We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Two nights right in the centre of edinburgh in a huge very clean room for £23 per night - what's not rave about. This hotel has a fantastic city centre location near Waverley station just off Princes St in a pedestrianised street so also quiet. We did not find anywhere amazing for breakfast but there is a very pleasant Pret a Manger with lots of seating just round the corner in Hanover St. the hotel is also two steps away from Jamie's Italian where we had a very pleasant meal in attractive ex-Assembly rooms surroundings. However there is masses of choice for food for all budgets all very close by. Our room was huge on a corner of the building so lots of natural light. There was a bit of a problem with the shower in that water was only tepid (they allegedly had a boiler problem) but at £23 a night, it seems churlish to mark them down for this. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank scissorsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is a very short walk from Waverley station and ideally located for the central shopping area,not far from art gallery or castle etc. the room was large and clean and we had a good night's sleep. Rose Street itself is bustling with buskers etc and nice interesting shops but it went quiet late on so did not disturb us.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I had a room on one of the top floor which was quiet even though we stayed over the weekend, very spacious with typical Travelodge facilities really. Great location close to Princes Street and my friend and I could easily walk to all the attractions for nearby. My room was very good but my friend's one was only on the second floor and closer to restaurant. Her room was much noisier so I would definitely recommend asking for one on the top floors. Would use it as a base when visiting for Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellsee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Great location, great price. Once restaurant opens downstairs the smell in the corridors and rooms is unbearable-even in our new room on 3rd floor. The room on first floor actually had smoke from cooking in room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

We are sorry to learn you found your room had an unpleasant smell due to the restaurant downstairs Paul M. We would not expect the food in the Bar Café to affect our customers and our staff are expected to notice any smells around the hotel. We will be sure to pass this onto our hotel management team so that they can investigate further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lived here about 8 days whilst in Edinburgh on a business run.
To be honest - its a cheap and cheerful place. If you expect a lot - go to the Hilton!
I lived in room 307 and then asked for a quieter room and was offered 308 - you can potentially get a snooker table in here and play snooker - huge !
The call centre is uncivilised - they appear to be a bunch of former prisoners out on parole who have absolutely no idea of what speaking in a civil manner means. This remains the only reason I mark this "average" and not anything more.
The rooms don't have a telephone in them- if you need one - use a mobile - simply.
Sheets appeared to be changed every second day - to be honest it did not matter since I was so exhausted and needed a place to sleep!
Bathrooms are clean - 307 has an old - bit of a crack in the shower bathroom but 308 is adequate.
Would I go again - sure - avoid the call centre though.
Would I recommend - potentially- again - avoiding the call centre !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shripadsathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Cheap & cheerful. Very basic as you would expect but couldn't fault it. When I entered the room, I was pleasantly surprised. They had given us 1 of the corner rooms looking directly onto Rose St. It was massive. Plenty of room. Had been newly refurbished with secondary glazing so couldn't hear a thing from the street below. Massive new comfy bed & new shower room. Really nice & at £29 a real bargain. Will definitely return & would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATHY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

2nd Travelodge in Ediniburgh I've stayed at recently - absolutely nothing to complain about - room was huge, bed comfy, rooms were clean - Rose Street runs parallel to Princes Street so if you are planning a shopping trip then it's perfect, but it's a 10 minute walk from the Royal Mile so pretty convenient too. Plenty of choices of restaurants and pubs nearby. Observations - Rose Street can be busy at night, therefore might be a bit noisy during peak months - I stayed in January on 2nd floor, not too noisy but I could hear the pub next door's music nights. I was on a training course and needed to study in the eveninings - the table is fine but there isn't much lighting over the table itself - I bought a spotlight for £3 from a nearby shop - sorted the problem. Staff were pleasant enough and place was reasonably clean generally. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Kizzie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
West End
Travelodge Edinburgh Haymarket Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street

Address: 37-43 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 2NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £39 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing