We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for an Easter break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Ranked #96 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for an Easter break!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me and my partner stayed here for the Easter weekend (April 2014) and having not been to Edinburgh before we just wanted something cheap and cheerful and pretty central as we knew all we would be doing is sleeping there.

Located down a very cute and cobbled street with no access for vehicles, it was absolutely ideal. Lots of pubs, bars and restaurants so we expected it to be quite noisy but the only noise we could hear was from the karaoke bar located directly underneath our room (111).

That aside, the room was extremely spacious, very high ceilings, teas and coffees replenished every day, huge windows with plenty of light, and a very comfy bed!

£208 for two people for 3 nights (over Easter weekend).

All in all, a very pleasant stay and I would definitely consider staying again when returning to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLM2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    207
    78
    37
    19
See reviews for
65
270
34
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
401 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I've stayed in this particular travelodge on quite a few occasions and have always been entirely satisfied. If you can get it at a good price it can't be beaten for value and location.
I always find the staff very helpful and friendly and although the reception is not manned 24hrs a day someone will always appear if you need them.
On my recent visit, my request for a room on the fourth floor at the front was met as it always is. I have always found this the ideal location for a quiet night despite the fact it is on a busy thoroughfare. I stayed three nights and unfortunately on my last night the bar below must have had live music on which went on until 1am and even up on the fourth floor was quite noisy.
When I have stayed previously, I was aware of vehicles using the lane below quite early for deliveries etc but as I am normally up early I have never found this a problem.
Unfortunately on this occasion after not getting to sleep until after 1am the bin lorry arrived at 7am to collect the empty bottles from the surrounding bars and you can imagine the noise that makes.
Despite this recent experience, I would stay in this travelodge again as the location is superb and I'm usually out from early morning until late evening when in Edinburgh but would like others to be aware that there can be a noise issue when staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great location close to Edinburgh Waverley station and convenient for restaurants in Rose Street. Room smelt slightly stale but was clean and tidy.
Could have done with towel rail or hook in bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank RBe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The hotel was slap bang in the centre of the city, excellently placed for night life. The rooms were warm, clean and very comfortable, which I do d is more or less a given with Travelodge. I would definitely recommend this hotel and feel that my stay in Edinburgh was certainly enhanced by the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Wakering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Recently stayed at this Travelodge for 4 nights. Had room on 4th floor. No problems with outside noise as were high up. It would be nice however if other guests could try not to slam doors as they come in in early hours and have a very drunk noisy argument outside room. Despite that did enjoy stay. Very well situated. Rooms may have been refurbished but they seem to have removed everything from room and now very minimalistic. No bedside tables, only 1 chair, no drawers and only small hanging space. If you are staying for 4 nights like we did there was no room to unpack and store anything. Rooms are large but lacking. Would say though that this Travelodge was good value and in good position for restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylandDavid1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry, england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

If your looking for a hotel with all the bells and whistles don't stay here. If your looking for something that is terrific value a brilliant location and is warm and clean then this is the place for you. For the short period (2 nights) we were there this couldn't have been better centrally placed for all locations, and at this price couldn't be beaten either.

Room Tip: Crner room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed in the travel lodge in Rose Street a few time so felt it was time to write up a review. The location of the travel lodge is great especially if your looking for a city break then you can't really get any better.I have had a variety of rooms but on every occasion there's been the one little thing that leaves you feeling frustrated, this week it was the shower on fourth floor didn't matter what I did couldn't get any hot water , the last time I stayed the toilets eat had been broken by the previous guest.
The staff are as helpful as they can be and are more than approachable, willingly will help with anything they can.
So don't be put off and travelodge keep trying 9 out of 10 ain't bad.

Room Tip: 204 you could have a dance in there it's so big ,enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuarthendry22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Address: 37-43 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 2NH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing