oakhill Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Least to say that car trip within UK is a nice experience (if you know how to drive on the wrong (read left) side of the street) this part of adventure to Edinburg could not have been more pleasant since we have stayed in this aparthotel. Staff is friendly and rooms are spacious and have everything you need, Even though I am not a fan of "back and white" and "rococo married on contemporary high tech" style decor, this was so tastefully done, that I have changed my mind - easily. Beds are so comfortable, you have great kitchen (not kitchenette) and been a chef I just had to cook something there. Living room with the balcony (there was a huge BBQ machine there as well) was nice and spacious, for anyone to enjoy who is not in his/her bedroom already resting. Nice to watch HUGE LCD TV and get some personal time watching news, movies, sitcoms, etc. Again, you can wash dishes in the dishwasher machine, you can wash your clothes in a brand new machine in the closet, you can lay in HUGE ned and surf internet with exceptionally fast WI FI. Everything about this place screams - YOU ARE WELCOME.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikhailruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

When we arrived for our two night stay we were greeted by a very anxious attendant whose name escapes me now. We were informed very apologetically that there had been an error with our booking and our apartment was no available. As we were on holidays this bothered us little and we just went with the flow. She seemed very stressed at the prospect though, I suspect it doesn't happen often.

We were put up in their 3 bedroom apartment for one night (instead of the 1 bedroom we had booked) and moved to another hotel for the second night. The 3 bedroom apartment was magnificent! It had all the luxuries of home with a very nice kitchen, a great tv in the lounge room and one in the master bedroom, and a couple of very well appointed bathrooms. The decor was very tasteful throughout - we were a bit sad to leave to be honest.

Having traveled for 3 weeks straight at that point, packing our bags the following morning wasn't a big deal. Upon leaving a gentleman apologised again profusely for the inconvenience and seemed genuinely upset at us having to move. When we arrived at the new hotel, which appeared not to have any affiliation with the apartments, we were given a very nice room with breakfast included (which was not in our original booking) so it was a very nice touch.

I'm sad I can't give 5 stars to this review as the service was great and the apartments are excellent, but in the end, they did stuff up the reservation and it may have bothered others more than it did us...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noemitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights from the 27th of December. We have stayed and reviewed here on a good few occasions always positive and again this is to provide a truthful and hopefully informative review of oakhill and Edinburgh. We arrived for a xmas break as we love Edinburgh and wanted to do something for xmas. Again from the moment we arrived we were greeted by the staff and given such a warm welcome. This time as we stayed as 2 couples we asked for an apartment with 2 double rooms, this was no problem and we were given apartment 5 very spacious and comfortable. We were also extended the option of a midday checkout which was very much appreciated. The apartment was faultless as usual. There were high winds which interfered with the sky tv however this is not a reflection on their service as its outwith the staff control. Again they came to the rescue with providing a copious amount of dvds to help with the viewing and also the freeview on the tv was working fine. If you are staying in then there are a few local take outs near by however chinese does seem to be the better option. The rice box is quite nice. There is nothing to dissapoint if you decide to stay in the apartment. however if you wish to go out then there is a vast amount to do and many ways to get around. The local buses are very easy to get and cheap at £1.50 per ticket or £3.50 for an all day ticket with as many uses as you like. The number 1 takes you straight into princes street and the number 35 takes you towards the airport way with both dropping you off back outside the apartments. The warerfront is about a 2 minute drive away with some lovely restaurants and bars. The local tesco is very handy however if you are like me then there is an asda down next to the ocean terminal. The taxis in the town are easy and relatively cheap for only £7 or thereabouts you can get into princes street. There are many lovely bars and restaurants in the centre also. George street holds places such as the dome and hard rock cafe and also the standing order which is a wetherspoons. Just off george street is hanover street which has a quirky little mexican cantina called garibaldis and also a nice cocktail place called 99 hanover street. If you like a steak then you could visit the craigs restaurant at the king james thistle hotel just next to the St James shopping centre and also the steak and grill restaurant at the macdonald holyrood hotel which is opposite the dynamic earth. The best thing I can say about discovering Edinburgh is immerse yourself in the city and discover the side streets as there are many different things to do for anyone and everyone.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank awb2187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments.

We are so pleased that you had returned to Oakhill apartments and that we were able to accommodate your party in one of luxury two bedroom apartments.

We were also delighted to hear that you received a warm welcome on arrival and that you were able to take advantage of our late check out option.

We were sorry to hear that you were unfortunately caught in the festive storms that were hitting Edinburgh however we were delighted that you were able to stay in to enjoy our facilities and make use of our DVD library.

Thank you for also taking time to review our local area for restaurants and transport we are glad that you enjoy the area and found it nice and central to the city centre and supermarkets.

We hope we will be welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We went here for our minimoon the day after our wedding. We arrived to a lovely greeting and was given the two bedroom apartment on the top floor. It was lovely inside and was really homely. We used the kitchen on the first night and the facilities were brill. When we arrived back on the second day they had left us a hamper because it was our honeymoon. Our stay was flawless. We were close to tesco and we were only a short bus ride from the city centre. We will definately come back and we are hoping to return on March for my birthday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibdab44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments.

Congratulations again on being Mr and Mrs! We were delighted that you started your mini moon here in Edinburgh and were able to arrive, relax and cook on the first night in your apartment.

We are also so pleased that you intend on returning in March for your birthday and we will look forward to welcoming you again here soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in November 2013 and enjoyed our stay. Took the train to Edinburgh and for less than 10 pounds got a taxi to the apartments. Check in was very efficient.
We had room 17 on the upper floor - great views from the small deck and the bedroom. We walked everywhere during our visit because the weather was great and we enjoy the exercise, but others may find it easier to take the bus. The apartment had all the necessities, including a washing machine and dryer combo - but there were no instructions for the machine so we had to do our best with trial and error and the internet. They provide a folder with information about the city which was helpful. Good selection of TV channels and good WiFi signal. We really appreciated the provisions of milk, bread, cereal, etc. that was provided at the beginning of our stay. Wish there was just a bit more coffee but I'm sure that goes quickly and probably just didn't get re-stocked.
The only criticism -- the apartments must be very popular which makes it difficult to do maintenance work and/or a deep cleaning -- but our unit was in need of both.

Room Tip: upper level provided good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanDeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at Oakhill apartments.

We were delighted to hear that you "Enjoyed your stay" with us in Edinburgh and that you found check in to be very efficient. We were sorry to hear that you felt the apartment required a deep clean and we have passed your comments on to housekeeping.

We were pleased that you were able to enjoy the views of your apartment and found our information folder to be helpful.

We were also happy to hear that you enjoyed the welcome basket along with the wifi and large selection of Sky channels.

We do hope you will be able to welcome you back to Oakhill Apartments soon.

Best wishes,

Rosie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

First experience of staying in apartments and loved it. A great base to explore Edinburgh. Staff full of knowledge and extremely helpful. Favourite part was that I was staying with my parents and in the evenings you could relax together in the living area, enjoying the company rather than being in your own bedroom on your own. Have recommended this to colleagues. Loved it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank RebeccaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted to hear that you felt we had " a great base to explore Edinburgh. Staff full of knowledge and extremely helpful."

We were also glad that you were able to enjoy our facilities and were able to relax with your family.

Thank you for recommending us to your colleagues and we look forward to welcoming you back to Oakhill Apartments soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

These apartments are beautiful, modern & very clean.
We was greater by very friendly & professional staff, who shown us to our apartment, he explained everything in detail from where to visit to bus routes.
We felt like we has at home, we did all the touristy stuff in the day then back to the apartment to just curl up on the sofa & watch a DVD.
The apartments are equipped with everything you need, all kitchen appliances even a washing machine.
Bus stop just outside the apartments & only about 10 minute bus journey into Edinburgh.
We will definitely be staying again when we visit Edinburgh .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julieann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakhillApartments, Manager at Oakhill Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We were delighted to hear that you felt the apartments "are beautiful, modern & very clean".

We were also pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and professional and that you found there to be everything you would need to enjoy yourselves in the apartment.

Finally we are glad you found our location to be prefect for you to take advantage of all the city's tourist attractions and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Oakhill Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhill Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhill Apartments

Address: Thorntree Park | 3 Thorntreeside, Edinburgh EH6 8FE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £99 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakhill Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for the business and leisure community Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh offer all the comforts of a hotel with the luxury of living space, quality service and excellent facilities. All our accommodation is fully equipped with state of the art kitchens, master bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, free private parking, Freeview television, free WiFi broadband and much, much more. Prices start from £79.00 per night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakhill Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakhill Apartments Hotel Edinburgh
Oakhill Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing