We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, drinks and atmosphere”
Review of Ghillie Dhu

Ghillie Dhu
Ranked #587 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West End
Description: Originally St Thomas Episcopal Church, Ghillie Dhu has been beautifully restored to showcase its traditional features. With an enviable location tucked in at the West End of the city centre, we are a short distance from Haymarket Train Station and directly opposite all major bus routes. Awarded Best Small Venue at the Scottish Event Awards two years running the team pride ourselves on the quality of catering and service we provide.Ghillie Dhu benefits from a dedicated and experienced Events Team who are poised to look after your event from enquiry right through to completion. Our Chef has created a variety of mouth-watering menus from the best produce that Scotland's larder can offer.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, drinks and atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have eaten here several times and always found the food to be good quality. They have an extensive drinks range, including some of my favourite rums! The last time I was there we were fortunate enough to hear some excellent live music which really added to the great night we had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scampbell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for the review scampbell82. I am delighted to hear that you enjoy dining with us. We have live music in our main bar every evening. If you enjoy that I would recommend coming on the last Thursday of every month (Thursday 25th Sept) where we host the Westend Jam where you will enjoy a night of jammin' with a varied selection of some of Edinburgh's finest musicians. We hope to welcome you again soon at the Ghillie Dhu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    267
    120
    62
    104
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mar Menor Golf Resort
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Night out in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had taken 4 Americans to Edinburgh and they enjoyed their meal here with the excellent service by Lauren this girl had a lovely personality and was so helpful and we all had a very good chicken and mushroom pie

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilli410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear gilli410
Thank you for posting a great review of Ghillie Dhu. I will be sure to pass on my thanks to Lauren for doing a great job.
Thanks
Ben - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visited here for dinner during the festival we thought it would be busy but was quite quiet the last time I was here it was exceptionally busy so I booked.

We sat and the table needed to be clean and the ere was no menus there, not a good start. We ordered the steak pie and the pork belly both safe choices you would think.

Steak pie was nice but you should never serve peas in a mini sieve they go cold very fast, the pork with black pudding risotto was nice but pork a little tough. The side of Mac n cheese was very nice but served with salad not good without a dressing makes it tasteless.

Overall nice place and surroundings food not as good as it used to be

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edd c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear edd c
Thank you for taking the time to post this review of Ghillie Dhu. I will review all of your comments with the kitchen team and address the points you have raised.
Ben - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect fish and chips”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We happened across this gem and went in in search of typical fish and chips. They did not disappoint. And, my daughter's hamburger was also excellent. Reservations are not necessary (we did not have one) but are nice, especially letter in the evening.
It is in an old church and the atmosphere was great and cozy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Cathy M
Thank you for posting this great review of Ghillie Dhu. Hopefully you will get a chance to come back to Edinburgh and visit us again soon!
Thanks
Ben - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
913 reviews
432 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Great food ruined by appalling service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We called in for a quick meal at the end of a long day touring. We were shown a table quite promptly by a very polite server, It was at the back of the bar out of sight and out of mind, but when we were seated there were others there, so i figured that we would be served.

After reviewing the menus we waited and waited and waited for a server to return, but no one came, so i stood up and finally caught the eye of a server who we had not seen before heading to the kitchen. He returned and took the order.

Shortly after that we needed more drinks, as there were no servers in sight I switched on the 'empty' light at the table but after waiting quite noting happened, so i went around to the bar. No bar persons, so again wait, after quite a while someone turned up and delivered the drinks. The third round of drinks were actually served promptly.

The food was delivered and it was great, really good fish and chips and great seafood pie, both recommended, really good.

Then to pay the bill, again no one in sight, so again after waiting, waiting and waiting I went to the bar to seek out someone to provide us with a bill.

After quite a while the original person who seated us arrived and enquired about our evening, we advised that the meal was great ruined by zero service, much to his astonishment.

Next thing a young lady arrived to enquire about our problem, which I repeated, great meal but no service. She advised that she had been walking by all night and we were OK. When she came by then, was the first time I had seen her for the evening. My partner advised that she had walked by when once I went for drinks (as there was no table service) and again when I sought out someone to pay the bill, but neither time did she stop at the table to enquire if we needed anything. She was quite amazed at my comment that there was no service - BUT THERE WAS NO SERVICE.

GREAT FOOD NO SERVICE



.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, Manager at Ghillie Dhu, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear CocoTampa123
I am so sorry to hear about the level of customer service you have received at Ghillie Dhu. I can promise you this is not the levels we aim to achieve and will be reviewing your comments with the team to make sure there is not a repeat of this. Please could I ask you to contact me via Ghillie Dhu to discuss further. I hope you seefrom our other reviews that this is not typical of Ghillie Dhu.
Ben - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghillie Dhu also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Ghillie Dhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing