We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Ranked #59 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Just keep coming back”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a great place to stay and our recent visit was our fifth.Our purpose this time was a concert in The Queen's Hall and buses run frequently and just across the street from the hotel. They run 24 hours so no real need to take a taxi.The Queen's Hall is approximately halfway on this road into town.Staff are very attentive and helpful and always make time to chat to you. Very comfortable beds and immaculately clean rooms with a wall mounted TV. We had a meal before going out to the concert and it was very good and lots of it. Very peaceful night and would highly recommend this friendly place to everyone. Keep up the good work, and thank you for a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    237
    92
    24
    16
See reviews for
218
305
38
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Overall a reasonable place to stay in Edinburgh. Cheap and cheerful room and there is parking, although not much for the number of rooms, so no guarantee that you will get a spot. Staff were ok, but not particularly attentive. Didn't eat or drink in the hotel, but didn't find it particularly welcoming or inclined to do so.

There is a Sainsbury's and shopping centre 5 minutes walk, so if you have forgotten something or want to walk to get a coffee there is Costa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for the second time. For those with a car, it is in an excellent location, as there are parking facilities, and on a very good bus route. We seldom had to wait more than 3 minutes for a bus. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast (£7.65) was very good value for money. Will definately stay there again if Alex Salmond lets us back in!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I've just had an excellent two night stay at this hotel. I can't rate the friendliness of the staff highly enough, and this applies to every single member of staff I spoke to. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was comfortable and very clean, with 30 minutes free wifi access per day thrown in free. There isn't a hair dryer in the room, but that's not a problem- just ask to borrow one from reception. Breakfast was fine- a variety of continental and cooked breakfast food. There's a bar beside reception and also vending machines for drinks and snacks. Meals are also served at night. As others have said, the hotel is on a good bus route. The bus stop is right outside the hotel, and is served by services 3, 7, 8, 29, 31, 37, 47 and 49 and night buses N3, N31 and N37. If you are in the town centre, one place you can catch these buses is on the middle of North Bridge, just round the corner from Waverley Station. I'll definitely be staying here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank forss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
401 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Although we have stayed in most of the central based travelodges in Edinburgh, this was our first visit to Cameron Toll. We were attracted to it because we had the car with us on this occasion and needed parking. We knew the location and were aware that it was on a really good bus route for getting into the city centre which was a priority.
We were given a really friendly welcome when we arrived by the male receptionist (I wish I had noted his name) and we were happy with our room on the top floor at the back of the hotel which we had phoned ahead to request. It had a lovely view and was quiet affording us a good nights sleep. We didn't use the bar/restaurant area so I can't comment on these areas.
The buses outside the hotel are plentiful and regular so need to use the car and there is a large shopping centre within easy walking distance.
We thoroughly enjoyed our one nights stay and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one on the top floor at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed at the cameron toll for 3 nights what a wonderful relaxing place to stay. Melvin at reception is a really nice person always seems to be everywhere full of information and always cheerful really made our stay enjoyable. The only downfall I would say is that there's not really a mirror to sit and do your make up or hair but I managed to cope all in all a wonderful place staff really helpfull and polite five stars from us :-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suexian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Excellent quality and value for money. I use the chain frequently and particularly the Cameron toll unit. I was as always impressed with the room and all the facilities. The staff were attentive especially at reception and in the bar and restaurant

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Salisbury Hotel
#77 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
Address: 43 Craigmillar Park | Cameron Toll, Edinburgh EH16 5PD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#62 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Cameron Toll is a 115 bedroom hotel, rooms types include: - Double and twin rooms with en-suite shower facilities. - Family rooms with en-suite bath / shower facilities - Accessible rooms with wet rooms en-suite and emergency call points. Reception is manned 24 hours a day. Bar cafe service includes breakfast, evening meals and a licenced bar. Car parking is on a first come first serve basis. 5 Accessible parking spaces can be found to the front of the building. Local Facilities: Cameron Toll shopping centre is a short distance away and has petrol filling station on site. Kings Buildings University Buildings. Commonwealth Swimming Pool. Royal Infirmary Hospital - Lothian bus numbers to the hospital include 7, 8 and 49. Buses in to the city centre are regular. Please ask at reception for any additional information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll Hotel Edinburgh
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing