We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't recommend it.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Ranked #97 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here in June 2014. Being summer, I thought there would be an air-con in the room; there was none. Opening the window was not an option because there was a pub on the ground floor, so you could hear music and voices right into the night. Only "toiletries" provided was a tiny bottle of hand, body and hair wash. Better bring your own. Towel hook on the door fell off (you could see the two drill holes) so I had nowhere to hang my towel except on the door handle. No towel bar. No line to hang your hand-washed items either. Bed and pillows were fairly comfortable. But the room could do with a small side table. No proper wardrobe, just some place to hang your clothes. The room doesn't have a phone, so I could not call my kids in the next room, nor could I ask for wake-up call service. No hairdryer in the room; it seems you can borrow one from the reception (but I resorted to buying one outside). No coin laundry onsite. Overall, way below my expectation even though I knew this was a budget-type hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityDweller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review CityDweller2013. We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. Unfortunately, due to the hotel’s central location, it is not always possible to fully reduce the noise that our guests might experience in their room. However, we make every effort to minimise the noise that might be heard from outside the hotel by having insulated walls and double glazed windows. Furthermore, as a brand standard, we do not currently offer phones in our rooms as this enables us to continue to offer great room rates for our customers. Please be assured that we will pass on your comments to the Hotel Manager to address the issues you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    201
    74
    36
    19
See reviews for
64
259
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Staying here, most of the city is accessible on foot (10 mins from Waverley)and there are many food/drink options. The downside is, you will hear music into the early hours from local pubs. Closing the windows is not an option as the room was quite warm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in 206 - huge room with lots of windows but it's at the back of the hotel so no view. Only one of the windows open and only then by couple of inches. The room is over a pub with very noisy bottle bins until late.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

just stayed one night. Very central, very easy to find. lots of eats in nearby streets and places to go in evening. Out walking all night but very quiet when returned at 7am as it was when we left at 8pm. Room spacious, clean and modern. Bathroom compact but fine for our needs. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank hull_UKThehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a friends wedding which was nearby in April. I saw a few different rooms and all were fairly basic but had everything we needed. Our room was huge! The shower was pretty grim but fine for a couple of nights. The main benefit to staying here is the excellent location. As long as you don't go with the expectation of a luxurious stay you will be fine!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Rose Street is brilliantly located in the centre of Edinburgh, a few minutes walk from Waverley station. There are pubs, clubs and eating places all around for the evening though we found getting a cooked breakfast difficult. One downside to the room was the lack of clothes storage - a problem if staying more than 1-2 nights

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for one night back in June 2013.Nice room not especially big but fine for a one nighter .We only needed somewhere to sleep.Bargain price of £19 !
All the facilities were good no issues at all and was right smack bang in the centre of Edinburgh.Clean, tidy ,basic and very convenient. Ideal for visiting Royal Mile , the Castle and all the other city attractions .Lots of places to eat , drink and shop if that's your thing and would definitely stay there again, and plan to.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normajean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Princes Street) Hotel
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Mercure Edinburgh City - Princes Street Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Address: 37-43 Rose Street, Edinburgh EH2 2NH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing