We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location for Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Ranked #98 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Central location for Edinburgh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We used this Travelodge due to it's central location just off Princes Street. Our 1st floor room above a pub was quite noisy with pub staff cleaning into rubbish bins below our window late at night and goods arriving by truck early in the morning. The room though was more than adequate for our stay, although better storage options would have helped. Central location was the 'seller'!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Deana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    201
    74
    36
    19
See reviews for
64
259
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Very convenient for Princes Street and christmas markets. Recently refurbished our room was large clean and v comfortable. One niggle though. Check in is after 3pm! Its practicaly dark then at this time of year and there was nowhere to store our luggage at 12:30. We were offered a room then and there if we paid £10 so rooms were obviously available! Bit of a scam?

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sdeeley42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our Edinburgh Central Rose Street Hotel sdeeley. We can confirm that our standard check in time for all Travelodge Hotels is 3pm. We do offer an early check in service from 12 noon for £10.00; this service is subject to availability. We would like to apologise that you were not aware of this before arriving at the hotel. Our customers may purchase the early check in service during the booking process or upon their arrival at the hotel. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst we visited the Christmas markets. The location is great with the royal mile, markets and shops all within walking distance. We had booked this room early so paid around £30 for a mid week stay. The room was clean and the new bed was extremely comfy. Yes it was small and basic but if all you want is a base then this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxHod1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at The Rose Street Travelodge for our first stay in Edinburgh excellent service clean and comfortable, great location for the attractions , friendly helpful staff . We stayed at the Travelodge in Berwick-on-Tweed on the way to Edinburgh and that was equally as good would certainly use again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 738Carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights with friends , it's in perfect location on rose street, plenty of shops, bars, and places too eat. We drove here but plenty of Parkin on George street which run parallel too rose street. We arrived Saturday 5pm ish and were greeted with a friendly welcome, booking in was fast and the rooms recently refurbished were very nice, plump soft pillows, bright white bedding, towels, and pleasantly decorated, the bathroom had shower cubicle which looked new as it was fresh and clean. Tea and coffee making facilities and a heating system we could operate ourselves, we have stayed in plenty of travel lodges across the Britain and this is one of the best for cleanliness, pleasant staff, and location. 109 pounds for 2 nights is a bargain price for Central edinburgh. Would highly recommend

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ablb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic!

Booked hotel as advertised as refurbished. So disappointing:
Faulty shower-controls and surrounding tiles
Poor water pressure and temp too low to fill a bath
Hair and fluff in bath
Dirty shower curtain
Holes in bedding

We wanted a clean bedroom/bathroom, hygienic bed/bathroom and working shower/bath-Travelodge failed to provide these.

We advised the sole member of staff after checking in but as working alone she did not think she would be able to deal

When checking out we asked receptionist (Anna) if she would like to give us contact info for feedback. She was really helpful, took our details and said Manager would want to speak to us directly the following day. No call received.

Completed feedback form. At end it said someone would contact us within 48 hours. No contact received.

Poor product and worse service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for your review FussyMonkey. We want our customers to have an enjoyable stay with us and we expect our rooms to be cleaned to a specific high standard and for the facilities to be in a good condition, so we are truly sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion. We also expect our staff to provide a great service. We want to be able to investigate your concerns and provide a resolution, so please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for 2 nights – 31 October and 1 November. We arrived early at around 9.30am and asked if there was a place to hold our luggage until check in at 3.00pm. The receptionist said there wasn’t officially a place to hold luggage but offered to put them behind the reception which we were extremely grateful for as it is a bit of a pain having to carry around 2 large bags. From there we went for a walk around to get our bearings as this is the first time we have stayed around Rose Street having stayed just off the Royal Mile when we visited last year.

When we checked in at 3.00pm, we were given a room at the back of the hotel on the 1st floor. The room was huge which a massive bed, flatscreen TV with Freeview channels, a dressing table and full length mirror. It also had a small storage area with a fair few hangers – just enough when staying for a couple of nights. There were also tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The bathroom was great with a huge shower and a very good size mirror with good lighting.

The bed was extremely comfortable and we slept very well each night. The first night (Thursday) was quiet and we didn’t hear any noise coming from any of the bars but on the Friday night/Saturday morning the music did seem to go on until late but it wasn’t bad enough to stop you sleeping. We did get an early wake up call from the binmen though on the Saturday!

The only problem I had with the room, was that the sockets for the dressing table were on the left hand side, and the nearest mirror to the dressing table was the full length one which was way along the wall on the right hand side, meaning if the cable for your hairdryer or straighteners etc isn’t long enough you will have trouble getting ready properly. I did look for other sockets around the room but these were the only ones. They definitely need to put a mirror above the dressing table in my opinion.

The reception staff at the Travelodge were very helpful and although we didn’t see the cleaners they did a great job as the room was always kept spotless, towels changed both days and also refilled our teas and coffees.

The Rose Street Travelodge is in an excellent location as there are so many bars and restaurants to choose from and if you like to do a bit shopping you have Primark, Debenhams and Jenners, to name a few, right on your doorstep. There is also a Sainsburys Local just up the road on the corner which doesn’t shut until late and is really handy. We went to the Rose Street Takeaway on our first night on our way back to the hotel and the food was really good. They do the usual takeaway stuff apart from pizzas (even though they said they do on a Friday and Saturday only, but this turned out to be wrong!).

There is a bar right next called the Black Rose Tavern. We had a couple of drinks here and saw people getting the food which they also cook just behind the bar. We returned the following day with the intention of eating there but the kitchen was unfortunately closed as they were getting the place ready for a party. No doubt we will be returning to the Black Rose next year and will be looking to stay at the Rose Street Travelodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb6142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#85 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Address: 37-43 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 2NH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing